Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Much better than the 3.8 rating on Expedia!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: It would be difficult to mention anything that I did not like about this hotel. I expected to find tiring buffets for every meal, which not the case.
Cons: My wife and I were both more than satisfied with the entire resort experience and find it difficult to complain about anything.
Location: We chose this resort because of the its distance from the cities on St Croix. There was plenty to on-site to keep us from getting bored.
I was torn between choosing this resort over the higher rated, but significantly higher priced all-inclusive resorts. I'm really glad that I did. The food was definitely above average, the staff was always very friendly, pleasant and made my wife and I feel very special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by E.C., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the time we shared together. It's even more spectacular that we were able to exceed your expectations. It's reviews like yours that let us know when we are on the right track. We hope that you get to visit us again! Enjoy the upcoming holidays!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

No hesitation to return next year!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Divi has the 'all inclusive' aspect down pat. Good food available all day from the morning Omelet bar to the hot pannini sandwiches by the pool, to East End Pizza on site, to wonderful dinners with entertainment, and of course the Café in the Casino. There was a bar open (pool or dining) all day long and a bar in the Casino (also with live entertainment). There is LOTs to do on the Island and the Hotel flawlessly arranged ground taxis to suit our plans to and from Christainsted and other locations. You may want to rent a car for the week or a couple of days. The local rental company brought the car to the Hotel and picked it up the next day. There is also LOTs to do at the Hotel as well. We ran out of time to do all we wanted................ so see you next year Divi!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Ycianda "E.C" Granville, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing such glowing remarks about your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy your stay so much that you are already thinking of returning. We try to meet the needs of our guests by taking into consideration all tha they have shared in their review. It sure seems, from reading your review, this has really been working. It was our pleasure to share in our home and culture with you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The hotel is dirty there were bugs in my room and the property is out dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Ycianda "E.C" Granville, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review. We are sorry that your experience was not up to your expectation. While we wish that we had known of your concerns during your stay so that we could have appropriately addressed them, we hope that you were able to enjoy your trip to St. Croix.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Resort was an unkempt and in rundown condition

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The food was delicious, not overly complicated or fancy, but always well prepared and presented. The staff was excellent in every way shape and form.
Cons: Rooms were very plain, dated and in desperate need of remodeling.
Location: The casino across the street, NOT! It is 500 yards away and very dark when you walk over because you can’t find the shuttle driver.
I booked our airfare and hotel through Expedia, I had read in the reviews about the seaweed on the beaches, the reviews stated the hotel graded the beach daily so I wasn’t overly concerned about that issue. However, the review did not mention the fact there was an almost non-existent beachfront the Divi Carina had to offer. We carried our own luggage to our room, as there was no bellhop as advertised in amenities section of the resort over-view. To expand on that point, the photos posted are NOT what you are getting. It looked as though it was probably a beautiful place at one time, but it is in overall poor condition now. The water was too rough to use the non-motorized equipment; I never saw the fitness facilities or sailing options. Arcade/game room I have no idea where that was. The dive shop is just a store to buy more t-shirts, and the Spa doesn't seem to actually exist and the Wi-Fi NEVER…NEVER did I say NEVER worked in our room. NEVER!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Ycianda "E.C" Granville, Hotel Management
vThank you for sharing a review of your stay. Each review provides us with the opportunity to grow within this ever changing industry. While we are sorry to read that you had such disappointments with the property, we are pleased that our staff, food and views made a great impact on your stay. We encourage all of our guests to speak with a manager when things do not seem to go according to plan. It is for that reason; a manager goes around each night speaking to guests inquiring about their stay so that we may address concerns right away rather than have you go home with a poor experience. Our managers make calls to your room to welcome you to the property, ask about your stay as well as give you some pointers about the resort and the island. We try our best to view what we offer from the guest perspective and believe that our staff assist in quite a significant way by treating our guests as part of the family. It is for this reason that when there are more than four people waiting to check in, we try to do a quick orientation to the property. We understand that you have flown for many hours and may be either hungry, tired or just ready to unwind. This brief welcome tells you where things are located as well as different times for different events. While we wish we had known about your concerns sooner and understand that we cannot change your experience to a more positive one at this time, we are pleased that you were still able to connect with our staff and enjoy the views from your room. We know that the key to success is the people that work diligently to make our guests feel at home and a part of our family. We will certainly let our team know that you felt that their services and foods were what really made a difference to your stay. With kindest regards,
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Excellent place to stay.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Me and my family enjoyed every single detail and have already made plans to return in three months. Outstanding job!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by EC Granville, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay! We are happy to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay but that you are ready to come back. It was our pleasure to share in our hospitality and culture with you! See you soon!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salem oregon

check in to check out

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: . The food was great, not overly fancy, but always well prepared and presented, with plenty of healthy options, and treats.
Although we did go at the end of April, and after the busier tourist season, St. Croix and Divi had a very relaxed and calm feel. It really isn’t the place for wild shopping sprees and night clubs, and it’s not new or spotless. We met a number of other guests and took a couple of friends with us. It was absolutely beautiful and it will stay with us. A big shout out again to the staff-we caught many names, missed some we wish we hadn’t, and know there are more-The lovely Eustacia, Krys, Jahzzi, Cece, Sherwin, Cartesha, Gibson, Edmond, local craftsman, Budz Leo, and anyone we missed! We hope to go back!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Quiet spot for relaxing

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: The room locations allowed for a constant ocean breeze at just the right temperature. No need for air conditioning. The food was good as was the rum.
Cons: Some work is needed along the beachfront, such as steps repair, cleanup...
Location: Outside the resort requires a cab ride. But, with the casino (only one on the island) the beach , bar and restaurant there is enough activity.
My wife and I spent only four days at this stay before we left for another reservation. In retrospect we would have liked to have spent more time at Divi. Much of our time was spent relaxing in the sun but we reserved time for partying as well.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice secluded hotel. Right on the beach.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Food, room size and location, beach
Cons: Lunch menu could have been beefed up. The waitress and bar tender seemed to be overworked.
Location: The casino was across the street along with putt putt. I did not go any further than that.
Booked hotel through Expedia. I,d heard a lot about the seaweed and dirtiness but I'm glad I did not take that to heart. The room was clean. Our view was spectacular. We were able to hear the nightly entertainment from our room which lulled me to sleep. Food was great. The had a seafood buffet for valentines. It was very romantic. This is the perfect place to read a book on the beach. Outside of that. The water was too rough to use the non-motorized equipment. The cab driver said the seaweed is an issue around June so we did not have this problem. 2 of th 4 days we were there some got bit by fish in the water (which I'd never heard of ). I don't gamble but the casino food was good. There were events downtown but I was terrified of the. Cab ride to the resort and did not want to be driven anywhere else. We did play put put and tried to play tennis but could not find tennis racquets. All and all the trip was a great get away to relax.
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from rockland county, NY

Friendly staff but not the most eager to help

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Cons: It was our honey-moon and there were no accommodations for us. The plane (jet blue airlines) was more accommodating than the hotel.
Our first time doing an all inclusive hotel and we had to figure out the limitations on our own. For example, we were allowed to take an entire bottle of wine and/or champagne to our room but only found out a couple of days into our stay. The staff was very friendly and the food was good (scale of 6 out of 10). However, 99% of the food was food we could find anywhere/everywhere back home (NY) i.e. Steak, lamb, eggs, sausage etc. We would have loved to have eaten island food. Only thing foreign was pâté. But we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was nice but some couples we met complained of ants and the shower head turning on by itself in the middle of the night. Just as this hotel has mixed reviews, your experience their will be 50/50 unfortunately. We had an awesome time and never was hungry. We'd definitely return but only on all inclusive and we feel the h ogle is a bit over priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The location near the water and the pool were a plus as were the very helpful and pleasant staff. The fact that it was all inclusive was also a plus.
Cons: More organization of meals and events. Safety measures such as grab bars in the shower/tub would be an improvement. More wait staff and efficiency
Location: Near water, far from town and shopping. to take a shuttle to Casino. They had miniature golf and some tours but most cost money for transportation.
The hotel staff were very nice and very helpful, however, there seemed a lack of organization concerning the meals and entertainment. They didn't seem to have enough wait staff so meals took an extremely long time to appear, same with clearing off of tables. A couple of times there was no silverware, glasses, etc. and we had to go looking for some or someone to help us. Location to beach was great and pool was wonderful and kept clean. All In all it was an okay experience, but I wouldn't stay again unless some of the problems were addressed. There were also some safety measures that should have been taken such as having a grip bar in the shower/tub for older clients. The elevators were very hard to find, one needed them.