Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newfondland

unclean

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: its character
Cons: cleaned before its used again
Location: location was fine
The carpet wasn't cleaned before we arrived. There were bits of french fires on the carpet. The king bed was so soft you sank in the middle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gander

Nice b&b close to downtown.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location and very comfortable room.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved.
Location: Restaurants, shopping and entertainment venues very close by.
Excellent location. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very basic. Very well organized check in however it would be nice to see the receptionist/ caretaker at least once! Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Nice stay, close to centre of town.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: More selections at breakfast.
Location: Close to downtown and many restaurants.
The Cabot House was quiet and comfortable. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The room itself was very clean. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in St. John!s.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newfoundland

Nice room, not enough parking

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Nice spot for somewhere to sleep and shower quite clean and quiet! Didn't see one staff member the whole time Not enough parking (that comes with location) and also time limits on when you can use jacuzzi tub which was like a regular tub with jets, however I would stay there again Close to all downtown amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

2nd stay in a few weeks

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Cons: Definitely a Keurig or Tassimo machine for coffee.
Location: Venice Pizzeria, Needs store, and Coffee Matters are to the left on Military Rd. Big R Restaurant and Tim Hortons are to the right on Military Rd.
2nd stay in a few weeks, stayed in room 6 this time. Big beautiful room. Heated floor in the bathroom is great. It was a stormy night in St. John's and the wind was howling outside, the wind was blowing down the chimney but it never kept us awake. Kyle the onsite staff member was as usual very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

The charm of a Historic Mansion in Old St. John's

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Cons: Better coffee. I would highly recommend a Keurig or Tassimo machine.
Location: This Inn is just a 5 minute walk from downtown St. John's.
Lovely stay, VERY comfortable bed. Kyle the staff member on site was very attentive, friendly, and could not do enough for the guests. Parking in the back is not the greatest, but if everyone is accommodating there won't be an issue. We did get stuck a couple of times for a few seconds on the ice in the driveway. Great place for business travelers who work in the downtown area but don't want to stay in a hotel. It's a 5 minute walk to Holy Heart Theatre, a two minute walk to George Town Bakery, Bannerman Park and a lot of other places of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I was expecting more of a B&B feel to this place but it felt more official. I really liked it. It has a lot more character than a chain hotel and it was a great price in a great location. 10/10 would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a fabulous spot!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Clean, comfortable,very reasonably priced!😊Lovely bedding and couch in the room was much appreciated for relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Summerside, PE

Best value near downtown

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Great value
Cons: Bath products were terrible. I was lucky I brought my own. Offering something local would be a real differentiator.
Location: Residential area but close to downtown. Very convenient.
I got a suite in January for $80 a night (I imagine that rate is off-seasonal). The entire building is in great shape, new paint throughout, good mix of modern fixtures with some character, antique pieces thrown in. Not cluttered like some other B&Bs. Made it feel very professional and comfortable - it doesn't feel at all like you are staying in someone's home. Breakfast was nice with toast, cereal, pastries, fruit and reasonable coffee. My company brings people into St. John's often for work and will be adding Cabot House to our list of nice places to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was excellent place to stay!!