Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

smart hotel in noisy situation

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: reception; room
Cons: Lack of served beverages at breakfast; plates not heated; uncooked sausages; runny scrambled egg
Location: did not stay long enough to require local amenities but locl shop did not sell the Daily Telegraph!
Quality of breakfast did not live up to the hotel's appearance and reception
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

New hotel with clean rooms but thin walls

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and very accessible.
Cons: Sound insulation in rooms. Improve breakfast offering. Soya milk.. Train greeters at breakfast to help guests not treat them like they're a problem.
Location: St Helens RFLC is on your doorstep. Easily accessible form M62.
See above BUT walls are paper thin. Could hear the guy next door coughing as if he was in bed next to me. Very disturbing!!! No soya milk for breakfast. Only scrambled eggs (that contain cow's milk which I can't tolerate) with cooked options. In fairness, when I pointed this out, they did offer me fried eggs instead. Greeter at the breakfast room was indifferent / borderline rude to me when I expressed mild frustration at their being no soya or cow's milk alternative. Clearly thought this was a life choice and not a medical condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vienna

close to town

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: reception staff rooms
Cons: rooms might be a bit chilly for some
check in was quick room was nice and cool overall a very pleasant experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare stay

Posted May 25, 2017
I use this hotel frequently and have always been extremly satisfied. This time I awoke at 02.30 am in a bed of sweat. The thermostat was set at 29.5C ! I could not lower the temperature as the control buttons did not work and the window was locked shut. Switching it off only increased the temperature. I was awake most of the night. On complaint the staff responded excellently, refunding the charge and giving me a coffee. However they were aware of a problem with the air conditioning prior to my stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London uk

Room over 30 degrees, check before you book

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The Breakfast was good and the staff, from cleaners up, were friendly.
Cons: aircon
We had a terrible night's sleep as the aircon was defective and had been for some days, according to the staff. If it worries you that the room could be 30++ degrees then ask before you book. The staff that worked there were very lovely, but in such a hot room, with no windows to open, we will not be returning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed two nights as we were attending a local music festival, can not fault the place at all no negative feedback for any aspect of our stay. The staff were fantastic, really friendly would definitely recommend this hotel 100%.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
That is great to hear, thank you very much. We do hope you stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back Many thanks Adele Lyon Assistant Reception Manager
4 out of 5
by Ivan from Oxford

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
because hotel do not control/own any more swimming pool, sauna and spa, opening hours of this is unacceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The leisure facilities are open until 21:00 during the week. I am sorry to hear you missed out on using them during you stay. I hope you stay with us again and are able to use them Adele Lyon (Assistant Reception Manager)
4 out of 5
by jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by merdie from Lansdowne

halon Court Hote

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was wonderful. Room was vlean and easkly accessible. Selection of food was superb. Staff was friendly and efficient.