Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Will never stay at another Westin resort again

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The only good thing about this place is the pool and fact that we could walk to it through the backdoor of our room.
Cons: Pretty much everything, especially customer service since we had several issues with that on our trip.
Location: Beaches in the National park are the best thing about this place don't bother with anything in the resort not worth the time or money.
A reviewer had mentioned that this hotel had 3 star service with 5 star prices wish we has listened to them & taken our business elsewhere because that is exactly what we got maybe even worse.To start we asked for a double queen bed & were given a king bed instead which meant no room for one of us to sleep since we were traveling with our 3yr old. When I called & pointed this out to customer service they said they couldn't do anything but could rent us a roll away bed for $5 a day. When I asked why do we have to pay for it when it's not our fault they decided it wasn't their problem so we had to suck it up & just pay for it otherwise one of us would have been on the floor. On top of all this our room had mold growing on the ceiling by the AC vent Room1114. 2nd day of our stay we wanted to order room service but couldn't find a menu in the room. Turns out we had to request it from customer service & then make the order which seemed odd. Next the food,the hotel only has 1 sitdown restaurant called Lemongrass which is where our room service food was from. You had to order the food before 9:30pm otherwise we couldn't order from there which also meant less selection on the menu. When the food came it was cold & barely edible.Next day onwards we ended up getting sandwiches & deli meat from the nearby supermarket. To top it all today I found out they charged us 2x for all room charges which they refused to admit when I called to explain this to them. Just placed dispute with my cc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel, great for families

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Amenities
Cons: Dining options
Location: Great location on St. John. Close to Cruz Bay and the beaches. Our room was by the pool which was centrally located.
The hotel property is very large and there is a lot to do with the pool and beach activities. We decided to explore the park beaches on St Johns which were fabulous. We rented a Jeep at the hotel and the car rental staff was friendly and very helpful. The only downside was the lack of restaurant options at the resort. We went off the resort to eat because we had already exhausted the options on site. Cruz Bay is close and has a lot of dining options but the taxi ride can be expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Hotel needs major renovation.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful grounds but everything needs remodeling. Staff is awful. Great pool which also needs rehab. Not worth $
5 out of 5
by Jimmy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Westin st john

Posted Jul 8, 2016
The Westin has a nice lounge at the airport in st Thomas. This is where you will schedule your ferry transportation to St. John. While it is very convenient and efficient, it costs $120 per person for "unlimited ferry rides" to and from St Thomas. My wife and I found no reason to go back to St Thomas until we needed to fly back home. Public ferry to St. John is $6 or $7 per person. You will need a cab to get to the ferry in st Thomas and another cab to get from the ferry dock in St. John to the Westin but you could save some serious money by doing this work yourself. Cab approx $10-20 plus ferry 7 + 7 = $34 (worse case) each way. So $64 versus $240 for Westin to take care of it for you. After you get to the Westin they have free rum punch waiting for you! The resort is fabulous. Without a question the best resort on the island. Staff is top notch, as are facilities. Fine dining and casual dining are available, poolside bar, free kayaks, paddle boards , floats, and a beautiful beach! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Westin. The Marriot has recently purchased the Westin and the resort is going timeshare/ condo so I'm not certain how much longer "hotel rooms" will be available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Family of four had a great time. Staff was excellent. Pool was great. Beach was awesome. Water sports rentals were great.
1 out of 5
by Donna from Tortola, BVI

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
I called the hotel before my arrival to schedule a taxi to pick me up and their response was "they don't do that!" That's beyond unacceptable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Very relaxing and quiet hotel on beach

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The hotel staff here are exceptional. The hotel has a great pool and is right on the beach with a great swimming area. They have a restaurant bar right on the beach.
4 out of 5
by John from Louisville

Great hotel but glitch with Hotels.com

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great visit. Our only problem was that we had a party of four and they gave us a single King bed. We had paid for beachfront and they said it was a glitch between them and Hotels.com, which doesn't guarantee the number of beds. While I realize my reservation said that, I've never had this issue before and it's not ok to put a family of four (including a 14 year old and a 17 year old) in a room with only a King bed. They offered a roll away but that would only accommodate one. Finally, they moved us into a different room but it was clearly not as nice, not beachfront and she told us it was less expensive. I feel like we should have only paid the value of the room we were put into. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il.

No balcony!

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, good breakfast, a lot of activities offered for guests. The on-site car rental was an unexpected plus!
Cons: Put a map on the website and ensure the guest actually is aligned with the hotel on what room and view they want.
Location: Endless activities!
I read many reviews on Expedia prior to booking. One thing that is consistent was many people felt they got a different room than they booked online. I called about a month prior and asked for an ocean view room with a balcony. To our surprise, we checked in and got to the room with a wonderful view and no balcony. We were very disappointed with this mix up especially since we took additional steps to ensure we would get the correct room.