Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Manto from Cape Town

Bad service from rude hotel staff

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff member, by the name of Anja was rude to me at check-out when I wanted to settle my bill. I simply asked her to check if my room rate was settled or not, as I was not sure if I had paid for the room rate before arrival or not. The bill amount that she quoted was the restaurant bill from the previous night - which I knew we had charged to the room. Anja ignored my request, and insisted on calling the waitor who helped us last night, to confirm with him if the bill was correct. She even insisted that the waitor confirm not only over the phone (speaking in Afrikaans assuming that I don't understand) as well as in-person. The waitor did so but I repeatedly said that I didn't have an issue with the restaurant bill, I wanted to confirm if the room rate was settled. I pleaded for help from Anja's colleague who was standing next to her but she was not willing to assist.
4 out of 5
by Winslow

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brendan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Muneeb from Cape Town

A diamond in the rough

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very upmarket 3 star hotel - more like a 4 star hotel. There are a few things which will make it much better: 1)Attention to detail (stains on carpet in bedroom) 2)Restuarant service - waiters need more training - I had to ask for water 3 times before I got it. I will definitely be back - Shelley Point is an undiscovered gem in the Western Cape
4 out of 5
by Ellen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Petrus from Bellville

One of the best in the west

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very pleasant stay. Good value for money. Would recommend the hotel to any body. The breakfast was very good, etc.
5 out of 5
by donwena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Phillipus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

This was a great hotel .

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The size of the rooms. The staff.
Cons: General management of the facilities. The furniture all needs renewing especially the breakfast room. This room should be the evening restaurant
Location: This hotel is near the beach but you have to drive out to everywhere
Booked this hotel as we had visited about 5years ago and it was lovely. However it has gone down hill rapidly poor facilities, poor food and absolutely nothing to do but walk on the beach. We thought we would play golf but even that was to poor. This hotel has fantastic potential and needs taken on by someone who has the passion to turn it around. Our room was great when we found it . We were disappointed and would not return which is a great shame.
4 out of 5
by Jacques from Brackenfell

Our home away from home

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
At first disappointing but after discussing my concerns with the GM, Petrus, things were set right and sorted out. Our reservations were addressed and we got the 20th stay complimentary. We stayed there from 15/1/16 - 24/1/16 and we will definitely be back. New friendships have been established with personnel. We arrived as clients but left as family. Our sincere thanks to Alicia, Dorette, Llewellyn, Sheldon and all the others that made our stay a special one