Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Beautiful area of the city walking distance

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The price, the location, it felt like coming home instead of going back to a motel, the wonderful breakfasts each morning and the view. Everything!
Cons: 2 face cloths for each guest instead of one.
Location: Beautiful safe area, great for walking, hiking, running, amazing restaurants,, site seeing, the Geo. Centre and Signal Hill, The Battery, The Rooms...
Beautiful area, took in walking, hiking, running. Lots of restaurants, shopping, site seeing. Geo Centre, a must see right around the corner, Signal Hill, the Battery for walking and site seeing. The Rooms...an absolutely wonderful experience so close by, shopping, wonderful restaurants......a must place to stay. A must try... cod tongues..yum...three times. I'm hooked!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Revelstoke, B.C.

Close to Signal Hill and Downtown

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The location was excellent in terms of access to Signal Hill and downtown. If you enjoy walking, you can get to both of these places easily.
Cons: Parking could be an issue as there is limited parking on site. Street parking is available and is close by. We had no problems finding a spot.
Location: Signal Hill Historical site, Terry Fox Memorial, George Street, downtown are all within easy walking distance.
We had two separate stays at Hometel within a week. Both were enjoyable. We checked in late in the evening of our first stay and the front desk clerk was very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. The property consists of converted townhouses so it feels a little like you actually live in the neighbourhood. The breakfasts were wonderful and were more than enough to set you up for a day of walking around town and/or spending a lot of time exploring the Signal Hill Historical site and surrounding area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Johns NFL

great in every way

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We arrived at midnight a day late as a result of Hurricane Matthew. It was great to have our room waiting for us! The room was beautiful, staff was great. Lovely breakfast in a well run dining area. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Loved it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corner Brook, NL

love the place

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: clean, friendly staff, modern with old world charm.
Cons: Parking can be a problem
Location: Downtown, waterfront, historical sites. night entertainment, shopping.
This is my forever say in St. John's. Close to all sorts of things, restaurants, shopping, nightly entertainment, historical sites. only one problem and that is parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal-Quebec-Canada

Excellent location.You don't need a car.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Signal Hill, downtown
Excellent location, easy and very short walking distance to Signal Hill and downtown St. John's...JUST A FEW MINUTES.WALKING..in fact as far as we are concerned you don't need a car...We didn't have one, took a cab from the airport $20.00 to the hotel... City Bus Stop just a block away, $2.25 adult fare..buses take you every where even to major shopping centers etc. The hotel rooms are beautiful, well appointed and the beds are so comfy..You will get a good night sleep..As far as stairs like some have complained about, get a life, its like any two story house, if walking up on flight of stairs isn't your thing, then obviously you don't live in two story dwelling, so for those that complain, take their complaining with a grain of salt, there is no, absolutely no problems with the stairs which are the same found as mentioned in any detached single two story private home and you do feel like you are in a private home when in this condominium type accommodation..Air conditioning works well,, rooms have a mini fridge and there are blackout drapes for day time sleeping if you so wish..Its quiet..The bathrooms are very large with large tube and shower. The breakfast was good and we never had any line up cue problems at all, always had a table to sit and eat, but that was maybe because we are late raisers and got there always just before it closed with still plenty of choices and food left. ...We traveled as a couple.. FINAL WORD *****RECOMMENDED******
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

upscale B&B

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: right on Signal Hill ..great hike up...
the feel of being home away from home...it not the institution of a hotel. it a room in a house but the upscale value of a hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Pleasant surprise.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The pricing attracted us, after a personal recommendation.
Cons: Location was convenient, price, and the contentinal breakfast was more than what we needed.
Location: Easy 15 minute walk to George Street and the downtown area. Lots of restaurants on Duckworth, just minutes away.
Once you find it, the result is worth it. Nice, yet simple accommodations within walking distance to the downtown. Right at the foot of Signal Hill, so the walk up is possible without using the car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Nice unique small hotel. Very convenience to all places. Notes : if you have leg problem, please call them after your booking for ground floor room. Because there isn't and elevator.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Comfortable quiet hotel close to downtown core

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect, far enough away from the core of downtown to be quiet and close enough to walk. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed.
Cons: Can't think of anything other than a somewhat bigger sign to alert guests that they are in the right location and indicating the registration area.
Location: Just a few steps away from the walking trails to the top of Signal Hill and the Battery and an excellent neighbourhood restaurant, Gracie Joes.
The Hometel offers a quiet, comfortable stay within easy walking distance of downtown St. John's. The rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the continental breakfast was fresh and abundant. Each four rooms shared a lounge, dining and kitchen area for relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had booked two nights and were able to add an additional night when we arrived a day early. The price was very reasonable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Close to Signal Hill and downtown St. John's, you can walk to everything
Great bed after spending the last week out in the wilderness of Newfoundland