Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

The charm of a Historic Mansion in Old St. John's

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Cons: Better coffee. I would highly recommend a Keurig or Tassimo machine.
Location: This Inn is just a 5 minute walk from downtown St. John's.
Lovely stay, VERY comfortable bed. Kyle the staff member on site was very attentive, friendly, and could not do enough for the guests. Parking in the back is not the greatest, but if everyone is accommodating there won't be an issue. We did get stuck a couple of times for a few seconds on the ice in the driveway. Great place for business travelers who work in the downtown area but don't want to stay in a hotel. It's a 5 minute walk to Holy Heart Theatre, a two minute walk to George Town Bakery, Bannerman Park and a lot of other places of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I was expecting more of a B&B feel to this place but it felt more official. I really liked it. It has a lot more character than a chain hotel and it was a great price in a great location. 10/10 would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a fabulous spot!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Clean, comfortable,very reasonably priced!😊Lovely bedding and couch in the room was much appreciated for relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Summerside, PE

Best value near downtown

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Great value
Cons: Bath products were terrible. I was lucky I brought my own. Offering something local would be a real differentiator.
Location: Residential area but close to downtown. Very convenient.
I got a suite in January for $80 a night (I imagine that rate is off-seasonal). The entire building is in great shape, new paint throughout, good mix of modern fixtures with some character, antique pieces thrown in. Not cluttered like some other B&Bs. Made it feel very professional and comfortable - it doesn't feel at all like you are staying in someone's home. Breakfast was nice with toast, cereal, pastries, fruit and reasonable coffee. My company brings people into St. John's often for work and will be adding Cabot House to our list of nice places to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Staff

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Nice area
Cons: Staff and parking
Arrived on cold snowy day to find No Parking available. Another guest showed us dirty towels and no staff responding to phone calls. We do find staff but they were extremely rude when we asked why no parking. They didn't plot the parking lot and assume it was a cost saving thing. It spoiled our visit and we would never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Simple, uncomplicated, affordable, pleasant room.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Lack of complication. There is a staff if you want something, but they leave you alone.
Cons: A barrista and dancing girls would be nice, but I was simple renting a room.
Location: This is pretty central. There is a fine cafe steps from the front door. An outstanding ice cream shop 2 blocks away gives you an evening destination.
if you're looking for a simple, cheap, clean, spacious and pleasant room in central St. John's, there's absolutely nothing wrong here. Nothing to fear and much to enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Hearts Ease,NL

A quant little piece of history

Posted Nov 27, 2016
A beautiful little b&b in the downtown area with age and history, had a wonderful stay and would recommend this place to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull

Central location.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Wotif
Staff were accomodating for early check ins. Rooms were spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in Downtown Area

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
This B&B is a wonderful place in the downtown area, a gem to be discovered. Very private, lots of character. My only disappointment is that I never discovered it sooner and wasted money on hotel rooms that are so ordinary. Never got to experience the breakfast (own fault) but others have given it great reviews. Would definitely stay here again, in a heartbeat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Most of our stay was fine. HOWEVER, there were people partying all night until 3:30 in the morning and then they got up at 6:30 very loudly. Needless to say we did not get any sleep. We decided to stay here as a break from my dorm and the noise so it was highly disappointing. There was no one to tell them to keep quiet or show respect.