Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from richmond,va

Nice hotel..not worth the money though

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The views are gorgeous
Cons: The service was terrible. Our room was not ready when we arrived (after 4pm) and then we were told to wait to be driven to our room, did not happen
The hotel was beautiful, but I don't feel the priced paid equals the quality received. The Island is beautiful and I will be returning but not to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The hotel was wonderful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great . Everything was great .

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great time can't wait to go back . I'm not much of a review writer . It was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel on the beach in remote location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We stayed for an 8 day vacation in April and were happy overall with the hotel. Very private location on northwest side of island. Far left side of the beach was great and our room was upgraded to have a partial water view very close to beach and pool. Unfortunately, we had several service issues with food (two meals took over 1 1/2 hours to get food), room service (order never came) and didn't enjoy food options onsite with limited menu and mediocre food. One additional issue was we had several days of rain at our resort location limited to our small section of the island. 10 minutes away it was sunny so area seemed more susceptible to rain (rain forest is near by) so plan accordingly. Beds were not comfortable especially sofa bed. Renting a car is a must for this location as nothing is within walking distance. We liked the resort but would not go back or recommend the resort to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Very spacious rooms. The chef is excellent. Nothing much to do at the resort but good if you just want to relax and chill. I hope they will have more entertainment for people to enjoy at night. And more water activities other than diving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Picturesque, peaceful Resort

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Hotel was lovely - in a picturesque setting. Staff was friendly. Beach and pool both great. Loved the dark wood and the screened in porch that was part of each room. (My son ended up sleeping on the porch.) The dinner menu was simple but decent, and the breakfast buffet had all the standard fare. It is in a remote part of the island and feels a bit other-worldly. The only negative was the location of our room, which was back by the tennis courts. There was some machinery (generator maybe?) that was running all night that was a bit loud. Be sure to ask for a room far from the tennis courts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great beach view of St. Croix's rocky coast

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The location is fantastic.
Cons: Food service needs improvement and choices are limited. Prices are a little high for the quality of food and drinks.
Location: There is not much to do and we traveled most of the island. Driving through the rainforest was our most unique outing.
We used a rental car for flexibility. Driving on the left side of the road was cool. Once getting our bearings the drive to the resort was nice (roads are rough). Check in was smooth and the resort has an open casual feel. The area is larger enough for the guest load and not to crowded. Our visit was relaxing since there is no structured schedule.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Partial oceanview was a nice surprise

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: It didn't offer any activities at the beach or pool. It is very secluded which is what most people want in a vacation, it was just a little boring.
Cons: Keep trying to improve the service at the restaurants. When a family of 4 is paying $80 for lunch or $95 for a breakfast you expect quick service.
Location: We visited a few of the restaurants/bars and enjoyed them, the ports/piers are very boring. Nothing to do & none of the shops were open.
We spent a week at the Renaissance, location was great, the room was perfect esp the unexpected partial oceanview. The wait staff was ok, I had read reviews that they were working on improving the service at the restaurants and you can tell they were trying! Would definitely recommend to family & friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Nicely kept resort, friendly staff..cave-like room

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Grounds&staff.
Cons: Stop misrespresenting beachfront rooms when they are NOT.
Location: Isolated location. One needs a car or take a taxi to go anywhere to do anything off the resort.
Basically it is a nice resort with well kept grounds. Good food & nice staff. The biggest complain I have is that I booked a beach front room & received a room with a tunnel like view of the beach with buildings between my room & the beach which limited my view of the beach to about 45 degrees as opposed to all other resorts where a beach front room has a 180 degree view of the beach. The view of the beach was only visible from the small screened porch.There were very few windows in the suite and very poor lighting ( except for the vanity area of the bathroom) which made the room cave-like. Basically I would say the resort misrepresented the room as beach front when in fact in was NOT. It was a room behind other true beachfront rooms. The attached picture says it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Renaissance Carambola Resort

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything you need in the villa if you want to pick up some groceries in town. Moco Jumbies on Friday nights, cocktail reception on Mondays.
Cons: The rooms are beginning to show some wear, time for some upgrades.
Location: Great restaurants and golf course close by and another beach. Great views as drive up and down the scenic roads that run east & west.
Lovely resort with lush vegetation throughout and right on the beach. Be sure and pay attention to the sign and only use the ocean at the west end of the resort. because of Sea Urchins at the east end. Great staff, entertainment and good food if you don't want to go out.