Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Beautiful, service-oriented hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: In particular, the people who work there are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing really comes to ma no except maybe a less expensive place to eat.
Location: There is plenty to do on the grounds of the hotel--all the things you need for fun in the ocean. Christiansted is good for eating and shopping.
Our room was upgraded to a villa on the beach, which was beautiful and quiet. The complimentary breakfasts are delicious and include a wonderful omelet bar. The scenery is amazing, the golf was challenging and beautiful and the service is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indy

Nice hotel. Great staff.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Paradise, Plan on returning next year. Great food, beaches and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

PARADISE!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, food, beach
Cons: The only thing that could be improved is if I had a longer stay!
Location: Cruzan rum distillery tour, ATV 4 wheeler, horseback riding with cowboy Steve.
This is the third time my wife and I stayed at the Buccaneer. That should tell you something. The resort grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and helpful. One of the top resorts in the Caribbean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

We love the Buccaneer!

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: I like everything about it.
Cons: We had a tiny bit of trouble with our tub not draining, that's it. It was repaired.
Location: You can snorkel, take a boat trip to Buck Island, scuba, Jeep tour, tour the Island, go into town, but mostly relax and enjoy the beach.
The Buccaneer has been family owned for many years. No feeling of checking into a big chain hotel. You are greeted with Rum Punch at check in. The main part of the hotel is on a hill overlooking the ocean. There are also rooms right down by the sea as well. Rooms are updated and modern, there are three beaches to choose from and the food is delicious. If you don't feel like walking, the hotel offers shuttle service from your room to the main building or into town as well. The location is gorgeous and the scenery is breathtaking. Staff is lovely as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Beautiful resort with private beach

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Everything -- the room. amenities, and how each one hosted us.
Cons: N/A
Location: Located in Christiansted, St. Croix. Close to shopping, historic tours, diving, and snorkeling shops.
Our stay at the Buccaneer was exceptional. We arrived at the hotel 2 days late due to unforeseen circumstances and were greeted by an extremely friendly staff. The beach cottage we were given was beautifully furnished and had a wonderful view. I felt like we had been given a little piece of heaven. The patio faced the beach; therefore, we saw this every morning and fell asleep to the soothing sounds of the waves. Breakfast was delicious and the servers were very friendly. We learned about the island, were given information on the local eateries and shopping and were made to feel completely welcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Worth giving it a try

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice hotel & a very good restaurant with a terrific view of the coast But a long way to walk to things including the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Historic St. Croix Resort

Posted Dec 27, 2016
If you are going to St. Croix, The Buccaneer is the resort to visit. That being said, there are pros and cons to the resort. Pros: Breakfast Buffett, friendly staff, beautiful beach, tennis and golf on-site, outdoor game stuff(ball court, corn hole, ping pong) Cons: Tiny pools(2) by resort standards, resort is pretty isolated (expensive taxis or car rental-drive on the left), spa and fitness center aren't spectacular, It's a good place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful Resort!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness of rooms and common areas such as the beaches and pools. Friendliness of staff. Beautiful grounds and amazing views.
Cons: Restaurants are all a bit pricey even the casual beach ones.
The resort and grounds are absolutely beautiful! The views are stunning! The rooms were clean and modern. All of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We loved Mermaid Beach for our toddler. Great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing views, service, idyllic white sand beaches

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Views, grounds, patio, beaches, food, service.
We are a family of four with a 14 and 11 year old. Our comfortable room had plenty of closet space, a large two sink bathroom and a patio with stunning sea views. Service at all of the hotel restaurants was excellent. Breakfast buffet a great value and delicious. No shortage of activities from day to day to keep our boys busy, snorkeling, stand up paddle boarding from Mermaid Beach available daily. We took a charter snorkeling trip to Buck Island which picked us up right at the dock at Mermaid Beach. Loved the special fire dancer evening with dinner. This place is beautiful, picturesque and special. Would definitely return. We all enjoyed it very much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
The facilities are ok. the food is terrible, very difficult to find good places nearby