Ratings based on 1,602 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel for overnight stay

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Location: Great location
Nice hotel, close to I95, many restaurant choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travels.We do hope to serve you in the future.We do appreciate the time taken to post your review.Have a blessed day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haihira Ga

Nice hotel close to I-95 .....

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Great experience especially the complimentary breakfast...the staff prepares your steak and eggs to order (eggs over easy and a nice e-books gets the day started right). The rates could be a little higher.....I left the maid a 20.00 tip so I wouldn't feel guilty about taking advantage of a great situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet clean

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Was a good place , clean , good breakfast . Friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Friendly,good and clean are part of what we provide for our guest.To be complimented gives us immense satisfaction.Thank you for your kind words.Please come again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Interstate location with restaurants and shopping nearby.
Cons: Manager should not let construction people hangout at the front entrance...smoking and drinking beer(12 by our count...it was very unpleasant.
Very clean hotel and comfortable. They could do more to improve the continental breakfast...eggs and sausage was the usual processed junk food. I recommend eating at the Denny's right next door. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping at the outlets is a real plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
We are currently making changes to our breakfast menu as we believe a good breakfast is needed to start your day.Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Needs renovation

Posted Nov 5, 2017
On our trips south, we have stayed at the Wingate. This time we were disappointed. There was a strange smell as we entered the lobby. The bathroom didn’t feel clean. There was a bug on the floor. Do not think we will use this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Your review is very important to us and we thank you for taking time to write this review.Please accept our apologies and we will investigate and resolve all the issues you faced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great St Augustine visit

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Had never stayed at a Wingate before, only Microtels. Our suite was beautiful. The lobby and staff were great. All round wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.A wonderful experience is one of the goals we strive for everyday,with every guest.To have delivered on that,is wonderful indeed.Thank you for choosing The Wingate.You have a blessed day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,Ma

Hotel was very nice and clean...

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We had a very nice time ... lots of things to do in the area and not to congested with traffic since the location is a few miles away from all the attractions... we will definitely stay here again on our next visit ... All the staff members always spoke to us when they seen us and was always greeted when we came in....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Yes,St. Augustine is rich in our country's history and thus many attractions.The comfort of not being in congested traffic is a plus because of our location.Our staff thanks you for your kind words.Thank you for writing this review and we do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Nice hotel. Close to outlet malls. Area traffic is bad and surrounding restaurants are not good. Near old st augustine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.Our close proximity to the outlet malls makes it easier for shopping.We are located seven miles from the historic city,where there are numerous choices on restaurants that you may like,for your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC

Close to Outlets

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The front lady Judy was very nice and helped us a lot. There was a smell between Clorox in stinky feet that hit you in the face when you entered the hotel . I did not use the pool or hot tub And I was very disappointed by the fact that the Room was very damp the bed coverings in chairs included. I'm disappointed that for the money I paid I didn't get more. Will not be recommending friends to use this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
Disappointment is never the word we want a guest to describe their stay with us.For that please accept our apologies.We thank you for staying with us and posting this review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for price

Posted Oct 15, 2017
My friend and I checked in & this older woman working the desk didn’t seem happy. After getting to our room, a book was in our room about relationship advice with someone’s parking ticket in it as a bookmark. Breakfast didn’t have a lot of options and my friend is vegan so we had to leave early. I forgot something in the room and when I called to see if they could send it to me, they basically told me no and hung up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by gordonc, Hotel Management
We can facilitate the return of lost and found items,once it is in our capacity to do so.In most cases we have done that.You should not have been told no, without a logical explanation.In regards to housekeeping that department has been informed of the issue regarding your stay as this is not acceptable.Thank you for your review.