Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
A bad experience from beginning to end. Certainly not a quality motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Douglas, I am sorry that you had a bad experience. You did not indicated haw your experience was bad so it is not possible to respond or to take any corrective action, if needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice little motel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: It was quiet, clean and very nice with affordable price for a quick sleep over.
Location: Right off the expressway, with fast food places just around the corner. Lots of shopping not too far.
I was pleased . It was close to my venue, as I was getting in late and didn't want to drive home. It was nice to have a microwave, and refrig.. They let me check in a few minutes early. My room wasn't ready, so they switched and gave me one that was, so I could move right in. I realize it can't be done every time, but it was nice they did so without me asking. Enjoyed a cup of coffee and danish in the morning as I left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sandy, Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay and if you come back to the area, please stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Very nice room, clean quiet and comfortable. Very reasonable on the pocket book. Close to the venue we were attending. Lake front restaurants close by as well. Older amenities, like tv were good, free WIFI. Coffee and pastries available for continental breakfast, very simple. Parking good, right in front of room. Plenty of hot water and towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response. It is a pleasure when a guest tells it like it is. We are conveniently located and clean. We have the necessary amenities but our motel is older. Come back in the Spring and see our updates. Maybe we will earn that extra star!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
This is a quaint little inexpensive hotel that's out of the way if you don't want to be right in the heart of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are approximately 15 minute from downtown Detroit and all of the new bars, restaurants and entertainment there. The money that you save staying with us will help to pay for your downtown fun.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad staff including owner

Posted Aug 27, 2016
They do not like online reservations because they don't like giving you Internet prices they are very rude and racist the hotel has that old smell to it and towels are not clean parking is horrible but staff is the worst
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We receive many reservations. We reject reservations made with credit cards that are no good. I believe that is what happened with you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit Michigan

Staff is racist

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I have a video of the staff being nasty very very bad attitude hotel is very old and smells old
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Melvin, Your problem was not with us. It was with the internet provider that did not send to us the confirmation that you had booked a room. When they did send the confirmation to us, you were given the room at the internet price. The desk clerk attempted to explain the problem to you and you would not accept his explanation. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Another person named Melvin attempted to book another stay after you and his reservation was rejected as the credit card he used was not honored. I trust that was not you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed here for a fishing trip, worked perfect.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: - Accommodated for us with our boat trailer & outside elec. hookup - Mini Fridge & Microwave - Closeness to LSC
Cons: The rooms has the classic "old hotel" smoking? odor.
Location: Located right on E. 9 Mile Road in cleaner safe neighborhood. All amenities are close by: gas, groceries, food etc. Perfect location for fishing LSC
The facility is simple, older but clean, and nothing fancy, but worked perfect for us. Was on a fishing trip out on LSC and this hotel was less than 2 miles from 9 Mile Boat Launch, perfect location. Closet lodging we could find plus the least expensive, perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. They accommodated for us with our boat trailer for parking and outside electric hookup for charging batteries. The area/neighbor didn't seem bad and we felt our boat and equipment was secure and safe, which it was. The rooms are nothing fancy, single queen bed and it's definitely an older facility. We set up a cot in room for multiple guys. The mini fridge with freezer came in very handy as well as the microwave to warm up food (call ahead to make sure you get a room with those amenities!!). Showers were clean, hot and good water pressure. All in all, I would recommend staying here if just looking for a inexpensive place to sleep and shower. I've been to much worse hotels in the Detroit area on fishing trips. Simple, cheap and convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are an older motel located 5 minutes from the lake and boat launch. St. Clair Shores is a wonderful city next to the Grosse Pointes. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. If a person needs more amenities, there are other motels not far away but you will pay nearly twice the price. I will pass your comments regarding the staff on to them. Thanks again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Illinois

It's an older hotel but clean and well maintained.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: New tv, more channels, and provide a hair dryer.
Location: The location was perfect for my stay.
Very positive and helpful staff. Older hotel but worked ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
If this were baseball, with this score we'de be in 1st place 12 games ahead. We are in the process of putting together a renovation that includes new TVs. Channel selection is always a difficult thing as that is a question of individual preference. We will change up the channels in an effort to find the right mix. We do have hair dryers available for our guests but not in the rooms. Some things cannot be provided if our rooms rates are to be kept in the economy range. Thank you much for appreciating what we offer, clean and well maintained rooms that are 1/2 half the price of our big box competitors.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only hotel in town

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: clean
Cons: just about everything
Location: location was fine ..
It took me back to the 1950's.....one small bed, exhaust fan in bathroom was inefficient, soap was so small it only had one side, very outdated TV; poor cable system; toilet seat had no lid; small bath shower combo....etc but it was the only hotel in town so we were stuck....it was clean though and no bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean. You chose our motel as we were half the money of the motels that would have given you the amenities that you wanted. You can't pay for a good sandwich and expect prime rib.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Comfortable and reasonably priced

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: It's small and easily accessed off the highway.
Cons: TV could be upgraded, but was adequate in my opinion.
Location: I drove down Mack Avenue and ate at an excellent restaurant in Grosse Pointe - D'Eduardo's. I highly recommend it.
I had a good experience staying here. The staff was pleasant and agreeable and the room was clean and in good order. It was not noisy and I had two good night's sleep. It's not a new facility, but it was more than adequate for my needs and was very reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were happy with your accommodations. We will be installing new flat screen televisions next month. You chose a very good restaurant. If you return during the summer, there are several water front restaurants that we can suggest.