Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy and cozy

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown and view of the harbour. GREAT restaurant on site.
Cons: When checking in a deposit hold was put on my credit card and I was not informed. Panicked for a minute until I checked back with staff after finding.
Location: So much to see and do.
Comfy bed, very clean with the exception of a few seams where the wallpaper is loose. No big deal. Staff were very helpful and restaurant on main level was exceptional. Would stay again if the need arose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba

Weekend Getaway

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I booked this hotel based on location and cost for a weekend getaway. I loved everything about the room, no complaints! The facilities were decent but limited. The in house food from Rumples was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Controller, Hotel Management
Dear Paige, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Alison MacKenzie Controller 709 754-7788
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Close to the Harbour

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Like the indoor parking and the Restraunt.Good view from the Harbour facing windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to dowtown

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Update decor.
Location: Downtown and close to waterfront, restaurants and entertainment
We most always choose to stay at this location when visiting St. John's. When only live 1 hour away but find it very convenient t to spend the night when in the city. It is close to the waterfront, downtown shopping and George' Street. Staff are very friendly and rooms are very comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Hi Karen, Thank you for your comments on Expedia. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Alison MacKenzie Controller 709 754-7788
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syodney

WE picked this hotel due to its walkability

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The dining room staff were ok we ate 5 meals there and two of the staff we very pleasant, but the bus boy was quite rude, both morning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Older hotel but the rooms facing the water had nice views. Walking to shopping isn't too far. The staff is friendly and helpful. Do NOT eat at the restaurant connected to the hotel. The food was terrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Close to downtown and the harbour

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Cons: A thermostat for the heating/air conditioning
Location: Close to downtown, Signal Hill, National War Memorial. Easy drive to Cape Spears (most easterly point in North America) and other attractions.
This hotel is close to downtown activities and the harbour. The restaurant has a good selection of choices including a few local specials like Cod's tongue. The rooms are comfortable and large though the heating/air conditioning was a bit of trial and error for adjustments. The do have a few meeting rooms which are well appointed with all the required facilities. The lobby area is very nice with a view of the harbour and also had an easily accessible computer for printing airline boarding passes and other business applications. Staff were very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
room was by the lift and noise during the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Great location and facility.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Little dated.
Location: You can walk to many restaurants and George Street, or take a hike up Signal Hill from this location.
Great hotel and facility. The carpets and room decorating are a little dated. Room service was very good offering to supply any extras we might need. Good vehicle access and parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: People
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good downtown location
Clean room Good hotel overall Good bar/ restaurant