Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEst Place

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was great ! The staff was great especially Sandra and Carry .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago area, IL

Lovely sray

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Location and room decor.
Location: Town is the attraction. Great walk along the river. Town of Stein, nearby, has cheese factory.
Beautiful room in central location. Wonderful breakfast. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Washougal, Wa. USA

Appenzell

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Were only able to stay here for one night, next time we'll stay at least 3-5 nights.
5 out of 5
by T Keith from Dallas, Texas

Lovely hotel, super friendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
The location is GREAT on the main road in Appenzell. The staff is super friendly and helpful in suggestion things to do. The breakfast was very good as well. The only to be aware of (which wasn't a negative for us) is the Church right across the street rings its bells until pretty late and again at 6:30 am. They are awesome bells, but very loud. That being said, my wife is a light sleeper and this didn't seem to bother her. It did wake me at 6:30 am however, but that's not a problem if your an early riser. Overall I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It's not the Ritz, but its super comfortable and quaint. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Lubbock, Texas

Wonderful stay

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
This place was excellent. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was so good. All of the different cheeses of Appenzell were there at breakfast. We were given a welcome beverage upon our arrival. The hotel is directly across from the old town church and on the main street. It was like a fairy tale. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean and the shower in the bathroom was very state-of-the-art.
4 out of 5
by Susan P from San Diego

Splendid stay - incredible Appenzel!

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Splendid stay! I couldn't have asked for a nicer welcome, a cleaner nor more comfortable room for my first visit to my Grandmother's birthplace: Appenzel. Lovely people, and breakfast was lovely, too. The only thing that made me nervous, realizing my room opened directly onto the big Catholic church and it's chiming bell, was that it might go on all night long. Rest easy, they don't ring chimes after the 9 o'clock, or was that the quality of those double-pane windows? ; ) Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by Tim from Amsterdam

rainy weekend but lovely to be in the mountains.

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
had a very pleasant stay,complements to the staff they made us feel at home.
5 out of 5
by Jean from Los Angeles

Great spot in Appenzell

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel right along the walking tour of Appenzell. Perfect for any vacation.
5 out of 5
by Gautier from Montreux

Superb in general

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels
Superb in general, a very good extension of experience in Appenzell, including complimentary drinks n biber. There's an art piece in front of the hotel in the middle of the street, best restaurant in town(by trip advisor n real experience supports it) and the beer factory/museum right across the parking of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Konstantin from Cyprus

Great service

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel has to be at least 4 stars rated! Perfect value for the money, large and nice rooms