Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Booked a month in advance and didn't get the room!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: We chose the Abba Inn based on location, description, pictures and reviews. We never got past the front steps.
Cons: We should have been informed much earlier that our booking could not be honoured. At 4 pm after a long day of travel, we had to find a place to stay.
We booked 3 nights at the Abba Inn through Expedia and received a confirmation number. Two days before arriving we called and spoke to someone and verbally confirmed our room and where to park. We arrived about 1 pm which was early for check-in time but called the number posted in the lobby. Spoke to caretaker who didn't know of our booking. He gave us another number to call. Spoke to another employee who said she would check into our booking and call us back in a few minutes. Did not hear back so we called again. Still no answer. After several more calls over 2 hours, we were informed that there had been a problem with our booking at the Abba and we had been switched to the Gower Inn a few blocks away. We drove there and found the room was very small and the bathroom was the size of a broom closet. We could not spend three days there. We asked for a refund and the employee gave us the manager's number. We left a message explaining the situation and asked for a refund since they were unable to honour our booking. The employee called back and said we would get a refund to our credit card and we did not need to do anything further. Checked our credit card a week later and still not credit. Called manager and asked him to call back to explain. Still waiting
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Cons: Seeing some staff and parking
Location: Awesome
Disappointed the hotel wasn't upfront regarding parking or lack of it. We saw a parking pass given to another hotel guest but was never mentioned or offered to us. Never saw any staff to ask questons.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay there again.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Booked the Abba Inn but do to unforseen circumstance we were "upgraded" to the Cabot House. First thing we noticed is the carpet on the stairs was not vacuumed and the same lumps or chunks of what ever was on the stairs the first day was there on the third day when we checked out. Best of all the toilet when we checked in had Feces stuck to the inside of the bowl. GROSS. Staff was unfriendly, Continental breakfast was a joke. We waited 20 min for coffee then left after we got tired of waiting. The young and inexperienced staff needs to be monitored and coached. Also no A/C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston ON

Convenient to downtown and good value

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Was last minute booking, and there was not much left in the city. Did not know the hotel, but took a chance based on location, and was very satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North West Brook, nl, Canada

Very nice inn and not that far from downtown.

Posted May 4, 2017
I love the place and it's close to everywhere I wanted to go downtown. So pretty.
4 out of 5
by Lynn

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was confusing We didn't know where to go and when we did find it there was no way to make coffee and wht was there was cold
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations!

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
My family had to come to St. John's unexpectedly for a funeral. We booked three rooms: 1, 3 and 5. I originally had #1 but switched with my elderly parents because they didn't want to have to climb stairs. Room 3 was the best room! The king bed was very comfortable and the view was fantastic! Small suggestions: add a coat rack or some hooks, and repair the towel bar in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, will not be rebooking again..

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Our key was not ready, and since no one was at the location I had to call a few different numbers before I reached someone willing to help. A man finally showed up (about 10-15 minutes later) and told us over and over how "he did not work here anymore, so bare with him until he could find our key" .. we waiting about 10 minutes and he finally opened a room door so we could put our things inside. He brought a few different keys for us to try until we found the one that unlocked our door. Once we found the key, he just walked away and went straight for the door out side without apologizing for anything or even saying good bye. Our room was fine, but there were stains on our comforter on the bed. Overall, it was a very poor experience and we will not be booking here again. If we had our time back we would have spent a little extra money to stay somewhere that actually wanted our business, not somewhere where we only felt like burdens to the "employees".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deer Lake

Not at all happy,

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: get what you pay for
Cons: Get rid of the air freshners,,, a must.
Location: location was fine.
Our room was cold, the air freshners in the front entrance are very strong, not good when you have allergies.