Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Very Overrated

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Hotel is old and not maintained. More a motel than a resort. Better and real resorts like the Rex are advised. Restaurant is ok for a Beach she'd but not ok for a resort restaurant. Beach is good. Overall, I would stay away if you can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by julia, Hotel Management
Dear Tamer, Please note you arrived and loved the room. On checking into your standard gardenviev room you found it great and spacious. You were outraged that Expedia did not show the room as having 2 double beds with quad occupancy. You proceeded to ask our front desk to change your reservations, instead of 3 gardenview rooms you now required 2 gardenview units - quad occupancy. We advise you to call Expedia for any changes. You cancelled 1 room and you agreed to pay for 2 extra persons in the 1 remaining gardenview units. We actually told you perhaps you should book a 2 bedroom unit as the room may not be suitable for so many people. You decided that it was not necessary and that 2 – one bedroom unit is more than adequate for 8 of you. Please note that your review is not geniune YOUR GROUP OF 8 DID NOT REGISTER ANY COMPLAINTS WITH OUR FRONT DESK. Julia Moore
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Overrated and too expensive

Posted Dec 16, 2017
The beach is great but facility is more like a motel, not a resort. Very old and not updated facility. You can get better hotel for same or less like Grenadian by Rex.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Dear Tamer, Please note you arrived and loved the room. On checking into your standard gardenviev room you found it great and spacious. You were outraged that Expedia did not show the room as having 2 double beds with quad occupancy. You proceeded to ask our front desk to change your reservations, instead of 3 gardenview rooms you now required 2 gardenview units - quad occupancy. We advise you to call Expedia for any changes. You cancelled 1 room and you agreed to pay for 2 extra persons in the 1 remaining gardenview units. We actually told you perhaps you should book a 2 bedroom unit as the room may not be suitable for so many people. You decided that it was not necessary and that 2 – one bedroom unit is more than adequate for 8 of you. Please note that your review is not geniune YOUR GROUP OF 8 DID NOT REGISTER ANY COMPLAINTS WITH OUR FRONT DESK. Julia Moore
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Hopatcong, NJ

Good food and close to beach

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Good value, close to beach and has bar/restaurant
Cons: A/C should be turned on prior to guest arrival so that the room would be more comfortable at check-in.
Location: Grand Anse Beach is a 15 - 20 minute walk. There are several neighboring bars/restaurants that are within walking distance of the Gem Beach Resort
I stayed at Gem before and after my cruise in Grenada and the Grenadines for a total of 3 days. The hotel offered a pleasant stay with the convenience of a good bar/restaurant restaurant that was on the beach. It was very enjoyable to have some of my meals by the beach. The beach itself is quite nice and not crowded. Their sister property, Kalinago, is next door and you could also eat at their restaurant as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by julia, Hotel Management
Hi Ron, We thank you for your great review and you insight on creating guest comfort. We shall endeavor to find out when guest are arriving and cool down the room. We wish you and yours all the best for 2018 and we look forward to welcoming you. Warm Regards Julia Moore
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Nice facilities in a good location. Staff were very friendly and only too happy to help. All reasonable requests were addressed very quickly. An enjoyable stay and would definitely visit agsim.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by julia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review on Gem. We were happy to be of service to you. We look forward to welcoming you another time. MERRY CHRISTMAS AND AND WONDERFUL 2018. Warm Regards Julia
5 out of 5
by Sonia

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel especially the staff I left my laptop in my room and Elizabeth went out of her way to put it on the boat for me.Exceptional service, very nice rooms and very reasonable prices. I always try and stay there if I can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017
Sonia, We thank you your wonderful review and for sharing. We are indeed delighted that you selected Gem and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your. on your next visit, when making your booking, please advise us that you are a repeater so that you can enjoy our featured bonus. Warm Regards Julia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Peace of Mind

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Location close to beach. Ability to cook own meals if and when necessary. Privilege of running next door to my friends to enjoy breakfast together.
Cons: Had assistance with luggage on arrival for upstairs d/t my lifting restrictions.No one available early morning for check out. I forgot to request help
Location: On the beach. Club attached. Restaurant. Walk uphill for public transportation. Or call a taxi to hotel for pick up
On arrival, the CSR was quite pleasant, approachable and accommodating. The complimentary drink "lemonade" my choice was very welcoming. Room was clean with all necessary items in the kitchen. Very spacey and home-like feeling. The staff is very helpful--for eg, I needed an adapter in order to plug in my C-pap machine, and it was quickly given without hesitation. I LOVE the beach that is steps away from the property. For party goers, the club is attached to the property....Music does not disturb guests as the sound is enclosed. Peaceful, relaxing, clean atmosphere with security guard present. Overall very attentive and peasant staff. Will definitely go again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Loraine, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you an amazing review and for selecting the Gem. We note your observation and shall offer to all guests in future assistance with their luggage. Whenever you book, please let us know that you are a repeater so that we can extend repeater's courtesies. We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you and yours in the near future. Warm Regards Loraine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always My Favorite

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The owner and staff
Cons: Too bad about the expanded rum shop/snack bar on the adjacent property. They add a lot of noise at times late at night and early in the morning.
The Gem is the best for someone looking for a self-catering apartment. I hate to recommend it, because it is hard to get a room because of the popularity. The staff are great at their jobs and also very friendly. Mrs. Moore, the owner, takes the comfort of every guest seriously and goes out of her way to be sure guests are comfortable. If anything is missing or not working, it is replaced immediately. The only change I'd like is to have thicker cushions on the living room furniture. It's like sitting directly on the wood frame. Mourne Rouge is a gorgeous bay, with minimal surf, which makes it excellent for swimming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by julia, Hotel Management
Good Morning, We thank you so much for posting your review, much appreciated. We thank you for your compliments and will pass those on to our staff. Please be assured that the noise from the shop/snack would be cut off. We are actually revamping and looking for a source in USA to quote for comfortable cushions. Enjoy the Summer. Warm Regards, Julia & Staff.
5 out of 5
by Oleksii

Great value rooms

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet area, close to beach. Rooms are like 1br American style apartments with an equipped kitchen. Cons: 1. the (small) fridge worked as a heater (cold inside-warm outside)- it was not convenient to sleep in very warm room with AC turned off (to have a silent night). 2. The US 110V power spot was to find only in 1 place - behind the TV. That means if you have several mobile devices- take your laptop with you and charge them together through the laptop USB.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Oleksii, We thank you for your review, your comments are noted Best wishes to you and your family Regards Loraine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Ontario Canada

Great Beachfront Location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We were only here for two one night stays on our way to Carriacou. The beach at The Gem is amazing! However, due to our short stay our beach time was limited. Beds were comfortable,however, the rooms could use some updating for the price we paid. Would stay at a guest house next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Loraine, Hotel Management
Hi Lisa, We thank you for your review, much appreciated. Best Wishes. Regards Julia Moore
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great friendly place Great price Great location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: on the beach , near airport
Gems is right on the beach; beach is not crowded, 2 very good restaurants. Julia the hotel manager is wonderful as is her staff. She would personally call the room to let us know of any events that were going on at the resort. The crab race on Mondays was a riot, the Tuesday meet & greet was fun. We thoroughly enjoyed hanging out at the beach front 2 bars at the resort & next door at the La Plywood bar which had great bartenders & wonderful fish tacos!! The Gem resort was a great area for our daily walks, easy walk to next beach Grand Anse & to the grocery store/ Spiceland Mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by julia, Hotel Management
Good Evening, We certainly appreciate your wonderful comments and feel privileged by such a great review. Thank you. We take this opportunity to wish you all the best in the coming years. Warm Regards Julia & Staff