Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

It has a great location and view.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view and short drive to town.
Cons: Very dated room. Handles missing off drawers, shower looked nice, but very difficult to get the temperature set. Bedspread had a hole in it.
Location: Close, five minute drive to the main activities in town, but you need a car.
Second night there was a big buffet and entertainment show. It was rainy and windy. We had reservations so, we went anyway. There was also a power outage at the hotel. Only the main building had a back up generator. Paid for the show, and buffet, only there ended up being no show. Ended up being a very expensive buffet meal, with no discount or apologies. Never went back to the restaurant or bar on site. Will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, TN

Beautiful Caribbean Resort! :)

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The staff and food were amazing...Great group of people!!
Cons: The rooms could use some updating...nothing serious...
Location: The location of this resort was PERFECT!!
We arrived late on a Saturday night so we were unable to see how beautiful the resort truly was until the next day. When we came in late that night, it looked like we were in a bad neighborhood, but in the morning things looked much better. The resort is set on a beautiful beach and you walk 50 feet out of your room and you are standing on an insanely breathtaking beach. The rooms were clean and the staff was the most helpful staff I have ever had the pleasure of being helped by. The food, both breakfast and dinner was great! My stay at this resort was perfect and I would recommend everything stay here if you get the chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

We had a great stay!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Great staff!
Cons: Bed and pillows
The staff at The Palms are fantastic! They are always willing to answer questions, very polite, bartenders are fun - just great! We had a perfect view of the ocean and were just a minute walk to the beach. The food was good, pool very nice, plenty of beach chairs available. The beds and pillows were a bit soft. I really have no complaints about The Palms - great place to stay, especially if you are looking for relaxation. Its a bit of a ride into Christianstad ($10 cab ride) and quite a long ride to Frederickstad ($30 cab ride). We did not rent a car. There's not much around The Palms for other restaurants or pubs. Great sandwich shop on the main road you can walk to - Quality Store. Also you can walk to Blues BBQ. Really good BBQ and relaxing place. Many locals go there to eat and have a cold one - super nice people. Good shopping and lots of restaurants in Christianstad - go explore the streets. Definitely go to Buck Island. We went with Big Beards and had a great time - highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Million Dollar Views from beachfront room!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The Million Dollar Views! We sat in awe of this amazing view every morning relaxing and sipping coffee on our balcony.
Cons: The buildings are older and the room is showing some wear but we found this added to the charm of the small hotel.
Location: Outstanding location for fresh ocean breezes and unobstructed fantastic views. Very close to Christiansted for restaurants, shopping, and boat trips.
Amazing and unobstructed Million Dollar Views of the beautiful Pelican Cove with waves rolling in over the Long reef. Private and quiet, this is a perfect relaxing getaway. Swim barefoot from the sandy beach, or snorkel the adjacent coral reef where many colorful fish can be found among the sea grasses and coral. Children or non swimmers can safely shallow snorkel with water shoes right at the shoreline of the reef. We spent several days with the whole beach to ourselves but for an occasional pelican that entertained us while diving for his dinner. The restaurant on the beach is conveniently open all day as is the bar. The staff is friendly and respectful. The owner enjoys meeting his guests and treated us to a special night snorkel where we saw squid, blue pencil fish, and I actually held a small reef octopus in my hand, the highlight of our trip there! The owner also snapped some wonderful underwater photos for us, too! We wish we could have stayed longer! If you go to St. Croix, you must make a trip to the National Treasure, Buck Island, only a short boat ride away from Christiansted and a quick five dollar cab ride there from the Palms. The Snorkeling is phenomenal and Turtle Beach is a lovely sandy beach with beautiful Caribbean blue water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place close to the beach

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We loves The Palms. This is our second time back and I'm sure that we'll be here for more visits. If you're looking to spend time in a vacation spot that is quiet and relaxing, this is the place. I can't even begin to describe the entire experience except to say that this is one getaway that you never want to leave. As for the staff, I've been to many places before, but the entire staff here couldn't be more accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Beach getaway

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice place with friendly people and a good bar/restaurant atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Beautiful setting. Loved the free snorkeling

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Appreciated the location, but also the staff was so very friendly
The staff and owner were fantastic. Can't say enough good things about our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morth Dakota

Close to beach excellent people

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very pleasant place, great people, great service,would recommend this place to my friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I feel like I was lied to and Robbed of my Money!!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The only thing nice I can say about this hotel is it has a nice view.
Cons: The hotel rooms, the food, cleanliness.
Location: This hotel is NOT located in a very good neighborhood either. You have to drive by this ??Bar?? and there are some men..." just hanging out". all Day!
Very disappointed in this hotel. I feel like I was Robbed with what they charged me and what I got in return. This Hotel is over priced for what you get. The view is beautiful but it does not make up for the fact that it is in disarray and located in a bad neighbor hood. My room had a fantastic view...that is the ONLY thing that was fantastic with the exception of the staff. My Frige & phone didn't work. The toilet was loose and made a noise when you sat on it, so did the bed. Lamp shades are rusted and broke so is the door knobs. There was an odd smell and not of the ocean. I watched a RAT run down the side of the building from the top floor. There is NO Microwave in the room, but there is a laundry room with a microwave, Disgusting Ice Machine and a washer No dryer. There is Mildew/Mold/Rust on the building and my fridge. The pool is not heated and is ICE COLD. The beach has a strong RIP TIDE so there was no where to go swimming. I can NOT tell you how Disappointed and Upset I am in this establishment. I feel as though I was lied to with the pictures they post of the hotel and Robbed of my very hard earned money that I will never get back after saving a very long time for what I thought was going to be a memorable and over due Honeymoon. The Caribbean night food was disgusting and cold. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I WANT A REFUND OF SOME KIND!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the Beach

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone was kind and accommodating to the needs of my elderly mother & myself. The grounds are beautiful. There is an amazing local guide & the Usual Suspects in the bar are right out of a Huston film. Looking forward to returning!