Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, lovely view of the harbour

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Cons: A free continental breakfast would be nice
Good location for walking around St Johns Nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. Unfortunately we cannot offer a complimentary breakfast to guests as the restaurant located in the lobby is separately owned and operated. We are happy that you enjoyed the restaurant however, and I will forward to comment to restaurant management. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel, close to downtown.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Very pleasant experience, nice staff and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Kriss, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and our hotel's location convenient. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient location, nice view of the harbour

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Convenient location, nice view of the harbour. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear GJ, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you liked our hotel's location, that you enjoyed the view from the hotel, and that you found our staff amiable and competent. We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you upon your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.S.

Wonderful view of the harbour

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Clean, modern, comfortable , excellent dining room overlooking the harbour. Free parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate any and all feedback however positive feedback is especially well received. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allamuchy NJ

perfect, right at the end of Water St

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: proximity to the Harbor area of St John's as well as Signal Hill
Cons: Parking garage. Either drive to St John's or rent a skinny car. Underground parking spaces are narrow. But at least there's parking
Location: As I said, Water Street & harbor area, self guided walking tours (via visitor center), signal hill area & less than 1/2 hr drive to Spears Point
Only used it for sleeping and some TV but it was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel's convenient downtown location. Our parking spots are a little more narrow than conventional parking spaces, however there are those that manage to park 1/2 ton trucks in the garage. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location waking distance to downtown

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Our room had that old smell of cigarette smoke. Not pleasant as a non-smoker
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. All of our rooms are indeed non-smoking and we treat any infractions of this policy very seriously. We always encourage guests to bring up any issues or sources of discomfort to a member of the staff immediately so that it can be investigated. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Room was not what was pictured on Expedia. Old, outdated. Smelly. The bathroom still had a counter top with a bottle opener on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experiences at our hotel. Guest feedback is important to us so that we can continue to improve and offer an exceptional guest experience. You'll be please to know that we are expecting renovations in the near future, and that some of our rooms are already renovated. We always encourage guests to bring any issues to a member of the staff immediately so that a solution can be found, as guest comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority. I entreat you to try out one of our renovated rooms on your next visit to St. John's Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Happy valley

Great location !

Posted Sep 9, 2016
I enjoy our stay being in a great location and beautiful view!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We always welcome and appreciate guest feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient and the view of the harbour beautiful. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax

Quiet, clean and friendly!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Enjoyed this hotel, it was very clean and quiet. It was right downtown and close to everything! Staff was very nice and organized. My only complaint would be the restaurant in the hotel Rumpelstiltskin's, not friendly at all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and organized. I'm sorry that you did not have a similar experience with the restaurant staff, however. I will forward your review to Rumpelstiltskin's management. The restaurant is separately owned and operated from the hotel but we do work closely together on many things. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax

nice hotel, great view of the harbour

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: the view and location - I always stay here when I am in St. John's
Cons: it's a little tired
Location: I was on business, but there's lots to do in St. John's
I like the location and restaurant has a great view too. Good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Kaitlyn MacCaull, Tour Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, guest feedback is appreciated and welcome. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in St. John's and that you found our hotel's location convenient. We are expecting renovations in the near future but if you happen to visit again before they are completed I would recommend reserving a room in our recently renovated section. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!