Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Renaissance Carambola Resort

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything you need in the villa if you want to pick up some groceries in town. Moco Jumbies on Friday nights, cocktail reception on Mondays.
Cons: The rooms are beginning to show some wear, time for some upgrades.
Location: Great restaurants and golf course close by and another beach. Great views as drive up and down the scenic roads that run east & west.
Lovely resort with lush vegetation throughout and right on the beach. Be sure and pay attention to the sign and only use the ocean at the west end of the resort. because of Sea Urchins at the east end. Great staff, entertainment and good food if you don't want to go out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel - close to the beach

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly.. Restaurant food was good.
Cons: Room and resort cleanliness. Beach bar would have been nice - at least serving drinks during the day.
Location: Very remote location in the rain forest of the island. Not a lot of things to do if you are looking for night life.
Was there for business trip and stayed a couple of days extra for vacation. Overall a good experience but for the price, I would have expected the room to be a little bit cleaner and more updated. Staff were nice and responsive. Very long walk to the parking lot and restaurant/giftshop etc but they had golf carts that could pick you up if you didn't want to walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More than I imagined!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Staff was very attentive, view was priceless, entertainment every night, nice spa treatment. Will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great studio rooms right on the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: secluded rooms with windows wide open at night listening to the surf
remote on secluded beach but close to restaurants and towns(5-20 minutes)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Uh no

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Beautiful hotel and beautiful beach but there were a lot of management issues. First if the water is choppy there are no activities. Staff was friendly but overall unhelpful. And SLOW. Every meal felt like a marathon. Asking for more water or coffee took about an enternity to come. That's after having to ask for more since most of the staff disappears once your food comes. There is one formal breakfast place and no coffee shop or quick breakfast spot. When I asked for an iced coffee to go in the morning quick, I got we don't serve iced coffee and then was proceeded to be told that reception has free coffee and to go there. To which the cups were for small children. Like really? The dinner menu every night was the same limited menu. No entertainment really ever. No special shows. For being really secluded with the town 40 minutes away you would think there would be some things going on at the hotel. House keeping was terrible. There was still sand in my sheets when my bed was "made" and more than once items were made into the bed showing it wasn't properly done. Safe to say after five days there I was ready to go home. Also a really annoying manager who ran the place who thought it would be cool to hang out with us and ended up following us to one of our dinners off site and effectively ruined the desert part of our meal when he showed up and decided to sit down with us. Pretty unprofessional if you ask me following two girls around...and no he didn't even comp us anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest beach on the Island

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The location. Gorgeous views, 360 degrees. Rooms are comfortable. Great white sand beach.
Cons: Restaurant serving times are long. $4/person for coffee is outrageous when it's free in the lobby but not consistently there at 7 or any other time.
Location: It's away from the towns but Fredericksted is 15 mins & Christiansted is 30. Go to Turtle Deli in Fredsted for great handmade sandwiches.
We had a rental and explored all around St Croix. For all the beach recommendations we researched, we found the beach on this property was the most beautiful. Rainforest behind you, the amazing blue ocean in front of you. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The on-site restaurants have good food, and most of the staff are wonderfully warm. I read previous reviews and we did have 1 or 2 staff members that seemed disinterested but most are great! The island people are welcoming and warm too. The roads are not well marked and we got lost twice. Both times we asked a local for directions (No Verizon on the island) and after explaining how confusing the roads are, both times they said, "Oh just follow me." If not for the one local, who took us right to a small parking lot that we never would have found on our own nor found a parking spot in downtown Christiansted. If not for his kindness, we would have, missed our Buck Island tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful. Philadelphia to St. Croix

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The hotel was absolutely beautiful .. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and elegant. The beach, hot tub,and the pools were very clean and scenic.. Food at the restaurant closest to the pool that houses the bar was tasty. Despite my room not being quite ready and my hotel credit that I purchased in my Expedia package was not visible at check in.. the front desk staff were so nice and pleasant that the time it took to correct both was slightly overlooked. The staff in the bar restaurant from the kitchen on .., and all the other grounds staff and bell men were very nice and well mannered. The negatives were.. A gate attendant who wasn't very welcoming when we arrived (she didn't even greet us when the sign says to stop) Breakfast at the Saman restaurant is really your only option for breakfast and it is overpriced and not very tasty ( if you stop at the freshly made station ( if you choose the buffet).. the lady there made tasty omelets and waffles) They only had pork breakfast meats to choose from (outside of shrimp for an omelet) The front desk do not pick up that phone after 11p we called about a baby lizard and it was hard to reach someone.. when we finally reached someone the baby was hiding. Tip.. December is considered the winter in St. Croix so you really cannot go into some of the beaches because the water is rough from the wind etc despite the 85 degree temp Overall I had a great experience and would return. This hotel is really nice. (I am from St. Croix ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Perfect hotel very friendly staff. The photos do not do the resort justice we were shocked as we walked onto the premises. Very happy with our stay, beautiful view and great vibe to the place. Would definitely reccomend to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

A Little Slice of Heaven

Posted Dec 13, 2016
This is a beautiful resort nestled away in paradise. Perfect for a "tucked away" couples retreat and just a short (30 min) scenic drive from both Christiansted and Fredericksted. Highly recommended with lovely views and nice accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Beautiful place marginal service

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The resort is secluded and beautiful. The rooms are big and nice. Ocean right off your deck. There is a kitchenette and full size refrigerator. The down side is being 30-45 minutes away from town and restaurant is limited. The service at the bar and restaurant is highly verifiable. Some servers and tenders are nice and efficient. Others seem resentful, is the only way I can put it. The prices are very high and the food does not justify the price. We went to Raughty Joes, Eat and Off the Wall and they were great and pretty close. We got some snacks and liquor from town and stocked the kitchen. If you plan on staying in the resort and only using their bar and restaurant, plan on a significant expense and don't get in a hurry. The recommend the resort to a friend question should have "maybe". I spent time at the Buccaneer and liked the staff much better.