Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st croix usvi.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Staff were very pleasant and and its a great old structure with lots of charm
Cons: Had no problems with my stay ! That's all I have to say !
Location: This has been home for past 27 years so my first stay in a hotel on Croix but boardwalk is beautiful !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Don't stay there.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Close to boardwalk
Cons: Place is very run down. Too bad. Could be a great place.
Place was awful. Had no linens. Wifi doesn't work well pool was half full of water and filthy. Check in clerk was worthless.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

great West Indian atmosphere

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Right downtown and on the harbor. Many shops and restaurants in walking distance. Good location.
We stayed in one of the rooms in the old section and loved the old world vibe. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. No elevator, hard on bad knees, and very limited TV, like 5 channels, cnn, espn, usa and 2 others. No network channels. But overall, we enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Worst hotel experience

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The only positive thing about this hotel is that the rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff did an amazing job every time the room was cleaned.
Cons: The walls are super thin to the point you can clearly hear everything your neighbors are doing. The floors squeaked every time I moved.
Location: Nightlife downtown is decent and there are a lot of day time activities to do.
This was one of the worst hotel experiences that I’ve ever had. My opinion is based solely on the room which I occupied for over 10 days. From the online pictures I guess there are better rooms but the room I had looked nothing like what I saw in any of the online photos. To be fair, I understand that this hotel is being marketed as a historic hotel experience, but it lacks the basic amenities to make it barely comfortable for the modern traveler. To start, the room which I occupied resembled an attic with barely enough space to move around. The walls are super thin to the point you can clearly hear everything your neighbors are doing. I was constantly awakened by the person below and next door to me snoring, watching porn, moving around, flushing the toilet or taking a shower. This was very annoying and frustrating! The floors squeaked so bad that everyone knew when I was moving around, I consistently heard the person below me arguing about the squeaking floors every time I moved around. Secondly, the rooms had so many mosquitoes that I am still feeling the effects of their bites to this day. Next, the continental breakfast consisted of toast, a small box of cereal, milk and boiled eggs, definitely nothing to write home about! There was also no alarm clock or ironing board in the room. Even though the website said that parking space was available, there was none at the actual hotel so be prepared to spend extra money to park in the government parking lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lake county, ca

Staff was excellent, but stain on rug

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Staff was excellent, but stain on rug, only four chanels and three were shopping chanels, old coffee maker it was rusty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from troy ny

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: the location was great if you didn't have a car
Cons: the cleaniness of the rooms
Location: governor's house
at time of booking the room for the week I was not informed of a resort fee of $253.00 outside of my week stay the breakfast could have been a little more to the liking other then that it was a pleasant stay .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The rooms leak. Wifi is trash. TV only has 5 channels. Nobody answers the phone at the front desk. No fridge. No microwave. No hot water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bronx

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The room I stayed in was clean. My issue was you were only able to watch one tv channel. There was no refrigerator in my room. The staff was excellent. The pool was never clean it was very nasty. I was not able to use the pool. They also need a new breakfast menu, we had the same breakfast foods everyday. I wouldn't recommend anybody to stay at the comanche.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jetsey

The "staff" impressed me right off the bat.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. They set the theme for my visit to St Croix. Expedia .com choices made my decision simple and doable. I recommend it highly. Thanks. Whoo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
I expected more based on the pictures presented.