Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Beach or Interstate Stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The air conditioning. Actually had to turn it up to a warmer temp.
Cons: The door lock could have not lost its brains, but they did fix that issue. The bath had a mold issue and believe the cause is no fan in the bath.
Location: If you like shopping, you are stone throw to the outlet malls. Otherwise it's a U Turn on Tom's Rd to St Augustine.
If your driving through, then it's Ok as you are already use to the interstate noise. But if you want the beach, I would recommend something closer or on the beach because it is worth the extra dollars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.We do appreciate the "pros" you mentioned in this review and will definitely work on eliminating the"cons" you also mention.Thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from I-95 St Augustine , Florida

my review

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
was very dissappointed with my stay. They keys that i was given didn't work in the door, plus when the green light came on it still didn't open the door, I had to stick it in several times before it opened. The T.V. wasn't working either and had to get a maintenance guy to come up and look at the T.V. , plus the controller was broken and had to leave the t.v. on channel 3 to access the other channels. You had until 11:00am to get out of the room and when we were taking our stuff down to our car and tried to get back into our room, the office had already decoded the cards for the room at 10:30am, and I had to go to the office so he could get them turned on, which I shouldn't have had to do, because it wasn't 11:00am The carpet trim on the wall was falling off and hanging down to the floor. It is really not worth the 50.00 I paid for that night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your disappointment is our disappointment and or that we are truly sorry.We do thank you for staying with us and writing this review.We would like to rectify and clarify your issues in our response.Regarding channel 3 on our tv that is where we access the cable,our key cards are not deactivated from the office that happens automatically after 24 hrs of activation(on a one day stay).Most electronic keys will deactivate if they come in contact with magnetic strips which may be located in electronic devices such as phones etc.We have sent your issues regarding remote control and carpet to relevant departments for immediate correction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ingolstadt

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Preiswertes Hotel, relativ alt, aber Zimmer sauber. Darauf achten, dass das Zimmer nicht direkt am Highway liegt ( Lautstärke).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and writing this review.We do offer clean affordable rooms and we are happy to have fulfilled both of your needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
When we first arrived they were friendly the room they gave had a terrible odor and the toilet didnt work... The gentlemen at front desk did change us to another room at midnight and it was a down grade no frige, microwave or coffee so we will not go again....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Confusion on location this is NOT near the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Lots of confusion on the location of this hotel. It is not on or near the beach. It is 25 minutes from the beach and not in a great area. Someone messed with our truck that night trying to steal gas out of the tank
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by gordonc, Hotel Management
We are very sorry regarding the issues you encountered while staying at our hotel.While we do not understand the mix up in location we do regret that you had this issue.In response to the issue of theft,I have never encountered this issue during the 6 years of working at this establishment However we do have cameras throughout the entire hotel to protect against such activities.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Atlanta

Poor, dirty condition

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is quite gross, old, and unkempt. Shouldn't pay more than $45. Cheap owners raking it in. Not close to quality of other Super 8's.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologies for all the issues faced during your visit at our hotel.Thank you for staying with us and writing this review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking part in our survey.We hope to see you again in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs upgrades

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
I thought maybe the other reviews were people who were use to staying in nice expensive hotels and gave this place bad reviews but after experiencing it first hand I realize I was wrong. The hotel was clean short of the comforter that had dog hair all over but the staff quickly replaced that upon request. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was nice looking but then I noticed bugs. At first I was like oh well it probably flew in no big deal and killed it. Then another one appeared, and another, and another. Upon closer examination I realized they were German cockroaches. The plumbing could also use an upgrade. The toilets took a long time to flush and go down and the shower looked like it had mold around the shower head. Needless to say we got our stuff and went to another hotel for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your review is very important to us.We thank you for taking time out to make this review.Your experience and issues has been brought to all departments for immediate attention.Please accept our apologies regarding this experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More Than Adequate for Price Paid

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was more than adequate for the price. We liked such features as the nice pool, Wi-Fi, decor in the room, and the location. It is located outside of downtown, so not as much traffic to have to deal with. However, this does mean you're not centrally located to be able to walk everywhere, we didn't mind driving though. It's not the fanciest hotel to stay at, however I have no complaints. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will probably stay here again as well as recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your review is very informative,Thank you for being an advocate for our establishment.,Review like yours, gives us great satisfaction for all the effort our managers and staff make in ensuring a "super" stay for all our guest.Please come again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by gordon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your survey and being apart of our experience.We look forward to seeing you again.