Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very run down hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The location of Halcyon resorts was great, with a private beach and very near to St John's centre. Unfortunately it was in desperate need of maintenance and updates, and everything kept breaking. Upon arrival I had no bath plug, and the phone was broken. It took a good while to get the maintenance man to come, and I had to walk back to reception to remind them twice. The following day my safe broke, and the repair man couldn't fix it, so told me that they would come after 3pm. They never came and I was leaving the next day anyway so didn't follow up. The TV also had bad reception and the remote didn't work properly. The food was ok, but being a vegetarian I found the veggie options a bit stodgy. Bottled water was considered a 'premium drink' and not included in the all inclusive, which I find baffling. At the end of the day, this was a lower priced deal At around £90 a day, so you get what you pay for I guess!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Amazing location, on the beach.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Great location and love the concept. The place has everything to make the best vacation ever. The beach is amazing, great ambiance. Love the outdoor eating, although the food was ok. The room need some upgrading. Everything else was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Never again

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: beach was nice
Cons: everything... start over
Location: Location is good for meetings downtown!
The toilet was not bolted to the floor.... AC could barley keep up. No facial tissue... at check in, you need to email or have a copy of the expedia with confirmation... this out fit operates in the 80's!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta, canada

Nice place

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Great! I went for work to Antigua and here was a good price and fantastic hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Close to the beach but very dated

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Beach and the staff.
Cons: Bathrooms, and the fact that you can only get a drink from the beach bar at night, the bar near to reception should be open at night.
Location: Great location, and as the Island is small so it makes it easy to travel to any of its attractions.
The hotel has some very good staff but let down by the very dated rooms especially the bathrooms. On arrival, we went to our allocated room with a bathroom that looked like it needed updating a number of years ago, and a chipped bath with a rusty shower head that did not work properly, or would not fully turn off when filling the bath. On returning to reception and advising them we were told that our room had already been upgraded but was given an alternative room to look at. The bathroom was worse than the first so at reception again we asked if they had better rooms if we were to pay to upgrade our room. We were given keys to a larger room, but on opening the door the smell of damp hit you, so we ended up in the first room offered. At meal times the staff was great, and the food is mainly good, while the bar staff are very helpful. The hotel was very quite so no problem around the pool or on the beach, except one day at the weekend when the hotel excepts day trippers and what seemed like a coach load of locals descended on the resort for the day. We loved the Island, the beaches, and the people, however, we would not return to the resort without knowledge it had undergone a major re fit, so we will return to our favourite hotel in Barbados for now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is right on the beach, you are near all the facilities.No need to walk too far for a drink and water ,tea and coffee also available all day.
Cons: More beach umbrellas and more new sunbeds as both were getting ld and in need of repair and replacement
Location: Instead of taking a tour .Go by bus No.50 to bus station and 17 to English Harbour. So time for lunch there and shopping in St John on wayback
Hotel is set on a lovely sandy beach with gardens a swimming pool and beach bar. Rooms are spacious and clean.Some rooms have been painted since our last visit last year and some attempts to tidy bathrooms have been made but these still need to be completely renovated. But you have all the facilities you need. Friendly staff, quiet area, good food,nice beach... all you want for a relaxing holiday
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgetown

Hotel is run down

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Hotel needs to be upgraded looks run down and old. Bed and pillows hard and water was not warm
2 out of 5
by Monica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

No electricity

Posted Sep 8, 2017
There was no electricity, generator, wifi, telephone during the hurricane but sandals managed to put on the electricity for their guest. No entertainment. The good was cold. I want a refund for the 2 days of the hurricane.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexandria , va

Everything that you would expect.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This resort provided any unique and outstanding perspective to hospitalities and island life . Extremely satisfied with the staff for their ability to make everyone feel at home . Provided with all inclusive round-trip transportation to and from the airport and clean facilities the halcyon exceeded all expectations . Like to give a special thanks to dolston for making the experience 10 times better . If there is any question that you have about the island he will be the expert . Recommendations upon arriving on the island would be to have cash readily available in both US and eastern Caribbean . I have a general idea of what the currency exchange rate is Utilize locals to their advantage to find unique areas to either have dinner at four visit on your shorts stay. Visit unique area such as St. John's , stingray city , and English harbor if you have the time .