Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Nice hotel but room was very right otherwise very cozy and in a quiet place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just lovely

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Lovely room - we got the top loft room .. Very clean and very quiet street.., Two steps from downtown
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and inexpensive, convenient location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The Gower House B&B is a comfortable, clean, inexpensive and well managed house located in a convenient location in downtown St. John's. It's a short walk away from plenty of fine coffee shops restaurants but despite this is very quiet. Also a very short walk away from Bannerman park, and a nice walk/very short drive from both George Street to the west, and Quidi Vidi/Signal Hill to the east. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pleasant stay at Gower House B&B

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: The location is excellent, in the middle of downtown, just steps away from pubs and main streets.
The Host Todd is very friendly and gave us a lot of advice of the surrounding area, breakfast was good, we had different choices every morning. The room is comfortable and overall the stay is very pleasant!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moose Jaw, SK

Great location, great staff

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: We were able to walk to The Rooms, the basilica, shopping on Duckworth and Water Streets, and loved the fact that there was great music on George St.
We had to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to our room, but as a result we had wonderful views (Signal Hill) and it was very quiet. My husband is a big man and he found the bathroom to be quite a small fit, but everything was very clean and had everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewisporte, NL

Good price in comparison with other downtown

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: The BEST location in downtown St. John's, which is why I like to stay here. A short walk to Water & George Sts. and amazing restaurants & clubs.
Tired, in need of some updating, but very comfortable facility. Free breakfast is included. But needs longer availability times. (8 to 9). I am still in bed till 10! My room fronted on Gower St. & I found the traffic a bit noisy, as well as some of the inconsiderate guests in the hotel who were talking loudly at all hours. Toiletries provided were plentiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Best location

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was excellent. Website said continental and it was much more than that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

First B&B

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Good downtown location.
Check-in was easy as they left a key for us in an envelope. Issue I would have with this is that anyone could pickup the key and exterior door code. Room was good. Breakfast was a set time from 8:00 to 9:00, and was an adequate plate with a variety of items.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing -- it was perfect
We booked Gower House, but got a free upgrade to its sister B&B, Cabot House, which was probably a 3-minute drive away. We LOVED every second of our stay at Cabot House. From the moment we called to ask for an early check in, we were greeted with much hospitality. Our luggage got delayed, and the were kind enough to coordinate the luggage from Gower House to Cabot House. The location was amazing -- it was literally downtown, but in a very quiet area. Our room was very beautiful -- it was sleek and modern, with a large window with a beautiful view of the mountains. We also had such a big breakfast, included in our room rate, which filled us enough for a hike at Gros Morne!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Parking is a challenge sometimes and it is very important as their is no alternative places.
Location: Location is central and within walking distance are there historical places as well as many restaurants and pubs.
We loved Newfoundland as the people are wonderful and the weather was great with lots of things to do.