Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pleasant stay at Gower House B&B

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: The location is excellent, in the middle of downtown, just steps away from pubs and main streets.
The Host Todd is very friendly and gave us a lot of advice of the surrounding area, breakfast was good, we had different choices every morning. The room is comfortable and overall the stay is very pleasant!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moose Jaw, SK

Great location, great staff

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: We were able to walk to The Rooms, the basilica, shopping on Duckworth and Water Streets, and loved the fact that there was great music on George St.
We had to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to our room, but as a result we had wonderful views (Signal Hill) and it was very quiet. My husband is a big man and he found the bathroom to be quite a small fit, but everything was very clean and had everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lewisporte, NL

Good price in comparison with other downtown

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: The BEST location in downtown St. John's, which is why I like to stay here. A short walk to Water & George Sts. and amazing restaurants & clubs.
Tired, in need of some updating, but very comfortable facility. Free breakfast is included. But needs longer availability times. (8 to 9). I am still in bed till 10! My room fronted on Gower St. & I found the traffic a bit noisy, as well as some of the inconsiderate guests in the hotel who were talking loudly at all hours. Toiletries provided were plentiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

First B&B

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Good downtown location.
Check-in was easy as they left a key for us in an envelope. Issue I would have with this is that anyone could pickup the key and exterior door code. Room was good. Breakfast was a set time from 8:00 to 9:00, and was an adequate plate with a variety of items.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing -- it was perfect
We booked Gower House, but got a free upgrade to its sister B&B, Cabot House, which was probably a 3-minute drive away. We LOVED every second of our stay at Cabot House. From the moment we called to ask for an early check in, we were greeted with much hospitality. Our luggage got delayed, and the were kind enough to coordinate the luggage from Gower House to Cabot House. The location was amazing -- it was literally downtown, but in a very quiet area. Our room was very beautiful -- it was sleek and modern, with a large window with a beautiful view of the mountains. We also had such a big breakfast, included in our room rate, which filled us enough for a hike at Gros Morne!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Parking is a challenge sometimes and it is very important as their is no alternative places.
Location: Location is central and within walking distance are there historical places as well as many restaurants and pubs.
We loved Newfoundland as the people are wonderful and the weather was great with lots of things to do.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna , BC

Superb Service

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Its location, its friendly atmosphere, and the generous nature of the innkeeper.
The innkeeper went out of his way to make our experience most enjoyable. He was kind, personable and generous. He suggested that we could help ourselves to items in the refrigerator at other times besides the morning breakfast. He was efficient and prompt with the breakfast meal. He welcomed us at 11 pm when we first arrived from the airport totally drenched from the heavy rain and storm. We stayed at this same B&B for 6 nights, our whole time in Newfoundland. We would highly recommend this place to anyone because of the experience we had for that whole week. It is not a plush modern place,but it was just right for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Quaint and practical.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location, the helper, neighborhood.
Cons: More parking, or inform visitors ahead of time about the parking and self-admittance.
Location: Downtown, can walk to the Rooms, cathedrals and even Signal Hill - a bit of an uphill climb, literally, so maybe catch a cab up and walk down.
Wonderful, perfect location. You feel at home, and the staff is extraordinary. Breakfast is about the best I have ever had.This is better if you do not have a car, since it is close to some many sites. If you do have a car, park in back, not on street. Admittance is pretty much self-done, just walk in and grab an envelope with a key in it.
5 out of 5
by Ekaterina from Toronto

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proximity to restaurants and entertainment

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: It was comfortable. Breakfasts were first class. Location was perfect, with parking on site.
Cons: Bathroom is very small.
Location: Best Fish and Chips at the Duke of Duckworth nearby.
We were able to walk down to Water Street, do a bit of shopping and find a new entertainment spot every night.