Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Great view, great hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
I can't say enough about the scenery and staff. The lobby staff were friendly and efficient. The view from the room patio can't be beat. The servers at the bar/restaurant were courteous and on top of things, never letting our Cruzan Confusions go empty without a replacement. Food was good and reasonably priced, especially for being on an island. The only "gripe" really was the people upstairs running a half marathon at 3 am one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Small quiet resort on beach

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Small and quiet. Very close to shoreline. Housekeeping staff did awesome job!
Cons: The pool should be cleaned more frequently. Deep End staff could do a better job informing customers of items not available.
Location: As with everywhere on the island, you need to drive to go anywhere; Tamarind Reef Resort is a short 8-10 min drive from Christiansted.
Tamarind Reef Resort is a nice, quiet, small resort which was why we selected it. If you like crowds and lots of late night activities this is NOT the place for you; the bar/grill closes fairly early (10 - 11 pm) and mostly is just a food destination EXCEPT, for Thursday night Disco bingo! This activity is hilarious and draws a very large crowd from the surrounding area. Attend if you can! Our "deluxe" room was spacious, nicely decorated & clean. All rooms face the ocean (which is very close); upper rooms have a HUGE covered deck. Lower rooms have a nice patio. Housekeeping was awesome! The pool area was adequate; pool could have been a little cleaner . . . tree debris (seeds) and dead bees were numerous. There's a very large beach plus a grassy area with lots of trees perfect picnics; also several tiki huts. THIS IS NOT A SWIMMING BEACH! Very rocky, but the beach next door at the Buccaneer is awesome for swimming. The Deep End Bar & Grill is ok; main complaint is that they were always out of something and our order was usually not quite right. We had to send our prime rib back because the entire plate was cold. Service was good though. NOTE: this resort is not HC accessible; there is no elevator and no bell service. If you are on upper level, be prepared to schlep your bags up the stairs yourself. Maybe they would do it for you? We didn't ask. All in all, I would recommend this resort to others and would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great water front resort with its own beach, marina, volley ball field, tennis courts, bar and restaurant all on the water. Spacious room with balcony and gorgeous view of the ocean. Friendly staff too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Palestine IN

Don't plan on swimming here

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: All of the rooms are facing the ocean, and the waves breaking on the reef all day, and night, were relaxing, and calming. Best nights sleep in years.
Cons: The twice reported, broken sliding closet door in our room was never fixed in the 6 days we were there. Forget breakfast at the restaurant.
Tamarind Reef is a nice little, non-commercial hotel. To call it a resort, is a bit of a stretch. 1st, the beach is right on a reef, so swimming is out. 2nd the waves, while calming, made it virtually impossible to snorkel while we were there. (Maybe we just had a rough ocean week.) You could take a kayak out to Green Kay, where it appeared to be calmer, but it would have been a hard paddle out there. I was surprised you had to drive into Christiansted to get on a charter to take you to Buck Island. A 30 minute ride from Christiansted, but 5 minutes from the marina at the hotel, and no one was advertising charters that we saw. All of the rooms are facing the ocean, and the waves breaking on the reef all day, and night, were relaxing, and calming. Never heard loud partying. however, the twice reported, broken sliding closet door in our room was never fixed in the 6 days we were there. Forget breakfast at the restaurant. 10 tables occupied, 2 waitresses on duty, and 20 minutes later, we still hadn't been waited on. It would have been quicker to drive into town, which we did. The Galleon, the restaurant at the marina, was fast service, with a friendly waiter. Food was good, and came to the table quickly. My only complaint was, the man playing guitar, though an incredible musician, thought he Spinal Tap, and had his amp turned up to 11. Just too loud for conversation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay. Staff very helpful.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, close to ocean and very friendly/helpful
Cons: Only detractor was no swim beach
Location: Location is convenient for the whole island. Excellent swim beaches less then 10 minutes away. Schedule to be there during the local festivals.
Rooms are clean. Right on the shore line Beautiful sunsets. Easy excess to everywhere on the island. Need reservations for evening meals due to high demand. Food is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A really good place to stay.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Right on the beach, sit on patio and listen to the ocean.
Overall experience was very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Quite and rest full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Room, location and restaurant on the hotel grounds.
Cons: None
Location: Excellent location with privacy and security.
Very nice, the room and outside areas are greatest...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

nice restaurant

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very clean and spacious. They had back patios or decks to sit on in the evening . The restaurant was very good .
Cons: The locals come and eat at the restaurant also. If you are going to eat on Thurs. night bingo night get a reservation.
Location: close to beaches many good restaurants and about 10 minute taxi ride to Christiansted.
The hotel is on a beach . But you can't swim there because there are rocks and directly in front of your room are rocks you can climb down and get into water but I wouldn't recommend it. It is treacherous and there are sea urchin everywhere even a sign warning you. The pool is very nice and the restaurant is great. We laid on the beach and were able to get our feet wet to cool off but not really able to swim in the water. The sound of the ocean is very soothing though. OVERALL it is a great place to stay just don't expect a great beach here. You have to go elsewhere to go to the beach. But all the beaches are public so you can go to any of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kennett Squar, PA 19348

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The room looks like it was recently remodeled. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We got new sheets and towels everyday. The beach is set up with chairs and you can snorkel right there. The marina is within a few steps and can take you fishing or snorkeling to Buck Island. The Deep End bar is friendly and there is a theme night everyday. We sat with some of the staff playing disco bingo and had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Excellent place to stay! Would highly recommend great hotel and restaurant Thursday disco bingo is a. Last