Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Problems

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Convenient to Christiansted restaurants.
Cons: Pillows; upgrade systems.
Location: Restaurants and other activities nearby in Christiansted.
While close to the beach, it is hard to drive your own car to find it - poor roads, visibility problems to get into traffic, nonexistent road signs, and numerous speed bumps and potholes make driving difficult. We found many mosquitoes and roaches, etc. The property has become dated. Pillows seemed ancient. The restaurant has a limited dinner menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Excellent for the price

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The best part of staying at the Palms was the people. The owner and everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Rico is a valuable asset
Cons: The ice machines need to be replaced. It would be great if they had a shuttle into town and the airport at least twice a day.
Location: The hotel is pretty isolated and everything requires a taxi or rental car. Big John from Cruzan Taxis was very helpful for getting where we wanted.
We were there for my wife's birthday. We had a very nice oceanfront room. Anything we asked for was immediately addressed. It is not the Buccaneer, but neither are the prices. I think the government spends more money promoting tourism in St. John and St. Thomas than they do in St. Croix. Frederiksted, although it has excellent restaurants and a pleasant beach, is a ghost town when the cruise ships aren't there. Our favorite meal was at the Savant in Christainsted. Most restaurants except for The Terrace have limited seating so reservations are a good idea. We also ate at the Beach Side Café, Blue Moon, Rum Runners and the Bombay Club. All meals were delicious. We were never harassed anywhere we went in town and everyone was friendly and helpful. 2017 will be their big celebration.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falmouth, Ma

Nice View, nothing more

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The ocean view was fabulous and the snorkeling off the beach allowed us to view a beautiful coral reef.
Cons: Service, menu, accommodations, shower head, TLC throughout property (lots of chipped paint, wood rot etc).
Location: Location is convenient to town.
We stayed for a week expecting 4 plus star stay, greatly disappointed. The best thing about the room was the ocean front patio. The room it self in need of massive TLC and up graded mattress. Billed as a "resort" is a stretch.NO resort services or amenities. The restaurant menu is lacking in local food choices. Caribbean night buffet consisted of classic American BBQ; potato salad, mac and cheese, chicken and ribs. The dessert was pathetic; what box did they take the cookies out of and arrange on a plate? Our drinks, while being served in the dining room were served in plastic cups. Here for our anniversary when I asked for some wine glasses to enjoy a bottle of wine in our room we were told no, and given PLASTIC cups! The staff was non existent and we were made to feel like a bother with each request. The air-conditioner in our room turned off each night and stayed off with no way to re-set to turn back on, the ceiling fan was out of balance so a constant rattle was heard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nuevo Mexico, USA

The good, the bad and the ugly

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, view
Cons: Management and the little things that are "advertised" but not there...
Location: The water, beaches, snorkeling, scuba, eating, St Croix Fredriksted, driving and living in the Left Lane, the people on the island :-), laid back
Rooms are very clean and well appointed - room attendants were outstanding and took care of all of the little things and needs. Pat at the front desk is a dynamo - others not so much. Mosquitoes on the ground floor and in the resort lobby where we stayed were horrific (I am still itching!) - I suspect this has to do with some of the rooms being built over cisterns (common construction on St. Croix) and of course the moist conditions... oh well. Our room phone worked 10% of the one week stay. The ice machine in A building never worked, nor did the washing machines. No WiFi in the rooms... but who wanted to be connected?! The view and location is fantastic! Sea breezes on the patio/deck were great and we truly had a relaxing time. Oh yes, this was "off season" and at least three rooms were being remodeled - no problems with sound or disruptions. The staff was really trying hard but I can tell that their resources are somewhat limited. If it wasn't for the price, I would just chalk it up to the island's "Living in the Left Lane..."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL CARIBBEAN RESORT

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: PROXIMITY TO BEACH QUIET AREA NICE FACILITIES
INTIMATE RESORT RIGHT ON BEACH GREAT POOL NICE SMALL BEACH AREA GREAT RESTAURANT AND BAR .WOULD RECOMMEND TO ALL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful view...nice beach for snorkeling, reefs

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Great front desk staff. Restaurant wait help a bit slow, food was good until weekend cook over cooked some orders. Lovely grounds, beach front. Carribean night very entertaining and buffet was good! Felt room could have been cleaned a little better at times. Mosquitos around the restaurant/bar area atrocious! Otherwise a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: The view, the room.
Location: Hard to find at first! Roads on St. Croix are poorly marked. Rent a car-- poor public transit, not walkable or bikeable. Beach is amazing.
This hotel was ideally located and was incredibly close to the beach. The view from the room was excellent, and the staff was incredibly pleasant throughout our stay. The bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning and fridge worked perfectly. We never turned on the TV, so can't review that! We had an awesome time snorkeling with Chuck (which was our first snorkeling experience-- we felt safe and he checked in throughout to make sure we weren't feeling uncomfortable). The room was extremely clean and the balcony was nice and very private (we were on the second floor) but there was signs of wear (chips on the mini-fridge and on the cabinetry)-- this did not bother us or negatively impact our experience, but if you are looking for a brand new hotel, this is not it. Cannot stress enough how lovely and quiet the beach was, and less than 10 feet from our room-- amazing! We thought the hotel was an excellent value for the location and would likely stay here again if/ when we return to St. Croix (traveled in October 2015). We ate at the hotel restaurant several times-- dining on the island is somewhat more expensive than where we live, with most of our meals costing between 30-40 dollars for two people, no alcohol. The hotel has great pizza and good chicken, fresh salads. We weren't impressed by any of the sandwiches we tried (mahi and burger). The food choices available on island are not very adventurous, so the hotel restaurant was a pretty strong and convenient option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Palm Trees, ocean view! Magnificent!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
It was very good except for the seaweed! It was taking over the beach! The staff worked hard to clean up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Relaxing , safe, great views!

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: The staff, great views,
Cons: They and All the "Cove Area" are having a seaweed issue BUT The Palms works on It daily!
Location: About a 20 min drive from airport, then to get to downtown area a 5 min drive great shops
The staff Is amazing from front to back they truly cater to there guests, The food very good as well as beverages, great views They work on the beach condition daily, lots or if you choose to just relax perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: It was clean and all the staff were accommodating and friendly - actually seemed like they enjoyed working there.
Cons: Linen sheets for beds need to be new - we had stains on ours and I don't expect that for a 3.5 or higher resort.
Location: visit Christiansted, Buck Island and just drive around the island - very nice!
Christensted was our everyday place to go hang out and eat / drink. Best dinner was at 40 Strand Eatery - excellent food and service. You Are Here is known to have the best pizza in town (the owner is from Cleveland OH). Fort Christian Brew Pub was the most fun place to hang out - have drinks, meet people and good bar food. The owner of the Palms at the Pelican does night snorkeling for his guests - that's a treat! Overall the all the people we met up with at the resort were very friendly and accommodating. Great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. Definitely would return there again!