Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Not recommend to booking

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Not a hotel , just a self service hotel ! No serice u can get from the hotel
1 out of 5
by Norbert from Los Angeles

Cold war hospital room?

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room looks like a hospital room 50 years ago. Terrible hotel, overpriced, and far from the centre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a hotel, it's a B&B

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Staff was good.
Cons: Install a lift at least for 3rd and 4th floors. Arrange for help to carry luggage over stairs. Get better sized beds.
Location: Not ideal.
Firstly, this is not a hotel, but a B&B. It DOES NOT have a lift. So if you are visiting with people with the mobility problems or have lot of luggage, PLEASE think 10 times as it's a 4 story building. And there was no one to help!! The rooms were a bit okay, but the beds were just to small even for the kids - all of us got the same sized beds anyway, so you can imagine how uncomfortable they were. There aren't many restaurants nearby, so your choices for dinner are very limited. And this is not cheap. So I do not think I got value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent option with a few notes

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is situated not far from the centre but vehicle is advised. Property has several rooms. No check-in desk per se and there may be nobody on-site. There is a lock box next to the entrance door. You enter a code provided to you via e-mail and a set of keys are released. After that, you open entrance door and your room. The room is on the smaller side (it is a budget hotel) with the sink and shower in the room. Expect no privacy while taking a shower. The toilet is separated but, again, it is not sound proof by any means. I suppose it is OK if you travel solo...other rooms may have different set up. Wi-Fi is free but you need to register / receive SMS code first. Breakfast was very good: fresh coffee / assortment of yogurts / cold cuts / eggs / etc. NOTE: The ownership of the hotel changes on 1 April 2016. The current proprietor sold the property to an investor from China.
5 out of 5
by Ernest from Huntsville AL USA

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, as with all things in Switzerland a bit pricey, but not by comparison with other hotels in St Gallen. The Breakfast is very good but the price is added on top of the room price, so if you are going to pay for it make sure you have time to sit and enjoy it. I have stayed at this hotel before, and will stay again in the future. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is well maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

review of Sporting Hotel

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
I do like to have someone at a hotel to welcome me, someone at reception. This hotel was a real "on line" thing and there was no one on arrival. However, the next morning made up for it with exceptionally good breakfast and friendly service. Hotel was immaculately clean. Parking also available.
4 out of 5
by Paula from Switzerland

Huge suites, delicious breakfast!

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Best hotel breakfast ever! Our host was so friendly and accommodating! There isn't a better value for a family, or group of 4 to 7 people. it's a bit too far to walk to the old city, abbey etc. But about 200 meters to a bus that takes you straight there or to the train station. I definitely recommend if you are not looking for spa type luxury. Just comfort and a homey feel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winter Vacation

Posted Jan 4, 2015
I got the room that sleeps 7. What is not mentioned is the size. This is a 3 bedroom apartment without a kitchen it is very large by European standards. It has 1 3/4 baths. One has a tub the other has a shower. A large living room with plenty of seating. The staff was excellent. The gentlemen that manages the hotel couldn't do enough for us. Suggesting site seeing points of interest, showing us maps and discussing routes. He also speaks pretty good English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The hotel is about a 45 minute walk from the main train station in St. Gallen, in a residential neighbourhood with a few restaurants close by. My room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was fabulous and the manager was very friendly and helpful.