Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

nice hotel on beach front

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: the beach was lovely. not far from the main town centre
Cons: the lighting in the room. was very dim. need a few brighter bulbs. food at the restaurant could be improved.
Location: not far from a restaurant called umbrellas the food there was very good. also the main beach there was clean. shopping centre nearby by taxi.
hotel in a nice area on the beach front. room size was very good. staff pleasant and helpful. very hard to walk to city centre hill very steep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel with lovely staff right by beach

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Clean and good quality 3 star with excellent staff
Cons: Shower water pressure in top floor deluxe rooms could be a bit better – install a water pump to boost pressure.
Location: Beautiful quiet secluded beach. Neighbouring restaurant Sur La Mer and bar La Plywood are good.
We (couple) spent nearly 2 weeks at Kalinago in early October. A lovely quiet gem of a resort. Awesomely lovely, polite, helpful, sweet staff. The beach is on a quiet, well sheltered, beautiful, west facing bay; it is the next bay south of Grand Anse beach. The hotel provides snorkeling and kayaking equipment free gratis. All the hotel’s rooms face west towards the beach. There is about 20 yards of gardens between the rooms and the beach, consisting of hotel gardens, pool and bar. All the deluxe rooms are on the top floor, and have the best views. The room was cleaned and made up daily, except when we asked them to not bother. The room maids, like all the staff were always sweet and helpful. The bar staff were always happy to make custom cocktail recipes. There was a small fridge in the room, which comfortably held about 7 litres of drinks in 1 litre cartons. There was also a kettle, cups, instant coffee, sugar, powdered milk, etc. We bought tea bags, milk and sugar from the mall over the hill. Air-conditioning worked fine. Wi-fi was good, and appeared to be served by a dedicated router in each room – good enough to stream video. Kalinago doesn't arrange airport transfers, but good taxis are readily available at the airport and cost 16 USD. There is a quite big hill (42m high) between Mourne Rouge and everywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Worthy Experience

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: On the beach and not very far from the malls and the town. The staff were very polite and accommodating. Food tasted great. Service was excellent.
Cons: Some upgrading required to "freshen" up the facility. Ensure linens and utensils are properly washed. Replacement of items during cleaning services.
Location: Location is excellent. Malls and town are in close proximity. There a number of tour and excursion services if you wish to book on your own.
I stayed at the hotel for five (5) nights. This was my first time at the resort. The service and hospitality was very impressive. I moved about the island in a rental which gave more convenience although the resort had taxi service. Located on the Morne Rouge beach, the facility and beach were always clean. Restaurant ambiance was nice. It rained all the days so I was unable to do outdoor activities as I wanted except driving around. The bar was stocked with their drinks menu and had entertainment on certain nights. Although the time I was there was supposed to be the busy season, there were a few guests so the full swing of the entertainment was not there but it was engaging so I still enjoyed myself. The people of the island are very friendly and accommodating. Overall experience was awesome. I will most definitely visit the island again and don't mind staying at the hotel again as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you. We Appreciate your review all will take all your cons into consideration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Secluded cove

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Room was nice although no microwave. Limited source of restaurants unless you are willing to walk or take a cab to the local areas.
Location: I just went to relax
Liked the quiet secluded cove. Beach was excellent, clean. Water was so calm - great for little kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 days of Beach time

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
A great beach - quiet this time of year. Bit of a steep walk to get to shopping/restaurant area of Grande Anse but overall decent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler,AZ

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Hotel is nice, clean and right on a small beach. I felt the ladies at the front desk we're a little rude. They did not have a high customer service "welcome to our hotel" attitude. i felt like I was bothering them to ask any questions. Not much within walking distance, except there was a small beach bar a few feet away that was great for a lunch and some beers. Be prepared for a $10 or $16 cab fare each way to other places.
5 out of 5
by Gina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Augustine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

In search of relaxation!!!

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location / privacy ... beach!!!
Cons: Grounds could be manicured better
Location: Grand Anse beach 10/15 min walk ... hotel is private but not isolated from rest of island ... quick 10 min ride shopping restaurants etc.
Kalinago is a great hotel if your looking to relax... beach ,wifi , ac in room and of course great food / local flavors .
4 out of 5
by Michael

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely the staff was polite. The hotel is located on the BBC beach. Hotel has a beautiful courtyard with lots o parm trees, the food was very tasty and well presented. I felt very safe at the hotel My only comment is to walk to the shops or to grand anse beach. You have to walk up a hill and back down so have to be quite fit it's around a 10 to 15 min walk.