Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected, at all

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: . There was water in the fridge, as well as bacon, eggs and muffins . The location is walking distance to everything in Cruz Bay
Cons: . The cleanliness could definitely be improved. . The furnitures and sheets were old and outdated . Room too dark
Location: . Walking distance to everything in Cruz Bay (if you don't mind the steep hill)
I am not sure if we ended up picking the "wrong" room, but our experience of the Peaceful Retreat room did not match most of the other reviews we read on Orbitz, at all. The room was in the basement and was very dark. The place is old, and while it had been cleaned during the day, it did not feel clean. There was also a smell coming from the kitchen that made us feel uneasy. The sheets for the sofa bed were not folded, but rolled into a ball and the walls were sticky. While all of this could have been fine for just a week-end away, we were shocked at the value we got for the price. I truly think this is the worst value I have ever gotten for my money and I travel all the time both for business and for pleasure. I also happen to live in the Caribbean, the island next door; so I do understand the cost of living and tourism here. While the lady was pleasant and polite, and while the location is central, I would not recommend this place and I will never be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Comfortable, affordable, convenient

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This was our fourth stay at Hillcrest. We always enjoy the proximity to the beach and the town, as well as the convenience and comfort of a room with kitchen and fridge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Nice hotel, close to the National Park

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The view was beautiful and it was close to everything.
Cons: Needs a stove, hotplate really makes it hard to cook more than one item.
Location: Very centrally located, near beach, park, bars and several restaurants and a grocery store.
The drive to the room was straight up a very steep hill which was very difficult to climb if you wanted to walk into town. None of the streets had signs and if it weren't for a passing local we would never have found the place. It was very close to town but it was just to hard too walk that hill to get back. The view was really beautiful but we hardly ever used the seats on the balcony due to the bugs. The roosters crowed every morning way before sunrise and the animal noises were pretty interesting to listen to at night but they did make it a bit difficult to sleep some nights. The room was very small. Instead of a stove, there was a hotplate which made cooking a bit of a challenge. If you are going there with the idea of cooking meals I would try to find someplace with a more modern kitchen situation. The write up said beach equipment but we had one good chair and the noodles really needed to be replaced. Very nice beach towels and there was a set of snorkel equipment. This is an older building and they do try to keep it up but we actually blew one of the circuit breakers just trying to cook breakfast. The owner lives on the premises and she was very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
We stayed for 5 nights 6 days. The hotel efficiencies were clean and the fridge fully stocked. Easy parking too! We had a great view of Cruz bay. Our hostess was a super duper lady! I would recommend this a a great option to head to and stay in St. John's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Quiet, clean and nice. Great apartments and efficiencies. Would recommend to anyone! Sits high on the hill in Cruz bay... Hostess and owner is wonderful...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, ma

More to be desired

Posted May 21, 2016
Great location, owner was amazing, great price. Bed was not comfortable at all. And while it was clean, it felt dirty?
2 out of 5
by JOHN

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice owner but locked gate was deadbolt needed key probably horrible fire trap Scary hill wouldn't want to walk at night
5 out of 5
by Freeman from Post Falls, ID

Excellent Guest House

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic. Host/Owner Phyllis is great. Everything you might want is provided.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cape cod ma

Good location

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Be ready to walk up a very steep hill. It's a killer. Weekend nights it is very noisy as the sound rises. It was clean. Nice that they had eggs etc in fridge. But the room isn't the kind of room you want to spend time in other than to sleep or shower. A good place for young couples who don't care about being pampered. You do get plenty of privacy! No daily room cleaning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable guest house

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Quiet, convenient
Cons: A couple of more towels, including hand towels would have been nice. The TV only got CBS, which was limited, but did include the Super Bowl :)
Location: Great beaches - especially Honeymoon Bay
The third time we have stayed at Hillcrest. It is convenient to Cruz Bay, the beaches, the restaurants and the park. We appreciate being able to have a quiet visit and breakfast in our room.