Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Beautiful relaxing quiet amazing 5 ***** the food was delicious the staff was great I had room 116 beach front room i plan on returning soon❤️❤️❤️❤️
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Great beach, old facilities

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location, wonderful beaches, stunning view
Cons: The hotel needs a major update. The structure is quite old and in need of refurbishment.
Location: St. John is at about 20 minutes by car. I suggest renting a car to explore the other wonderful beaches and spots all around the island.
The hotel location is great: it is one of the most beautiful beaches I have seen in the island and the rooms are just in front of the beach. It is perfect if you want to simply relax. If you want to go out, there is nothing nearby, so it is better if you rent a car to go to the capital or to visit other parts of the island. The rooms and the hotel structure are in need of a refurbishment. They should have been great 20 years ago but now the materials used and furniture just look old. The food is ok, nothing special. You only have wi-fi connection in the lobby area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your vacation review with us. Hawksbill indeed has one of the best locations on island. The tranquil atmosphere featuring four beaches is ideal for total relaxation and rejuvenation. Your recommendation for a refurb. is acknowledged and plans are ahead for this process. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope you will revisit Hawksbill in the near future. Kind regards, John St. Luce General Manager Hawksbill by rex resorts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Antigua 2017

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The staff is great!
Cons: There is definitely some upkeep/remodeling that could take place.
The views and beaches are amazing. The staff are helpful, friendly and professional. This laid back, relaxing atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for to celebrate our anniversary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your vacation review with us and we are pleased that you found our four beaches amazing and service team great. Actually two of Hawksbill's greatest qualities which are noticed by all of our guests. In regards to your mentioned 'cons' , plans for a facility refurb. in the near future. Thank you once again for feedback and also spending your anniversary with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, John St. Luce General Manager Hawksbill by rex resorts
4 out of 5
by Holly

Beautiful location, but needs renovation

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful location on several beaches. The hotel itself is in need of major updates and renovation. There is no wifi, t.v., or phone in the rooms and wifi is not very strong in the lobby. The mosquitos are terrible and there doesn't seem to be any effort by the hotel to keep them away (ie no citrinella candles, bug spray, bug zappers, screens, etc). The hotel isn't near anything, and there is only a shuttle 2 times a week. Some rooms are updated with A/C and renovated bathrooms, but desperately need new windows, lights and furniture. The food was ok, but was more or less the same each day, not a lot of variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you for taking time and sharing your vacation experience with us. We are pleased that you found our location beautiful with the four beaches. Hawksbill offers a TV free concept, however we have a TV room/library by the pool area. WIFI is available in the main lobby, bar and dining room area. WIFI accessibility to all rooms to come. Mosquito fogging is done internally everyday but its more of a mosquito deterrent for it does not kill them. A variety of repellents are available in the boutique for sale and at the reception desk. Your other mentioned concerns are noted. Hawksbill's overall services, food and facility is very much comparable to any other 3 star rated Resort island wide. Thank you once again for the feedback and we do hope yo9u will reconsider a return visit in the near future. Kind regards, John St. Luce General Manager Hawksbill by rex resorts
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place is beautiful I enjoyed the quiet

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Scenery
Cons: Mosquito control
We were working and did not take full advantage of all the hotel has to offer as our times did not coincide with included meals and open bar. My room was fine even without ac the sound from waves made quite peaceful the other guys rooms had mosquito problems and they moved to ac room after first night
2 out of 5
by DAvid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second honeymoon!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The staff, the setting, the architecture, the history, the food.
Cons: We loved it.
Location: Beautiful setting on Hawkbill bay. Took taxi to Nelson's Dockyard for day trip. Very interesting and fun.
We loved our stay at Hawksbill. I felt as if I were in a James Bond movie. It is a very beautiful location. The beach is just steps from the cottage. The sea is enchanting. The grounds were lovely. Everywhere one looks there is beauty. The staff was excellent and the food was good and good for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's all about the beaches

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The hotel represents faded ellagance but the beaches are beautiful. Very easy to relax and enjoy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of the old, run down, dumpy rooms

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Booked rooms and called the hotel to confirm. Was told they had no availability by the front desk. Called Hotels.com to sort it out, and they suddenly "found" some rooms for us. Upon check in, they gave us three really shoddy, run down, no A/C rooms with window slats that you can't close(no privacy). Ironically named, "superior sea view rooms." I refused the rooms, and the front desk security was kind enough to "upgrade" us to the renovated units. Upon checkout, the hotel made sure to charge us for the upgraded rooms.