Resort was an unkempt and in rundown condition
Posted Oct 13, 2016
I booked our airfare and hotel through Expedia, I had read in the reviews about the seaweed on the beaches, the reviews stated the hotel graded the beach daily so I wasn’t overly concerned about that issue. However, the review did not mention the fact there was an almost non-existent beachfront the Divi Carina had to offer.
We carried our own luggage to our room, as there was no bellhop as advertised in amenities section of the resort over-view. To expand on that point, the photos posted are NOT what you are getting.
It looked as though it was probably a beautiful place at one time, but it is in overall poor condition now.
The water was too rough to use the non-motorized equipment; I never saw the fitness facilities or sailing options. Arcade/game room I have no idea where that was.
The dive shop is just a store to buy more t-shirts, and the Spa doesn't seem to actually exist and the Wi-Fi NEVER…NEVER did I say NEVER worked in our room. NEVER!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Ycianda "E.C" Granville, Hotel Management
vThank you for sharing a review of your stay. Each review provides us with the opportunity to grow within this ever changing industry. While we are sorry to read that you had such disappointments with the property, we are pleased that our staff, food and views made a great impact on your stay. We encourage all of our guests to speak with a manager when things do not seem to go according to plan. It is for that reason; a manager goes around each night speaking to guests inquiring about their stay so that we may address concerns right away rather than have you go home with a poor experience. Our managers make calls to your room to welcome you to the property, ask about your stay as well as give you some pointers about the resort and the island.
We try our best to view what we offer from the guest perspective and believe that our staff assist in quite a significant way by treating our guests as part of the family. It is for this reason that when there are more than four people waiting to check in, we try to do a quick orientation to the property. We understand that you have flown for many hours and may be either hungry, tired or just ready to unwind. This brief welcome tells you where things are located as well as different times for different events.
While we wish we had known about your concerns sooner and understand that we cannot change your experience to a more positive one at this time, we are pleased that you were still able to connect with our staff and enjoy the views from your room. We know that the key to success is the people that work diligently to make our guests feel at home and a part of our family. We will certainly let our team know that you felt that their services and foods were what really made a difference to your stay.
With kindest regards,