Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

UP trip

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It's right on Lake Huron and a beautiful view. Continental breakfast and all day free coffee was decent. I'd go back to this hotel but would definitely request a lake view room. There's nice patio furniture outside the lobby to enjoy the lake. The staff was very nice! Our room was huge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland

Pleasanly Surprised

Posted Sep 8, 2017
As a Michigan native I'm pretty familiar with hotels on the water. Took my wife and kids there to meet up with my parents over a holiday weekend. We were actually really pleased with this hotel. Room was very spacious for the kids and the pool was very nice. Waterfront hotels = bugs & musty smell. These are non issues here. Go ahead and book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us. We hope to have you visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Comfy beds, wonderful and helpful staff. Pretty lakefront . They had chairs out by the lake that you could sit and watch the sun come up. Only complaint would be the breakfast. Very plain. I have been at other hotels where the free breakfast was better than what we had to choose from. Would have been nice if scrambled eggs was an option
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Smells bad, not very clean

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Staff was very unprofessional and the hotel is very unclean.Stay away from this hotel. Did I mention bed bugs??
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your stay was less than enjoyable. I wish that I would have been able to address your concerns while you were here. We have never had a case of bed bugs at our hotel. I am unsure what leads you to post this inaccurate information. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Springs, MI

Nice hotel, but cleaning crew needs to do better.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The view, the beds were comfortable, the water pressure was great and it was a really good breakfast.
Cons: Cleaning of the rooms should be inspected before another guest is booked in the room. And maybe add a second or third waffle maker.
Location: Good location
Room was lovely and comfortable. But there was a terrible mess in the bathroom. Near the toilet paper roll someone's mess was stuck to the wall. It was on the wall across from the toilet and on the bathroom door as well. The girl from the front desk came right up and cleaned it and said they would knock 10% off my price. It was unfortunate that a mistake by the cleaning staff could taint our stay, but it did. The rest of the room was clean other than a floss stick still on the floor under one of the beds. Mistakes do happen, but the one in the bathroom was hard to miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Rooms were clean (except for bugs smashed on walls) but a smidge run down. The bugs came from a light right outside our door and everytime the door was opened they came in. The smashed bugs on the walls were from previous guests. The pool/hottub needs a little work but overall stay was nice. Great view of the lake!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc, MI

Beautiful View of the Road

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Install elevator, update and refurbish the rooms and fixtures.
Outside end unit facing the road. Leaking toilet ran all night combined with road noise kept us tossing and turning. Old fixtures and furnishing did not reflect high pricing we paid. Would look at Holiday Inn Express for more comfort and better experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

A total Dump

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The manager refused to speak to me because she was too busy. The front desk helpfully told me no one complains about the smell but only about the bugs
I had two problems. We wanted to cancel the second night of our stay. Since we had free 24 cancellation I assumed that 32 hours before the second night would be fine but it wasn't. Even though we had two rooms, gave them the notice that they say they need to fill the room and they claimed they were totally booked, they told me that midnight before the first night is a hard and fast rule. All they would have had to do is offer to refund one room to have a happy customer but they didn’t. I then went to my room that had poor lighting, bugs and the stink of cigarette smoke. The new room also smelled, as did the dank hall. The bathroom was so small you couldn't even change to shower. It was dirty and lit by a single bulb and had one of those small loud fans that I remember from highway motels in the 1970s. The bathroom door had been water damaged and both the door and jamb had been planed down and not sanded or stained to finish. The door between rooms didn't lock without my son pushing his whole weight on it. The patio screen didn't lock. The pool had caution tape around the burst ceiling pipe. Both room doors had the newer card locks but clearly had a new plate was added in a halfhearted manner. In my parents room it was easily 1/2” from the jamb and left a gaping hole when the door was closed. It was very hard to lock and likely very easy to push something into to open. This is a renovated 1970s motel with badly done renovations. Other motels in the area are much cheaper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

Average hotel with nice lake view....

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Location..
Cons: Breakfast, covered access to Lobby from room....
Hotel has a great location close to Ferry, restaurants and bars. Layout of hotel is not guest friendly as you must walk outside to get to lobby and breakfast area...?? Breakfast was just ok...Would not stay here again, numerous other hotels to choose from on the Lake...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Casino close, ferry to Mackinac Island close
Good location. Good view of the lake. Breakfast could have been a little better.