Ratings based on 746 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st paul mn

nice hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: everything they had to offer
Cons: needs washer and dryer for consumers
Location: the ocean and beach
we had a wonderful time there. we even stayed an extra day and night we liked it that much. everyone was friendly and the hotel provided a lot of things for us to use at the beach at no extra coast. such as towels for the beach and pool, chairs and umbrellas for the beach, boogie boards to use at the beach, sand toys, pool toys. it was so stress free and relaxing to be there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Private beach getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff and quiet surroundings.
Cons: For us, it was quite fine.
The Ocean Sands Beach is a small and quiet place to stay. If expecting lots of hubbub you will not find that here. The private beach is across the street. Excellent restaurant Aunt Kate's just down the road and close access to St. Augustine across the bridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Georgia

Birthday getaway

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness...not too many rooms. adequate parking
Cons: Silence doors in hallways that are constantly being slammed when people go in and out. slow the shocks down or put damper pads on them.
Location: nice food, perfect private beach. nearby to all local attractions....but AWAY from the busy and the noise
best birthday ever. our kids have grown upand we no longer have to entertain them. so this is the ideal location for R&R. the pool was clean and the views were beautiful! Thank you we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

A nice getaway on the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location away from the crowds; easy beach access via a Boardwalk that is directly in front of the hotel; view of the ocean from the room
Cons: Less noisy air conditioning unit; easier entrance into/exit out of the jacuzzi (it's a bit awkward going from the steps into the water
Location: Hotel is along a stretch of highway north of Vilano Bch- practically no commercial activity nearby; nice seclusion. St Augustine is only minutes away.
We like Vilano Beach & were looking for a place with at least some view of the ocean. We opted for the king room with the ocean view & were happy overall with what we got. The room was a little smaller than we expected, but not to the point of us being cramped. All the basics were there- coffee maker, fridge, microwave, etc. After dark, we took our blanket across A1A & over & down the private boardwalk to the sand & water. After a short walk along the shore in the dark, entertained along the way by the fast-moving small crabs, we laid out on our blanket & enjoyed the sounds & the sky for a while. We had the beach to ourselves which was great! The relative privacy was a big thing we were looking for & this was perfect. Later, we took advantage of the jacuzzi in the room, fully enjoying that. In the morning we had the breakfast, again pretty typical fare, but it was good & plentiful & we were satisfied. Our interactions with staff were good- all were friendly, polite, & professional, Check-in/check-out both went smoothly. We had a nice day there, all went well, we got what we came for, & we'd go there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Good Location +/- facilities.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: View, beach.
Cons: Overall cleanliness and aspect.
Location: Great location: San Marcos Castle, Fountain of Youth, Downtown San Augustine: plenty of activities to do.
The location is great: right in front of the beach, although the pictures on the hotel profile are a little misleading: the building is across a street from the beach, not on the beach. Not a big deal but you need to be ready to cross the municipal road (AIA I believe) all the times you go in and out. So, that's a little bit of a struggle if you have little kids. The beach is fantastic, it's one of the shallow beaches where you can walk at least one hundred feet before it drops down deep. The sunset/sunrises are spectacular from the hotel: totally unobstructed view. Everything else is no luxury but acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folkston, Ga

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very friendly staff. Location and over all enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Fl.

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Right across the street from beautiful Vilano beach.
Cons: The room was pricey.
Location: It's only 5 miles from St. Augustine where there is plenty to do.
We were on our 25th anniversary and used the hotel as a hub for exploring nearby St. Augustine and relaxed at the nearly pristine, almost private beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bel Air, MD

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
OSB hotel provided what we needed with friendliness and cleanliness. Chairs and umbrellas provided. Bed was firm and comfortable. Beach was wonderful!! Hope to be back again one day!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: very close to the beach
The hotel in a nice location close to the beach. Good staff clean rooms. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very convenient hotel to visit Saint Augustine. Ocean front to enjoy the beach and 5 miles away from the downtown