Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Cons: Beds
The beds were like like sleeping on a bean bag not comfortable at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Hotel Francis, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay. We do apologize that the bed in your room was not to your satisfaction. At this time the property is in the middle of renovations. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minden, LA.

Has a long way to go

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Staff, rooms, grounds.
Location: Near everything you would do there.
We checked in around 3:30 to 4 PM . We were told the room was in a certain direction . After walking almost completely around the building a gardener(?) told us where the room actually was. We went into the room, stayed less than a minute and left. We called the front desk and told them we wanted to cancel our reservation. They told us that we would have to do that through Expedia since we had booked the room through them. We called Expedia and explained why we wanted to cancel the room( smelled like cigerette smoke that had been sprayed over with something to mask the smell). Expedia said they called several times and could not get anyone to answer the phone. Finally we went back to the hotel and spoke with several people including the manager and were told we would be charged for one night's stay anyway. Roads and parking lot grounds were in terrible shape. Would not recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Hotel Francis, Hotel Management
We do apologize about your recent experience at Hotel Francis. At this time we are under renovations and do hope you will stay with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 18, 2017
Terrible!!!! Horrible service. Will never stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great peaceful location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Very quiet. Lake is bueatiful. Nice trees. Facilities are dated but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Hotel Francis, Hotel Management
Randy thank you for your notes on your visit with us recently. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our grounds on your stay. Please be sure to check us out in the future as we are now undergoing renovations on all guest rooms and lobby.
2 out of 5
by Clifford

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Walkway leading to rooms were dirty. Room out of date curtains stained on outside, Conners of room dirty, TV remote had no batteries tv old and outdated with poor picture. Bath tub needed re caulking mold or mildew present behind caulking. I will not stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
My experience there was terrible. Front Desk lady was very nice but the room was bad. I had found an empty NyQuil bottle in the room that had ants on it, the bed had ants and bugs in it, toilet was flushing its self every 10 minutes. The hotel itself I wouldn't even rate it but I will say the front desk lady was kind.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if possible

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The bathroom clearly wasn't cleaned (the toilet bowl had a residue ring), and there an old bowl of chili someone left in the microwave. I'm not even sure if they changed the sheets from the look of everything else. The phone didn't even have a cord to plug it into the wall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

close to Myrtle's plantation

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: the little lake and it's proximity to Myrtle's plantation.
Cons: the cleanliness of the room
Location: St. Francisville, plantation country.
room was non-smoking but smelled of stale smoke, asked to change room but housekeeping came with room deodorant that worked for a short time. chair and drapes were stained. bedding was a bit grey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Francis during Audubon Pilgramage

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very old fixtures, poorly draining tub/shower. I felt that the rate was too high for the overall condition of the room. Great location is all it has going for it. The staff was friendly.
2 out of 5
by jessie

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The grounds and staff are excellent! Beautiful place, however it wasn't very CLEAN & needs to be updated