Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Outdated hotel in need of upgrades

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff, service, food, drinks, chef,all 5 star. Ocean front walk out room 207 and 210 . 2 star. needs gutting and remodel. A/c doesnt work as rooms are too large and screens allow for temps to escape rapidly. Also very noisy as a result of no glass or solid wall. Bathroom stays hot. Living room furniture is dated and uninviting. Doors to rooms stick and are hard to open/close.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of money ... never again

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Our stay at Halcyon was disappointing in many ways unfortunately. Positives: the dinner on the deck in the evenings were very good and so was the lunch. The ac in the rooms worked well and the hot water felt great. The manager in the evening at the Aramark terrace went out of his way to show service and kindness and also most of the waiter and waitresses were helpful. Negatives: Dinner (actual food) at the Aramark terrace was poor. The room condition was poor specifically: the sheets were stained upon arrival I had to call to get it changed once we got to our room. The tub was rusted and clogged. There were no wash cloths we had to call and request them. Water stains on the walls of the room furniture needed serious updating. The fire extinguisher on our floor was more than 5 years past its last checked date and was rusting. The pool was cloudy and had what seemed like mold or mildew stains. Lastly, the receptionist at the front desk I forgot her name but she's from Bolans was exceptionally rude. No help whatsoever. Many of the front desk staff seemed very unhappy and it showed from the first minute we arrived to check in, almost like they were more annoyed to see guests rather than happy. We have visited Antigua before but this was the first and will be the last time we stay at Halcyon. I think I could let many things pass regarding renovations but customer service being poor is what took this resort off our list. Spend the extra $$ and go somewhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens N.Y.

Good place and friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: I liked everything at Halcyon Cove
Cons: The management is constantly improving the resort in area's that need some upgrading.
Location: Good location Dickerson Bay close to St. John the town where the ships come in.
Halcyon Cove is a great place to stay. The room was clean and the A/C was very nice. The beach is beautiful and next to Sandals but for a lot less. The staff was very nice and the other vacationers were very friendly. The nightly entertainment was excellent. The food was delicious. I will definitely will go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Amazing location, but terrible conditions

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location, an amazing view from the top of the hill when arriving to the hotel and the beach
Cons: Maintenance, water treartment
Location: Not too much to do close by
This is what all wish in a hotel. Great location, close to a pristine beach with white sand. Very nice restaurant, literally inside the beach. But the hotel lacks proper condition. The water from the tap comes brown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Lovely beach, run down rooms

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: Open warri pier more often.
Beach is gorgeous. Staff is awesome. AC is great. Flat screen TVs are nice. Rooms need renovation. Water smelled bad. Ground floor rooms are great for families. Was nice to be able to hop in the pool and head right back to the room for a nap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Would not return

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Not too busy & close to a beautiful beach
Cons: Clean up the seaweed & rake the beach daily Move the condenser or direct the airflow off the balcony Have a better food variety & more open food time
Location: Shopping is about 10 minutes away
Our check-in was uneventful really. We were handed a nice refreshing drink after a long day of travel and then had to fill out paperwork which was not so refreshing. We were handed a room key and an envelope for activities that started after our stay (?). We were not told of the days activities or where to even get something to eat. The room was very outdated but clean considering. The ocean view was nice, however, we had to "share" it with the condensor (for the air conditioner) noise and hot air blowing out of it. Nothing like sitting on a balcony in the Caribbean and having hot air blowing on you. Our other & biggest issue was with the food. When you pay for an all-inclusive, there should not be assigned eating times. Food should be available at ALL times. AND it was the same food everyday for lunch! The same vegetable medley for almost all meals! The vendors that walk the beach are a bit pushy. It got old by the end of the trip. And the beach chairs provided were horrible. The netting was ripped on most and half the chairs were broken somewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Run down holiday camp

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Thankfully we were only here for one night. It was scruffy and run down and needed a good clean. The beach was unusable due to a huge amount of seaweed and jcbs removing it. There was loud music blaring at the pool so we didn't want to sit there. Hoards of people on day passes also filling the pool up. The food was buffet style and like school dinners with virtually no vegetarian choice. Birds flying everywhere so you couldn't take your eye off your plate. Very loud band at night though thankfully it stopped at 10. The whole place felt like a holiday camp and would definitely not recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Good food and location dated facilities

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I felt really mixed about this hotel and my stay. The staff was nice and the food was great. The beach was decent. But my room was run down and needed TLC. The beach towel service was inconvenient. The wifi was spotty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON CAN

Bed bugs! Don't stay here

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Please read there are bed bugs at this resort. I travelled to Antigua and stayed at Halcyon Cove. I was there with my husband and two children infant and toddler. Everything was going well we booked a three star and it was what we expected. However one night while we we're in the lobby my husband thought he was smacking a mosquito on his skin, when he reached down to look it was a bed bug. We didn't find them in our room but he woke up to fresh bites in the morning. Another downside is that the water coming out of the faucet in our bathroom was brown and the mosquitoes are in abundance. I really think your operators shouldn't feature this hotel until the bed bug problem is taken care of.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I've ever stayed

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel conditions are terrible. The staff can't hold back there disdaine for Americans. They say it is all inclusive but water is not even included and you have to pay extra. The restaurants and bars close at 10 PM. The rooms have not been uptaed since the hotel was built back in the 60's. The rooms do not have a hair dryer, tissues or standard power outlets.