Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Worst hotel experience

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The only positive thing about this hotel is that the rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff did an amazing job every time the room was cleaned.
Cons: The walls are super thin to the point you can clearly hear everything your neighbors are doing. The floors squeaked every time I moved.
Location: Nightlife downtown is decent and there are a lot of day time activities to do.
This was one of the worst hotel experiences that I’ve ever had. My opinion is based solely on the room which I occupied for over 10 days. From the online pictures I guess there are better rooms but the room I had looked nothing like what I saw in any of the online photos. To be fair, I understand that this hotel is being marketed as a historic hotel experience, but it lacks the basic amenities to make it barely comfortable for the modern traveler. To start, the room which I occupied resembled an attic with barely enough space to move around. The walls are super thin to the point you can clearly hear everything your neighbors are doing. I was constantly awakened by the person below and next door to me snoring, watching porn, moving around, flushing the toilet or taking a shower. This was very annoying and frustrating! The floors squeaked so bad that everyone knew when I was moving around, I consistently heard the person below me arguing about the squeaking floors every time I moved around. Secondly, the rooms had so many mosquitoes that I am still feeling the effects of their bites to this day. Next, the continental breakfast consisted of toast, a small box of cereal, milk and boiled eggs, definitely nothing to write home about! There was also no alarm clock or ironing board in the room. Even though the website said that parking space was available, there was none at the actual hotel so be prepared to spend extra money to park in the government parking lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lake county, ca

Staff was excellent, but stain on rug

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Staff was excellent, but stain on rug, only four chanels and three were shopping chanels, old coffee maker it was rusty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from troy ny

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: the location was great if you didn't have a car
Cons: the cleaniness of the rooms
Location: governor's house
at time of booking the room for the week I was not informed of a resort fee of $253.00 outside of my week stay the breakfast could have been a little more to the liking other then that it was a pleasant stay .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The rooms leak. Wifi is trash. TV only has 5 channels. Nobody answers the phone at the front desk. No fridge. No microwave. No hot water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bronx

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The room I stayed in was clean. My issue was you were only able to watch one tv channel. There was no refrigerator in my room. The staff was excellent. The pool was never clean it was very nasty. I was not able to use the pool. They also need a new breakfast menu, we had the same breakfast foods everyday. I wouldn't recommend anybody to stay at the comanche.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jetsey

The "staff" impressed me right off the bat.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful. They set the theme for my visit to St Croix. Expedia .com choices made my decision simple and doable. I recommend it highly. Thanks. Whoo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Needs inmediate attention

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Additional charges once arrived. Room was dirty, a/c unit not working in one of the two rooms booked. Pool without water when arrived. Horrible weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
I was not in a comfortable room the first night when I arrived after 10:00 P.M. and the television was not even working; however, upon inquiry the next day, I was moved to a suite with a view. All staff members were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive to my husband and me. The continental breakfast every morning proved to be desirable. The brief ferry ride to the beach at Hotel at the Cay proved to be a rewarding treat and walking down a flight of steps led to storefront access. I look forward to returning next month and staying in the 'loft' with my family.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Old hotel with lots of stairs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Wish I would have listened to the bad reviews

Posted May 30, 2016
I really wanted to love this hotel, and love the exterior, but unfortunately it wasn't a great experience. There were negative reviews on Expedia and Trip Advisor but I ignored them because most didn't seem to understand that they were staying in an old hotel not a resort but I should have listened. When we got there the gal who checked us in (who was amazing and if the review was just on her I'd give 5 stars!) couldn't get our room door open so she put us in a different one by the pool. Our experience might be because of that change but we never saw the inside of the room so I can't be sure. Oh and I forgot to add to be prepared for mosquito bites! Even with using repellent I had 40+ bites and they all seemed to happen in the room The room we were put in did not look like it had been thoroughly cleaned in a LONG time. Dirty walls and doors, huge sections of peeling paint, a safe that didn't work, dirty bathroom, dust and dirt all over the lamps and curtains. The worst part was probably the bathroom door that was filthy and not a solid door but more of a pantry door with shutters. Not really great for privacy when you can see right through the door as well as hear whatever is going on in there. We were trying to stay on the same sleep schedule as home (3 hours behind) so we would try to sleep in but every morning at 9am, 6am our time, the housekeeper would bang on the door and if you didn't answer they would try to come in. The first time this happened I told her we wer