Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oh.. the VIew!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Location: Good location, close to town.
Beautiful beaches, view, grounds, facility! Great food and good people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful charming hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Lovely beach front hotel. Great view lovely beach and good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room location and recreation and meals were great.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: See above.
Location: Close to Christiansted.
Relaxed on beach, walked and played tennis. Enjoyed the meals and views at the Terrace Restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The staff were great. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Loved it.
Cons: The food could use some improvement. Although, I rated the hotel itself 4.5, the restaurant in the hotel left something to be desired.
If you are looking for peace and quiet, it's here. Whether lounging on the beach or playing golf, it was a very peaceful, restful place. There is not much of a nightlife on the island or at the hotel, so if that's what you are looking for look elsewhere. The staff were so friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more enjoyable. We did try the casino on the island, but we were extremely disappointed. The slot machines are old, and it's a very small casino. We only stayed for about 45 minutes and decided to leave out of boredom. In general, the local people were extremely friendly and also very helpful. They were genuinely interested in where you were from and how you were enjoying the island. All in all, it was a great experience, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunbury, PA

A return trip is almost guaranteed

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: The Buccaneer is a large property, and the groups of rooms and spread across the property. Open spaces abound on this property.
Cons: Perhaps some additional bandwidth on the WiFi.
Location: The Buccaneer is a very short taxi or shuttle ride to Christiansted, where there are many excellent restaurants and places to shop.
Swimming at the Mermaid beach is a dream with very little or no rocks, coral or shells to cause discomfort to your feet. This is our third trip to the Virgin Islands, and our first trip we didn't wear our water shoes while swimming. We found all of the staff to be very courteous and friendly during our stay. Kyle our waiter for dinner one night was especially helpful in describing the meals and making recommendations and was extremely friendly. Peter who took us on our island tour was very knowledgeable about all of the sites on the trip, but his expert commentary on the various uses of the native plants at the botanical gardens for medicinal purposes was truly fascinating. Our room was fantastic and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

On business trip

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Does not apply
They have the best bartender there by the name of Terry and she can make the best drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Holland. Pa.

Best ever! Stay at the Buccaneer!

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: The beauty!
Cons: I can't think of any improvements.
Location: There is swimming of course, golfing, horse riding, eating, gardens, kayak tours, and great scenery.
The Buccaneer is a place of peace and quietness. The Buccaneer is a place to rest or add as much activity as you want! The Island has many great places to eat. The food at the Buccaneer is also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Havi H.

Anniversary Trip

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Orbitz
Awesome, beautiful place & location. Staff was excellent. Beaches were nice. The reefs right off the beaches were decent, but the resort has a dock that the charter boats come to for snorkel/scuba trips booked through a few of the local charter companies. Resort is on the big & hilly side but they have golf carts that will shuttle you from place to place. Breakfast buffet was very good (bacon, sausage, egg that you can order to your liking, muffins, cereals, toasts all fresh).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Excellent staff and historic facilities.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Superbly maintained, regal history, new additions and privacy.
The age of it made hundreds of years ago, 1653, by the Dutch. Limestone marble tile with panoramic view on top of high point of St. Croix. We traveled across the island from this easy access hotel with the most polite and eager to please staff and support services. They know how to make your stay special.