Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute B&B

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Overall, this B&B has a comfortable feel, the bed was fantastic, and it was nice and clean. The location is fantastic - a minutes walk to downtown! My only complaint would be the continental breakfast which was just store bought small, stale cinnamon buns and muffins. There is bread and toppings for toast too, but nothing special by any means.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint John

Great place with only small improvements needed

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, size, layout, friendly staff and meeting people down in the breakfast room.
Cons: The shower liner should have been cleaned or replaced. Perhaps the bathroom faucet could have been fixed...water did not run smooth out of it.
Location: Within walking distance to everything downtown Saint John's.
The little B&B was great. Good location, but parking may be tough if you are visiting to explore. I was there for work so there was the option of parking 30 seconds away at metered spots as long as I was out of there by 8am. There are only 3-5 spots across the street in front of a church that are available for free and all the time. Inside the room was great with a nice view. It was clean and a good size. Kind of weird without a closet or dresser, but there were some makeshift hooks available to hang clothes. I was there for 3 nights so anything I did not hang was in the luggage or placed on one of the chairs. The bathroom was odd shaped but it is old building and it added an air of historical. The only thing I would suggest is when cleaning the room, that the shower liner is inspected and replaced if necessary. The bottom of mine was slippery/slimy and pinkish. That was the only fault I could find with the place. Location is great, walking distance to everything downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottetown PE

Charming and convenient to downtown

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This B&B was an amazing value in a prime location. The room was funky and cool and comfortable. I really liked it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. A couple of caveats, though. It might not be for everyone. It's a B&B, it's not hotel levels of pampering. You opt in to housekeeping each day, for example. This is an old building, so your bath might be a cramped shower stall, the sort of compromises you make to live out stay in an old building. It has character, which can often be defined as lack of some modern conveniences, or hacks to provide them. Also, I found parking inconvenient, SP if you have a car, you should plan for that. Bottom line: I loved this place and totally recommend it. Amazing value! But you have to take it for what it is, which is a B&B downtown in an old city in an old building, and plan appropriately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lourdes

nice place for quick stay over.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: it was clean and comfortable.
Cons: ease up on the air fresheners.
Location: location was great for us it was real close to things we were there for and it was easy access to everything.
it was an over all nice place, we never got to meet any staff my key was waiting for me with instructions...rooms are ok not like they advertise,but it ok for quick layover.would not stay there for few nights a bit small and if your sensitive to scents not good place,very high odors of fresheners.almost choked with scents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Close to downtown. Walkable.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Fine. Efficient. Comfortable. A reasonably priced accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Spectacular view of the Narrows

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Comfortable furnishings, drain plug and television that worked, great view of the harbour and Narrows.
Cons: Maybe let the guests know where the dining room is on the summary sheet provided on arrival.
Location: Central location overlooking downtown. Easy downhill walk to convention centre. Stairs up to the nearby Basilica.
Very pleasant and comfortable room layout. Spacious bathroom. Spectacular view is from the top (third) floor but you must carry your bags up the stairs. Refurbished older building. Excellent breakfast; the cook knows how to fry and scramble eggs. Variety of eggs, sausage, fishcakes, cereal, toast. In common with much of St John's, you don't push buttons or hang out doorknob signs to get things done; you speak to a human person face to face and your towels get replaced, room made up, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super friendly accommodation

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Everthing
Cons: Can't really think of anything to improve. Everything worked perfectly for us.
Location: Walking distance to all the historical sites and the University.
A really nice room close to downtown. We loved the view of the harbour so you could ask for a front room if this is important to you. The breakfast was good and the breakfast room was in the old kitchen downstairs. It was nice and sunny and all the guests shares a table. It was very congenial.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff doesn't care

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: It's a good location downtown. My room had a nice view of the bay.
Cons: Make longer hours for breakfast, like 7 am to 10 am. Maybe even 6 am to 11 am.
When I arrived, it turned out breakfast is from 8 to 9 am. The problem is, two out of three days, I had to leave at 8 am. The first day I was slightly late; I asked for an earlier breakfast, and on the second day, the breakfast area was open before 8, and I could get cereal and milk (but no eggs or anything that needed to be cooked). It was cold in the room, the heating was not on, and I could not figure out how to turn it on. I called the number they listed for extra blankets, and the person on the phone told me he no longer works there. I went downstairs to look for any staff (around 11 pm), but there wasn't anybody. I called the number listed for management and left a message. In half an hour, I got a call from a different number, in Nova Scotia, asking if I called about my room being cold. I didn't hear part of what he said, and I asked "Pardon?", after which the person hung up. The day when I did get my full breakfast, it was so-so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

ABBA B&B

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Good location. Comfortable and clean. Good breakfast. Staffing a bit different but went very smoothly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room poor parking

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Room was comfortable except traffic noise very loud at night. Parking is poor but breakfast was good. Little help from staff.