Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel,comfortable beds.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The free breakfast was excellent.
Location: Hotel is fairly close to downtown, but requires driving to everything.
Hotel was fairly easy to find. The 'free' parking was not adequate for all residents in front of the hotel units, overflow parking is on side streets around the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. John's Newfoundland

Nice hotel, breakfast not so satisfactory

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Comfortable beds. Helpful staff.
Cons: More room for people to sit and have breakfast.
Location: A good 20 minute walk to all the action
The rooms were great except for having to drag heavy luggage up 2 flights of stairs to get to them. Breakfast was an issue since everything was in a small kitchen for all guests and limited seating meant people had to stand to eat breakfast. They ran out of supplies as well, ie no creamer for coffee, condiments . Also the advertise free parking but there isn't enough for all guests at the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

St. johns

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Location: Walking distance to downtown
Would be a great place if you were going with several friends. If you need three rooms, they open the kitchen and you get to use the whole villa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lomdom, On

On the hill

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Location: Plenty to do within walking distance...a km or 2 from downtown where all the action is..
The only thing that needs improving is parking...very little for the number of units...need to be lucky on the street parking.. There is street parking every where in St. John's Breakfast was nice...and had variety and coffee needs a little help could be better..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Walking distance from downtown

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Room and bathroom were clean. No charge for street parking. Short drive to Sentinel Hill. Staff were pleasant and accommodating.
Cons: Breakfast is modest (toast, cold boiled eggs, single-serving yogurt containers, juice, orange slices)
This bed and breakfast has converted several row-apartments so each contains 3 rooms, each with an adjoining bathroom. One apartment unit contains the office and area for breakfast. This modern complex is walking distance from the jellybean houses, the harbour, St. George's Street and many blocks of shops and restaurants. Rooms are small, views very limited, especially from basement rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

A home away from home

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The size of our suite and the location
Cons: Parking at times was hard.
Location: at the base of Signal Hill. Lots to do as it is right in downtown St. John's.
This hotel is very unique. It is a group of town homes renovated into suites and rooms. We had a very nice suite on the first floor. I asked for it as I have mobility issues. Our suite had a huge living room and bedroom with a very comfortable bed. all the staff were most helpful. The continental breakfast was very good. It was enough to start the day. One of the best things about this hotel is location. It is right at the base of Signal Hill.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: It was clean, staff friendly
Location: Close to downtown St John's Walking distance
We stayed for two nights in St. John's. Great place, very clean and I particularly enjoyed a healthy continental breakfast. Lots to eat and the food was fresh. Simple but a nice alternative to the usual fare in a restaurant. Definitely would go back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown.
Cons: See above.
The one good point - it is located within walking distance of Signal Hill and downtown. The disappointments - 1) parking is horrible - there are less than half the spaces for the number of guest suites. If you are not lucky enough to get an onsite space you need to find one one Signal Hill Road, which is very narrow and busy. 2) The breakfast area is tight and you need to walk to the first unit to have breakfast, which is jot ideal during inclement weather conditions. 3) The basement suites are tight, not very well laid out, and have a tiny window in the back so very little natural light comes into the room. 4) Each unit, which consists of 2 suites (basement and 3rd floor) share a common area that includes a kitchen, living and dining rooms. The kitchen was locked after our third day and the reason provided was that it was locked due to food allergies. I don't recall being asked whether there were any food allergies when I booked or checked in. Furthermore, food allergies did not seem to be a consideration in the common breakfast area. 5) The cable did not work properly (no volume periodically). The front desk staff advised me to unplug the cable box and then plug it back in to correct the problem since there was nothing else that could be done. While this worked, it seemed like more should have been done.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel, walking distance to attractions.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness and breakfast.
Cons: The mattress needed to be replaced. Parking.
Location: Great location! Walking distance to signal hill, downtown St. John's shopping, St. John's Harbour, pubs and restaurants.
Great location and the food selection available for breakfast that' s included, is a nice plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Great hotel, within walking distance of downtown, Signal Hill and Quidi Vidi Village.