Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fulda

Leicht zu fonden

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pool gut um sich zum erfrischen, leider nur typisches Wegwerfgeschirr zum Frühstück, zu Stoßzeiten überfüllt, netter Service, Zimmer zu den Bahngleisen mit toller Aussicht, leider sehr hellhörig
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Within walking distance of the interest points

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Right next door to the visitor center and within walking distance of many things
Cons: Update rooms with new fridges.
Location: Next door to the visitor center which offers packages for the Trolley line for touring Old St. Augustine. Shopping restaurant area of the city great.
Good breakfast. Very good staff. Adequate room but dated. Train tracks right behind hotel so ask for a room at the front. Trains run at night. Free DVD rentals a great idea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 23, 2016
The Magnuson Hotel is close to the attractions in the historic district of St. Augustine. It wouldn't take long to walk to the museums, fort, shops, and restaurants if you don't mind crossing one busy road. The room was clean enough, though the tv remote did look a little icky. I felt like I had to use sanitizer every time I changed the channel. Also, there was no remote for the DVD player. However, the rooms all have DVD players and free movie rentals from the DVDNow machine in the lobby, which is nice. The electrical outlets were not conveniently located- we had to unplug lamps to plug in our phones at the bedside tables. The toiletries provided are Bath and Body Works products, which was definitely a nice surprise. The room I stayed in was located directly above the pool which meant I was awoken early by children screaming. Also, take note: the free breakfast ends at 9:30 so if that's an important factor in your hotel selection, you have to be ready to go relatively early. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and the woman at the desk offered walking directions and discounts to several attractions. Check out was equally fast and pleasant. The gentleman who assisted us was funny and very nice. Overall, I was pleased with this hotel. The quality of the room and the grounds was maybe not worth the rate being charged, but its proximity to all of the attractions, discounts offered at check in, and the free DVD rentals made up for that
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davenport, FL

Great front office staff, terrible housekeeping!

Posted Mar 22, 2016
We checked in to a very professional front desk staff, unfortunately housekeepers do not do their jobs and had to check 7 different rooms until one was clean. Housekeepers have to be held accountable for their poor standards or replaced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berrien cty mi.

Was closer to downtown to town than we thought.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Someone was always there to help you with breakfast. I would stay there again if I go to St Augustine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2016 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for you kind review...hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old St. Augustine

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Easy in and out.
Location: It's a bit of a walk to the main attractions in the old part of town but a reasonable price.
Clean, comfortable hotel. Good breakfast. On the main drag a long walk to the main attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. we appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts on our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Motel Not Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2016
We would have been better off at Motel 6! Had to fix our own TV, electrical sockets were falling apart! At least it was decently clean!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south florida

Hotel next to a train track

Posted Mar 8, 2016
The back of the Hotel is located about 10 feet from a very busy train track ( you sign a waiver that you will not go play on the train track) and the front of the hotel is located on a noisy street. In the rooms you hear noise all night long. Rooms are small and hotel is very old and run down. Need a lot of TLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Renee, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are currently remodeling every room, which are gorgeous. We hope to see you again for another stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
The hotel is great for people who will be out doing touristy things for most of their trip. It is right on the San Sebastián River which is beautiful, of course! Unfortunately we woke up too late for the breakfast so no comment there. The beds were comfy, the pillows were oddly small but worked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, big rooms, good breakfast

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Had a blast last weekend, staff very professional, everything was clean