Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Located in the center of St. John's

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Centrally located, great value, excellent breakfast and quite.
Location: Located centrally in St. John's with all amenities accessible by foot
This booking was everything I expected resulting from the advertisement. Parking, breakfast, spacious room and quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatineau

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Clean,quiet,very reasonably priced, friendly staff and a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

B&B = Great value over hotel stays

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: location, value, cleanliness, hot breakfasts, parking for small and medium cars, welcoming staff, privacy and comfort. Having Netflix was great!
Cons: King bed was too soft for our taste but we lived. At least it was a king! :-)
Location: 10 min walk to all of downtown St. John's so the world is your oyster!
This was a great experience for us. We had a beautiful room with a king bed and a Jacuzzi tub. This is not a hotel so... the bed was too soft for our taste, and the hot water, though plentiful, was hard to get just right some times. However, this was not a hotel so... we had hot and filling breakfasts served to us every morning by Ashley who was a total dear (as long as you don't park big trucks in the small parking lot), and the size and quality of the room we stayed in would have cost us 3 or 4 times the amount we paid. Also, being a B&B, we got to meet some of the other guests over breakfast and had wonderful contact with them. One even gave us FREE tickets to a new years party ($140 value!) when their partner was ill and couldn't make it. It was a great trip and Cabot House was charming and delightful. Plus, the trip was all in Canadian $$ so that was a plus. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: The location, and the breakfasts.
Cons: previously mentioned...
Location: close to the main street.
Very comfortable...Odd that the owners didn't appear to be on site at any time. Parking at the back of the B&B was limited and very tightly spaced both driving in and parking if by chance a space was even available. You have to look after taking your own suitcases up and down the stairs - no one available to help you. In my single room there were no dressers to store your clothes either. Other than that it was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very nice indeed. Just remembered, the sink and bathtub stoppers did not close - so a bath was out of the question as well as using the sink for a quick wash...so it was just a shower to be had. However, I did fail to report this to them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable historic property

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Outstanding room, service, and breakfast. Located in an upscale and quiet neighborhood close to all the sites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by freda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by amira

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
I selected this hotel online after not finding availability in any other hotels. But it was worth trying, a nice place to stay with family or friends. It is spacious, clean and it is quite. Only issue was I had my room in first floor, and had no elevator to go, but the staff was friendly who helped me with the luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brenda from Kentville, Nova Scotia

Nice couples night away

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Was visiting for a wedding. Very nice room with a comfortable king size bed and jet tub. Went for a late night walk along water street and down to the dock. Very quiet building! Would recommend it to couples for a romantic night away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Dawson Creek, BC

Good location, great breakfast

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Close to downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Sk.

Homey B&B trekking distance to downtown.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Breakfast was only available for one hour but it was worth getting up for. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.