Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hihgly recommended

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
The single room was well designed and, though small, of quite adequate size for one person. It had only a sink with a mixing tap, a well-lit mirror over it, but the toilet and shower were across (toilet) and down (shower) the hallway. Despite my initial trepidation, it worked okay. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The staff were to a person absolutely brilliant, helpful, cheerful and kind. Hotel Dom's location is ideal for seeing St Gall and for visiting the Stiftsbibliothek (my mission). Also the distance from the rail station is easily walkable as long as you don't have a huge amount of luggage or difficulty walking. The staff will replace the feather duvet with synthetic if asked. There was no carpet, but that is a plus for asthmatics such as myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017
Thank you for your Feedback. We looking Forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.
4 out of 5
by alexander

Good value, good location.

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Very good hotel in a A1 (i.e., best) location.
4 out of 5
by Errol

Very impressed

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017
Thank you! We hope to welcome you soon again! Best regards Yvonne Fanconi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

shared bathroom

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We did not notice the room does not come with bathroom/shower when we booked it. So it was a disappointment when we entered our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Functional and inexpensive

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Location was close to downtown but not in downtown. Facility was rather run down. Definately not fancy, nor did the staff leave any impression of welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017
Hello Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about our house. Unfortunately you have rated the hotel Anonymous and therefore I can not track which room category you have booked. As you probably know, we offer two room categories. On the one hand our renovated Design rooms and on the other hand our simple rooms with running water. Our house is located in the middle of the old town – just a few steps away of the Shopping streets. So, in our opinion, our house is situated very central. Therefore I can not fully understand your feedback about the location. That you did not feel welcome, I am very sorry. In principle, we receive a lot of feedback that our staff is very friendly and helpful. It surprises me that you have not felt welcome. Was there a special situation or in general? With kind regards Yvonne Fanconi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Convenient central location.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast & staff prepared to help & resolve any problems that one encounters.
Cons: The only negative was that building work was in progress on the side of the building we were on but staff worked with us to resolve any issues.
Location: Handy to good restaurants, rail, bus & shops.
Bright cheerful colours & friendly & helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Yvonne Fanconi, Assistenz Leitung Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank's for your feedback.The renovation works should be finished on the 28th of August. We hope to welcome you soon again! Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tillmann from Dallas

Right in the center of town

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Very friendly staff, good breakfast blablabla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla. Get a life expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keira from London

Best 3* Hotel ever

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Anything - design, cleanness, friendly staff...
Cons: Maybe breakfast can be improved as it is quite simple.
Location: City center, near the attraction, nice street and restaurants/cafe nearby
I landed in Zurich, and then took a train to St Gallen, without any rest last night. On arrival, I was warmly welcomed by the hotel staff, and basically it was far earlier to check in, but after I explained to her I did not sleep at all. She quickly arranged a room for me in 3 min without any hesitate. The room was cozy and clean. I fell asleep straightaway, on the comfortable bed. It was the best quality hotel I paid for all my business trips. Will definitely stay in Dom Hotel for the future. Thank Judith for her kind help and warm welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Worcester UK

Hotel we stayed in when attending football game

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Very pleasant hotel with welcoming staff. Comfortable but not luxurious. Expensive by UK terms but this was Switzerland! Could have done with a bit more variety at breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kim from London, UK

Very happy with this hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2012
Because of flight delays and airplane delays I didn't arrive until 2:30 am but they still held my room and checked me in no problem. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. The front desk directed me to the nearest grocery store and got me an ironing board for my work shirt. The location was good, altogether I was very pleased. The shower was designed in a way that if you put the shower head a certain way, water would leak out into the rest of the bathroom. But that problem was easily solved by pointing the shower in the direction of the wall instead of the direction of the glass doors. I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay there again with pleasure.