Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgetown

Hotel is run down

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Hotel needs to be upgraded looks run down and old. Bed and pillows hard and water was not warm
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No electricity

Posted Sep 8, 2017
There was no electricity, generator, wifi, telephone during the hurricane but sandals managed to put on the electricity for their guest. No entertainment. The good was cold. I want a refund for the 2 days of the hurricane.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexandria , va

Everything that you would expect.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This resort provided any unique and outstanding perspective to hospitalities and island life . Extremely satisfied with the staff for their ability to make everyone feel at home . Provided with all inclusive round-trip transportation to and from the airport and clean facilities the halcyon exceeded all expectations . Like to give a special thanks to dolston for making the experience 10 times better . If there is any question that you have about the island he will be the expert . Recommendations upon arriving on the island would be to have cash readily available in both US and eastern Caribbean . I have a general idea of what the currency exchange rate is Utilize locals to their advantage to find unique areas to either have dinner at four visit on your shorts stay. Visit unique area such as St. John's , stingray city , and English harbor if you have the time .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tobago

Pleasant staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The site of the hotel.The atmosphere of the hotel. It met my expectations as was posted online as I knew nothing of the hotel except what was posted .
Cons: Can't think of anything right now.
Location: The location was excellent.
The 7 day stay was excellent.The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Food was good. Felt very safe at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

Needs an overhaul

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Resort is in dire need of an overhaul. Rooms are in rough shape missing door locks, pieced together repairs, and all together old and tired. Food is hit or miss. Drink cups are child sized so bring your own big cup. Wifi is unreliable. On the positive beach is beautiful just have to deal with occasional begger needing food or money. Beds are comfortable. Won't be staying here again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Outdated hotel in need of upgrades

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff, service, food, drinks, chef,all 5 star. Ocean front walk out room 207 and 210 . 2 star. needs gutting and remodel. A/c doesnt work as rooms are too large and screens allow for temps to escape rapidly. Also very noisy as a result of no glass or solid wall. Bathroom stays hot. Living room furniture is dated and uninviting. Doors to rooms stick and are hard to open/close.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of money ... never again

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Our stay at Halcyon was disappointing in many ways unfortunately. Positives: the dinner on the deck in the evenings were very good and so was the lunch. The ac in the rooms worked well and the hot water felt great. The manager in the evening at the Aramark terrace went out of his way to show service and kindness and also most of the waiter and waitresses were helpful. Negatives: Dinner (actual food) at the Aramark terrace was poor. The room condition was poor specifically: the sheets were stained upon arrival I had to call to get it changed once we got to our room. The tub was rusted and clogged. There were no wash cloths we had to call and request them. Water stains on the walls of the room furniture needed serious updating. The fire extinguisher on our floor was more than 5 years past its last checked date and was rusting. The pool was cloudy and had what seemed like mold or mildew stains. Lastly, the receptionist at the front desk I forgot her name but she's from Bolans was exceptionally rude. No help whatsoever. Many of the front desk staff seemed very unhappy and it showed from the first minute we arrived to check in, almost like they were more annoyed to see guests rather than happy. We have visited Antigua before but this was the first and will be the last time we stay at Halcyon. I think I could let many things pass regarding renovations but customer service being poor is what took this resort off our list. Spend the extra $$ and go somewhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens N.Y.

Good place and friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: I liked everything at Halcyon Cove
Cons: The management is constantly improving the resort in area's that need some upgrading.
Location: Good location Dickerson Bay close to St. John the town where the ships come in.
Halcyon Cove is a great place to stay. The room was clean and the A/C was very nice. The beach is beautiful and next to Sandals but for a lot less. The staff was very nice and the other vacationers were very friendly. The nightly entertainment was excellent. The food was delicious. I will definitely will go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Amazing location, but terrible conditions

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location, an amazing view from the top of the hill when arriving to the hotel and the beach
Cons: Maintenance, water treartment
Location: Not too much to do close by
This is what all wish in a hotel. Great location, close to a pristine beach with white sand. Very nice restaurant, literally inside the beach. But the hotel lacks proper condition. The water from the tap comes brown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels