Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD

Everything you need - nothing you don't!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Cons: Consider upgrading the mattresses and pillows.
Location: Highly recommend a snorkeling trip to Buck Island and some shopping and lunch in nearby Christiansted.
We escaped 3 feet of snow in Maryland on a last minute trip to St. Croix and chose Tamarind Reef as a result of the guest reviews and the obviously relaxed, quiet nature of the resort. I should point out that we are not usually "beach people" for more than 3 or 4 days so the prospect of 6 days and nights at the resort was unusual, yet exciting. We wanted a quiet escape away from the world, away from people, where we could enjoy the beach, the pool, snorkeling, kayaking and SUPing without waiting in line for other guests, we wanted to play tennis and walk every day. We also wanted great food in a relaxed environment. We did consider the nearby Buccaneer and are glad that we did not stay there. TRR delivered on all these counts and to be honest, exceeded our expectations and the reviews: most days we were the only people on the beach. The resort is relaxed, quiet, peaceful, well maintained and well run. The staff were very friendly and remembered are names. The room cleaning staff were wonderful, flexible and made effort to make our stay comfortable. The New Deep End Restaurant and Bar serves up a wonderful and extensive menu of dishes from around the world and additional specials every evening - every meal was delicious - and enhances the experience with almost daily live music. In summary, we love to travel and taste new experiences and very rarely return to the same place. We will make an exception for St. Croix and for Tamarind Reef Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westerville, Ohio

Huge rooms... clean and neat.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Clean, large rooms, WiFi everywhere, beautiful pool and beach, fun restaurant bar with great food.... and an excellent location
Cons: Loved it all
We took our two boys (16 and 23) on a Christmas dive vacation. The hotel staff did an excellent job making sure the rooms were set up according to plan, helping with taxis, car rental, etc. Great place with extremely friendly people. Our rooms overlooked the ocean and were close to the more casual restaurant / bar.... which has really good food. The hotel itself was the perfect location for us. We didn't want to be in the middle of town. We rented a jeep for the 10 minute ride to the dive boat in the morning (rental car is highly recommended... the island has a lot to see in different locations....nothing's far, but you need a car). We dove with St. Croix Ultimate Blue Water Adventures.... great shop... highly recommended. We also took a day to go to beach bar hopping.... lots O fun. All in all, it was a great trip. We plan on going to St. Croix again soon.... and will definitely stay at the Tamarind Reef.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week at Tamarind Reef Resort, St. Croix, USVI

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: beach is eroded, rocky & full of spiny sea urchins, but immediately past the beach rocks is a beautiful zone for watching amazingly colorful fish (jus
Cons: Can't think of anything. No longer legal to dredge beaches, so nothing they can do about that. Besides, it would drive off the colorful reef fish.
Location: 3 miles from Christiansted, biggest island city. Other than that, it's swimming, boating & fishing - if not scuba diving.
3rd visit here; nice, affordable shoreline resort;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from co

Great Vacation

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: On the beach and very clean
Cons: Insulation between the upper and lower. Very loud in the lower level. Can hear every foot step from the lower level.
Location: Kayaking and snorkeling at facility, awesome restaurants within 10 min driving as well as real good fishing.
Nice clean good facility with the Deep End Bar & Grill within walking distance. Water items Kayaks and snorkeling equip was included. Staff and help very nice and accommodating. Seems like they are keeping the place up, painting and re-tiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Nov 14, 2015
The hotel was under renovations while we were there but we barely noticed. The hotel was right on the beach and it was an amazing view! The beach to lay out on was perfect and quaint with great atmosphere. The resorts restaraunt was delicious and all the staff on the resort were very friendly! We plan to make another trip as soon as we can and bring all our family and friends! Great experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Oceanfront location
Cons: Room decor and fixtures are in need of refurbishment
Stayed for two nights. Oceanfront location is great. Hotel decor is a bit dated, my room seemed ready for a refurbishment. Staff was friendly and was overall happy with the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Thanks to everyone for making my first experience to the Virgin Islands a great time. From the Hotel staff to the door service at the Deep Blue restaurant everything was first class. Thursday night Disco Zbingo was a great time . More fun if I had won ?? 😃😃
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Not crowded, not many customers
Cons: Get rid of the cockroaches
Hotel has cockroaches. Had to purchase Raid! Very small corner beach area. Mostly rocks and corral.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from San Juan

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very good choice if you want to be lulled to sleep by the relaxing ocean waves. The front desk folks were very friendly and accomodated my every need. The "Deep End" restaurant offers a reasonable variety of food and drinks and is frequented by locals. The iguanas (near the east end of the beach) are a cool addition at no additional cost. I will definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Tamarind Hotel stay

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Cons: The number of staff during specialty nights.
Location: It's near a marina that has a good restaurant and it's a good point for charters to pick you up. Not much else nearby.
The hotel isn't fancy, but it is adequate. The rooms are large and very clean. The air conditioning is great!! The grounds are kept well and the pool is good for a dip. The beach isn't much to talk about though. The best part of this hotel is the food. The restaurant is nice, but not fancy. Tables are covered and the breeze is nice. The chef is outstanding! Every meal was good. They even cooked the fish we caught and it was awesome. The staff is nice, but sometimes overwhelmed with the crowd on specialty nights. Still, all in all, a good place to stay.