Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evansville, IN

Great hotel, beautiful views and landscaping.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here! Hotel is older but very clean. Grounds are beautiful! Ferry ride to Christiansted is very convenient and free if you stay here. Views of bay and ocean are wonderful since hotel is on an island by itself. Beach is very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

nice quiet hotel with great views

Posted Dec 27, 2016
If you are staying in Christiansted this is a good hotel if you want a quiet hotel with great views and breeze. Ferry boat crosses you back and forth to town every 10 minutes. I never went to hotel bar / restaurant so can't comment on that. Had good breakfast at Avacado Pit / Rum Runners (short walk from boat drop off in town)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Pictures are worth a thousand words.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I booked everything through Expedia. It was pretty easy. The pictures of the hotel looked great. My fiancé, brother & myself couldn't have been more excited... a getaway from the cold weather to paradise! Not so much. We arrived to the hotel in good spirits after a long day of travel. When you take the ferry over you walk through a little shop. The old lady that worked there was VERY rude (on more then just one occasion!) The next thing we noticed were all the ponds were completely empty, it was a eye sore the entire trip. The room looked like it had not been cleaned that well. There were a handful of dead flies laying by the bed. It wasn't something we thought we were going to walk into. However, the view was great. I'll give them that. After getting over the rude lady in the shop, they eye sore at the hotel and the dead flies in the room we decided to go get something to eat at the beach bar. Well we couldn't. It was still light out and still early but they decided to close. I couldn't believe it. We eventually ate there for breakfast. No one ordered any liquor but for 5 adults and one child breakfast was $85.00 and that's insane. The waitress forgot my drink order 3x and we were the only table. If your going for a view, sure go to the Cay but if your going to enjoy food, drinks, a little nightlife then this isn't the place AT ALL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Good option

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location, value, beach, wildlife
We stayed at hotel on the cay for 4 nights and had a positive experience. The location is excellent with a fun boat ride to and from the hotel. There were egrets nests, lizards and birds to admire on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Perfect hotel for enjoying the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The beach and snorkeling is the best. Relaxed, fun atmosphere all the time.
Cons: The hotel could use a little updating, it's a little scuffed around the edges. But very clean and everything you need.
Location: Kayaks and jet skis are available for rent right on the beach. On the mainland there are lots of places to arrange excursions and dive trips.
This was our second time staying here and we will definitely stay here again. This hotel isn't fancy but it has everything you need; large, clean rooms with kitchenettes so you don't break the bank eating every meal out. The service is good and the staff friendly. The beach is amazing and the snorkeling is great as soon as you enter the water. Sea turtles, barracuda, puffer fish and millions more! The beach bar has good food and friendly service. You never have to wait longer than a few minutes for the ferry either way; a two minute boat ride takes you to the heart of Christiansted with lots of restaurants, shops and activities. If you rent a car street parking isn't hard to find, otherwise taxis are just steps from the ferry stop.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel, but perfect scenic location

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it - on a small bounty island. Old hotel, but clean and nice
3 out of 5
by Doel

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We had a good time. The room needs renovation. Views we will great anday good neiborhood and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, Puerto Rico

Little paradise

Posted Jul 26, 2016
This is a hotel placed on a tiny Island. It has restaurant and a cute beach where you will wish to stay forever. Hotel staff are súper friendly. I will come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Euless Texas

Perfect family hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We have a family of 5. We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was a double queen bed with separate living room and sofa bed. It was so spacious. Like a little apartment. There were plates, cups and eating utensils, a bar and kitchen sink. The beds were comfy. Very clean. The staff was very friendly. This was our first time in the Virgin Islands. Staying here made our first experience an enjoyable one. We plan on coming back. Maybe without the kids next time :) Thank you Hotel on the Cay and Expedia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and unique boat ride to hotel memorable!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Special welcoming feel, snorkeling around the island with turtles and colorful fish,
Cons: Our room was large and clean. Some of tile floors have seen better days. Not an issue.
Location: HCay is convenient to town and Boardwalk where main restaurants,water activities, and shops are located. Taxi to Fredericksted $10 for two.
We were pleasantly surprised how efficient and easy the boat ride to the hotel and back was on a daily basis. This unique two minute ride becomes a fun part of the stay and the experience.Upon arrival, it is clear that the staff is ready and willing to help make your experience comfortable throughout your stay. Genuinely friendly and welcoming. We were fortunate to have a view of Christiansted and the fort from our 3rd floor balcony. We had a large, clean room with a new shower. Don't miss the top deck with incredible views, library, gathering place and a grill! Snorkeling great for beginners and children. We will return!