Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit Michigan

Staff is racist

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I have a video of the staff being nasty very very bad attitude hotel is very old and smells old
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed here for a fishing trip, worked perfect.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: - Accommodated for us with our boat trailer & outside elec. hookup - Mini Fridge & Microwave - Closeness to LSC
Cons: The rooms has the classic "old hotel" smoking? odor.
Location: Located right on E. 9 Mile Road in cleaner safe neighborhood. All amenities are close by: gas, groceries, food etc. Perfect location for fishing LSC
The facility is simple, older but clean, and nothing fancy, but worked perfect for us. Was on a fishing trip out on LSC and this hotel was less than 2 miles from 9 Mile Boat Launch, perfect location. Closet lodging we could find plus the least expensive, perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. They accommodated for us with our boat trailer for parking and outside electric hookup for charging batteries. The area/neighbor didn't seem bad and we felt our boat and equipment was secure and safe, which it was. The rooms are nothing fancy, single queen bed and it's definitely an older facility. We set up a cot in room for multiple guys. The mini fridge with freezer came in very handy as well as the microwave to warm up food (call ahead to make sure you get a room with those amenities!!). Showers were clean, hot and good water pressure. All in all, I would recommend staying here if just looking for a inexpensive place to sleep and shower. I've been to much worse hotels in the Detroit area on fishing trips. Simple, cheap and convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are an older motel located 5 minutes from the lake and boat launch. St. Clair Shores is a wonderful city next to the Grosse Pointes. Our rooms are clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. If a person needs more amenities, there are other motels not far away but you will pay nearly twice the price. I will pass your comments regarding the staff on to them. Thanks again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

It's an older hotel but clean and well maintained.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: New tv, more channels, and provide a hair dryer.
Location: The location was perfect for my stay.
Very positive and helpful staff. Older hotel but worked ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
If this were baseball, with this score we'de be in 1st place 12 games ahead. We are in the process of putting together a renovation that includes new TVs. Channel selection is always a difficult thing as that is a question of individual preference. We will change up the channels in an effort to find the right mix. We do have hair dryers available for our guests but not in the rooms. Some things cannot be provided if our rooms rates are to be kept in the economy range. Thank you much for appreciating what we offer, clean and well maintained rooms that are 1/2 half the price of our big box competitors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only hotel in town

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: clean
Cons: just about everything
Location: location was fine ..
It took me back to the 1950's.....one small bed, exhaust fan in bathroom was inefficient, soap was so small it only had one side, very outdated TV; poor cable system; toilet seat had no lid; small bath shower combo....etc but it was the only hotel in town so we were stuck....it was clean though and no bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean. You chose our motel as we were half the money of the motels that would have given you the amenities that you wanted. You can't pay for a good sandwich and expect prime rib.
4 out of 5
by Mubasha

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for 4 out of 5 stars. If we were a baseball player, we would be in the Hall of Fame.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor customer service

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
the rooms were decent but the woman who greeted us was wretched. she gave us grief for booking online and was really rude. we came to town for a funeral and the woman acted like she had no sympathy what so ever. spoke to the owner the next day he was pleasant and very understanding. apologized and said he would be watching the video surveillance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry that our desk clerk was short with you. I did review the video and I think that your family loss made everyone's emotions run a bit high. We refunded your room completely and I thought that resolved your complaint. No good deed will go unpunished.
3 out of 5
by Tiffany from port huron

nice room

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
All was good but mattress was uncomfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that "all was good" with your stay. When you return, please let the front desk know if you had any issues with anything in the room at the time of check-out. That gives us an opportunity to make any needed changes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

Comfortable and reasonably priced

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: It's small and easily accessed off the highway.
Cons: TV could be upgraded, but was adequate in my opinion.
Location: I drove down Mack Avenue and ate at an excellent restaurant in Grosse Pointe - D'Eduardo's. I highly recommend it.
I had a good experience staying here. The staff was pleasant and agreeable and the room was clean and in good order. It was not noisy and I had two good night's sleep. It's not a new facility, but it was more than adequate for my needs and was very reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were happy with your accommodations. We will be installing new flat screen televisions next month. You chose a very good restaurant. If you return during the summer, there are several water front restaurants that we can suggest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
i did not like that hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016
I have no idea whether you are referring to the Shore Pointe Motor Lodge or some other motel. Had you been more specific in your review, it would have been easier to respond.
1 out of 5
by Tremel from North Carolina

Shore Point will NEVER get my business!!

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
First and foremost, management was rude. We just had a long drive from two states away. It was after 2 a.m. and I contacted hotels.com for a room because I was not locating anything on my own. They were as helpful as they could be with finding something in Detroit MI at 2 a.m. and sent us to Nine Mile to this hotel. My husband went inside. When he came back out, he was upset and so was I when he told me what was going on and what was said. First he was told that they never received a reservation. Second he said they do not accept same day reservations and they need 24-48 hour notice. Thirdly, they had no handicapped rooms available regardless of what hotels.com said. Fourth thing was the room was $20 more than what was quoted on hotels.com and the room was on the 2nd floor. Fifth thing was the parking lot was small and full. I have a mobility issue as does my husband and a handicapped room was a necessity. After all of this, we did not get a room until after 4:30 a.m. in Detroit. This was a horrid experience with this hotel. Watch who you do business with especially when it is concerning this particular hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear about your experience. There is often a delay between reservations being made on line and the time that we receive them. Rooms go fast on these nights and if we do not receive the reservation, the rooms may be sold to a walk-in guest. We are generally full by 2:30 am every Friday and Saturday night and our parking lot may have seemed small due to the fact that we were full. I will talk to our midnight people and show them this review to let them know how important that it is to treat all guests properly.