Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Inn at St Helena

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Cons: For the price, it wasn't comfortable.
The room was extremely small, couldn't fit two people and suitcases comfortably. The staff was very friendly, almost too friendly. The breakfast in the morning was just ok.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Wine Tasting in Saint Helena

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We stayed at the Inn Saint Helena during a recent wine tasting trip. The Inn was very clean and comfortable. The location is great; right on the Main wine route and also right on the Main Street of Saint Helena. Since we were in the cottage house next door to the Inn, we used the gift certificates for the Model Bakery for our breakfasts. This bakery is fantastic! I highly recommend the Inn St. Helena.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Madeline, Hotel Management
Thank you Ken for your kind words. I am so happy to take care of our guests so that they can relax and enjoy their visit. Please keep us on your A-list for your next return to Napa Valley. Again thank you for choosing Inn St. Helena.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Bent towel rack

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Great place clean comfortable. Needs a little TLC. Towel rack bent. Limited bath towels in room. No coffee and spoiled half & half
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Madeline, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. The towel rack has been replaced and the 1/2 and1/2 was replaced and now I have my girls do the sniff/date test before pouring. The towel situation is standard for each room. We provide extras as requested. I understand that this may not have been done for you. I want to reassure you everyone will have towels. Thank you for rating us a 4. My best to you and you will be welcome anytime to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to stay in Napa!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Perfect except for broken thermostat our last night. Even with window open it was hard to sleep. But we loved the inn. Beautiful, spacious, charming B and B. It was for attending a friend's wedding. Our daughter was able to stay with us in the suite and a lovely bedroom with a large comfortable Murphy bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for being so accommodating when the AC broke down unexpectedly. I am happy to report that our AC maintenance company fixed it the first thing on Monday. Please come back to visit us and you will be treated like royalty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town..But too expensive for what you get

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I wouldn't call this a bed and breakfast at all..as you get only one coupon for a free breakfast at a coffee shop down the street that has pastries and bagel sandwiches. We stayed in the room inthe back house and I thought the furnishings were very dated and cheap looking. The bathroom very small, one sink and ugly white tile shore. However the bed and sheets were very comfortable. The room was overall pretty clean, but the bathroom could have been better. I've stayed at other hotels in the area and they are much nicer for the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We pride ourselves on making each guests stay a special one. We have informed all of our guests that check into the cottage house that we do not serve breakfast in the cottage house. I a so sorry they did not explain that to you. I have taken steps to make sure this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you , Madeline Kidd Inn keeper Inn St.Helena
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but the accommodations are rundown.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The furnishings, amenities, offerings -- place felt dated and not too clean.
Location: St. Helena is incredibly beautiful everywhere - great shops and restaurants
The location in the center of town, walking distance to everything in lovely St. Helena makes it worth the stay. The room had maintenance issues and the furnishings and amenities were just Ok. Id say the place is really overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations. We are in the process of updating the Inn. The problem for us is that some of the items that need updating and replaced can not be done while we have a full house. We can not trouble our guests with this type of work. We were in the process of getting these items handled during the winter months. In the middle of these changes we had flooding issues because of all the rain. So we spent that time having the professionals come and fix everything which involved all new flooring in the downstairs areas of the main house. We installed french drains and had everything cleaned up. This kept us from the other items we have on our list. I appreciate your honesty and I will make sure our owners are aware of this email.. Warmly, Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D Philadelphia, PA

Great place to stay when visiting wineries

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This lovely inn is on Main Street in St. Helena with plenty of nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. The gracious innkeeper makes you feel right at home and our room was perfect with an added bonus of our own patio and private entrance. Perfect location for wine tours/tastings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. They mean so much to me each time I get one. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and please let me know if you would like to come back. I would be delighted to see ya'll again. Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roswell,GA

Great time with friends!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We completely enjoyed our stay at the Inn St. Helena. Madelyn and her staff are great and the atmosphere is relaxing. The Inn is within walking distance of downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Madeline Kidd, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this great review. Each time I get one it just tickles me to death. I want all of my guests comfortable so I keep track of your needs and when possible I try to accommodate my guests. Please come back anytime for another visit. Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable Bed and ....coupon

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
I really liked this inn and would stay there again. The location is great and the room we stayed in was really nice, much better than a hotel. My only comment is that it's not really a bed & breakfast because the breakfast is a coupon to a bakery down the street. For us this was not a problem because we hate the forced chitchat with strangers in a B&B's breakfast. For others this might be something they want and should be aware of before booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your email. When I arrived in September of 2016 we were serving breakfast to the whole property. This was a daunting task. The Cottage house was a vacation rental only when the owners purchased it. We tried to incorporate it into the Bed and Breakfast that we were doing in the main house. My concerns with this were after cooking everything in the main house and we transferred the meals to the cottage. I was concerned that our mandatory food temps. were not being met. So we discontinued this offering. We have an account set up at Model Bakery and we give each person a coupon for everyday of their stay. We also send out a letter explaining which houses are doing what so the guest is made aware. I am sorry you did not have this information before your stay. We are currently reviewing all of websites to make sure this information has been updated. Again my apologies, Madeline Kidd Innkeeper Inn St. Helena
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels