Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The beach front, and the parking was good.
Cons: Breakfast, locks on door. Pool could be cleaner.
Location: There is lots to do. Castle rock. The island, uptown st Ignace. Location was excellent.
It was ok, the breakfast was not great. But they had beach front, and fire rings. Pool was ok, not the best but it was not bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand rapids

Low price hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I picked this hotel for location and price. The room was clean but hard to open with key, and the beds are so uncomfortable. The staff was friendly the little bit we interacted with them. The breakfast is 2 kinds of cereal, donuts that are hard from being frozen and bread or toast. With milk and oj to drink.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from traverse city, mi

Won't return

Posted Oct 2, 2017
No towels, room was dirty. Bathtub was nasty. Front door deadbolt would jam when trying to leave room. Right on beach but I would of rather had no view but a clean room. Will not ever stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best part was the view out the sliders

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The carpet was badly stained, wall paper peeling off walls in areas. Toilet seat was needed to be replaced do to its coloring. Happened to stay there in July 2017 and was a place I thought I’d try again. But won’t after this stay. I also sunk in the bed hard to get out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria MN

Dated hotel on Beach

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We forgot an item in the room and it was sent promptly via COD. The location was great, near ferries to Mackinac Island. Shepler's Ferry did free pickup at motel so we could leave our motorcycle there for our second night. The room was large with a view of Lake Huron. It was very dated and could have used some maintenance. The refrigerator control was missing and the patio door did not lock without using a door chain lock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean on Lake Huron, great view.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great view of lake, nice pool and spa. Fire pit and lawn chairs by the lake were very awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful View

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Loved the balcony and the view of the lake. Beautiful.
Cons: Cleanliness could be improved and the breakfast selections.
Location: We were only there for one evening and left early the next morning so did not do much.
I would definitely had given it a higher rating but on the day of arrival, my husband went to the bathroom and found that the toilet had not been cleaned properly and there was excrement on the inside of the toilet seat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MI

Great View

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Updated
Location: Right on the beach. Close to boat docks for the island, restaurants, and shopping.
We stayed the night for one night in the middle of a trip to the Soo. The hotel has everything you need. The pool and hot tub are warm and comfortable. However show age and not cleaned up very well. But what you would expect for an outdoor pool. The hotel room had everything you needed. Tv, microwave, coffee maker, mini-fridge. Carpets were stained and door lock on slider was just a chain lock. But for the price and location it was a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Clair

Nice stay.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Stay was pleasant. Room was very clean. Watch out for the goose droppings that were everywhere on the grass when you walk down to the beach. Continental Breakfast could have been better. I think I drank Tang for orange juice. Hotel is close to ferries to get across to Mackinac Island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southwest Michigan

On the water and nice view of Mackinaw Island.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The cost, view and location
Cons: Not much
Location: It is located north of the business district and enough away to be in a quiet location. Things to do are mainly across the bridge in Mackinaw City.
This is an older motel but it is well maintained and everything in the rooms functioned. There is a huge open area between the motel and the lake for kids to play and to have bonfires. We stayed there in June last year and returned this year because of the view, open space and reasonable rates. The breakfast is very basic but I found it to be acceptable. The indoor pool also makes this a good value. I would stay there again.