Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great Location...BUT.....

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location, beds, pool, views, ferry
Cons: the condition of the rooms...
Very nice location right in the middle of town--easy access to everything. The ferry runs 7am to midnight and you can call for a ride between midnight and 7am so you are not stuck. Ferry NEVER a problem - always available - great captains. Nice pool that no one seems to know about. Bar & food available. The room however... was NOT GOOD. The condition of the room was below terrible. The air conditioner leaked - badly, right on the floor next to bath. Their solution (we did follow their instructions about the drapes and shutters) was to keep throwing towels down - 5-6 to sop up the constant dripping - I thought the shower above was leaking it was so bad. Water is very dangerous on a slippery tile floor... Didn't want to lean on balcony railing--afraid we would go through to ground, internet cuts in and out constantly. Definitely an older very tired structure, beds were comfortable - but the constant dripping was terrible.... The beach was nice--only hotel with a beach downtown. Also had purse stolen on Rainbow Beach. Just beware!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

right on the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Nice view, wonderful people, but if you rent a car well the places to park are not to be had! especially around from 3:30p.m. on. But loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

So close yet so private

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Location: Location is hotel on a cay in Christensted harbor. Our view was the Dutch colonial town and yellow national parks historic fort.
Staff cannot be faulted for their service. Even ferry staff were prompt. We needed a ferry at 4:30AM to watch sunrise and the ferryman got out of bed to get us across to the main island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern, MN

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The hotel is dated but views breathtaking. We thought we would have a full kitchen, but only kitchenette available. With a microwave, coffee maker, small refrigerator, small toaster oven. Rooms clean. The water sports center was helpful with water activities. Mary, in the shop is a wealth of information regarding island activities. Ferry back and forth to main island is readily available, longest wait-5 min.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Views

Posted Mar 2, 2017
This hotel is definitely a little outdated, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable! And the views from our room were absolutely amazing! Felt very safe, and the beach was just a few steps away. If you want to stay near Christiansted, but want a beach to relax on this is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evansville, IN

Great hotel, beautiful views and landscaping.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here! Hotel is older but very clean. Grounds are beautiful! Ferry ride to Christiansted is very convenient and free if you stay here. Views of bay and ocean are wonderful since hotel is on an island by itself. Beach is very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

nice quiet hotel with great views

Posted Dec 27, 2016
If you are staying in Christiansted this is a good hotel if you want a quiet hotel with great views and breeze. Ferry boat crosses you back and forth to town every 10 minutes. I never went to hotel bar / restaurant so can't comment on that. Had good breakfast at Avacado Pit / Rum Runners (short walk from boat drop off in town)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Pictures are worth a thousand words.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I booked everything through Expedia. It was pretty easy. The pictures of the hotel looked great. My fiancé, brother & myself couldn't have been more excited... a getaway from the cold weather to paradise! Not so much. We arrived to the hotel in good spirits after a long day of travel. When you take the ferry over you walk through a little shop. The old lady that worked there was VERY rude (on more then just one occasion!) The next thing we noticed were all the ponds were completely empty, it was a eye sore the entire trip. The room looked like it had not been cleaned that well. There were a handful of dead flies laying by the bed. It wasn't something we thought we were going to walk into. However, the view was great. I'll give them that. After getting over the rude lady in the shop, they eye sore at the hotel and the dead flies in the room we decided to go get something to eat at the beach bar. Well we couldn't. It was still light out and still early but they decided to close. I couldn't believe it. We eventually ate there for breakfast. No one ordered any liquor but for 5 adults and one child breakfast was $85.00 and that's insane. The waitress forgot my drink order 3x and we were the only table. If your going for a view, sure go to the Cay but if your going to enjoy food, drinks, a little nightlife then this isn't the place AT ALL.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
good, need a new Bartender
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Watch out for the surcharge!

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: Be up-font about the energy surcharge. Repair the water feature which held rain water but had no circulation of fresh water or sea water.
At check-in we were surprised by an unadvertised "energy charge" of an additional $24 per night (this was in addition to the tax and resort fee). Nowhere in the information we received was there mention of that charge. I talked with three or four other guests who were also charged the extra $24 per night. Other than that, the hotel had some very nice features--the beach right out our door, the convenience to downtown Christiansted, a partial view of the harbor, the free ferry rides, a clean and very nice room. In spite of all these positive features, the surcharge tainted our overall view of the hotel, The cleaning staff were very nice--it was two out of the three desk staff who were neither helpful nor pleasant. We would definitely stay there again, but we would first ask about the $24 surcharge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Jin W., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Please contact Orbitz, your booking source regarding the apparent unadvertised energy surcharge. This has been established with our hotel for over 7 years, and every customer booking through Expedia and their companies (orbitz, travelocity) are advising all customers of this payment.