Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mount clemens, michigan

Beautiful but, the beds are not the best

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Beautiful room right on the water. But, needs updating. For the price it could have been more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Midland, MI

Comfortable With Spectacular View of Straits

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: The view of the beach and straits. Comfortable if a bit dated. Better than average breakfast. Accommodating staff.
Cons: New, clean carpet in halls. Pool facility is old and the uneven painted floor can be treacherous. Exit doors need night security .
Location: Near several good restaurants. Liked the Ojibway heritage museum.
Despite a an error in booking by Expedia, the owner made things right by applying our no-show charge from the error date to the room they were able to assign us. All rooms have balcony and view of the straits. An older place that shows its wear in places but is clean and comfortable. The pool deck is uneven poured concrete that is painted and the pool is mainly for children to play in or adults to float at only 5 ft deep. Breakfast was better than average with sausage, eggs, waffles, drinks, cereals, fruit, and yogurt. Still uses real keys for doors. Not our first choice for another visit, but it would do and be a satisfying alternative to some other venues that we've visited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
We were happy to help. We hope to see you again. Thanks for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Not a good place to stay.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Very dated, needs remodeling badly, old TVs and furnishings. Room had terrible odor, alternate room also smelled like paint. At least manager allowed us to cancel without penalty. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as expected. We are working hard on our property. We hope you will stay with us in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Disappointing!

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The lake front view was amazing . . . loved it!
Cons: Cleanliness . . . bugs in the bed!
Location: We enjoyed the Driftwood Bar and Grill and the closeness to the ferry to Mackinac Island!
The fact that the hotel is on the lake front is amazing! We enjoyed that! The fact that the hotel is somewhat outdated and the beds were hard is something we could put up with. But, when we found bugs in the bed, that was it! Hotel staff was accommodating and gave us a new room. But, we were told that they would check it out and let us know about the bug situation . . . we never heard a word. We stayed for two nights and when we checked out, nothing was said. We were only asked if we wanted a receipt and nothing else! We likely will not be staying at this hotel again! We loved the rest of our UP vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry your stay was not as pleasant as expected. We are working very hard to make sure your next stay will be more enjoyable. Thanks for staying with us, and hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Disappointed

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Nice view of Lake Huron.
Cons: See above.
Location: Close to town and the Star ferry to Mackinac Island.
When we opened the door to our room, an open refrigerator greeted us with dirty towels in it. Later on in the evening when we got ready for bed, a dead bug lay between the sheets. There was a nice view of Lake Huron from the window of our room, but geese and their droppings littered the beach making it impossible to take a stroll on it. Breakfast was also disappointing with cold and hardened scrambled egg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed with your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. I hope you will give us another try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

Great Location!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location, Indoor pool and the view
Cons: Better food for breakfast
We stayed for a Mackinac Island vacation. The hotel has a great view from the room. I highly recommend the 3rd floor. The hotel is about a mile away from the ferries to Mackinac Island. The breakfast is nothing special but adequate. The staff was great other than the breakfast attendant. She was not pleasant. Indoor pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We love the view too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice place for the money.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Our stay was nice. We didn't use the pool or anything as we checked in and then went to the island. It's and older place but clean. That's all we wanted. We have stayed here before and we will again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and staying with us. Hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view at a competitive price

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Our room was spacious and nice, and we enjoyed the beach accommodations, but the hotel had a funky odor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy you enjoyed your room. I am sorry you stay was not as pleasant as possible. Thank you for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Older lodge but had all the amenities of more modern ones. Breakfast bar had much to choose from...very good. Overall a good stay for a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing our hotel. We continually update our hotel each year. We are glad that your stay was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo MI

A nice place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The staff and the closeness to the lake
Cons: Possibly checking the room to make sure that there are no issues with plumbing before issuing it...
Location: It is a ways past downtown...but that proved to be a positive, as the amount of traffic and noise was reduced...
The hotel was located on the lake, and provided several places to sit and relax...the staff was the best part of the visit...we had a mechanical issue early on...and they handled it with professionalism and minimal problems...they also recommended a wonderful nearby restaurant...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Sherry - Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review. We always appreciate the feedback. We try very hard to check all rooms prior to arrivals.