Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We have been staying at another hotel in the downtown core for quite a few years, but when their price increased by 50.00$ for the same room, we decided to try the Franklin. Wonderful surprise! The location is perfect - within walking distance to absolutely everything. Great welcome from the staff - there is no "front desk", but you're welcomed at The Bistro restaurant which is part of the same building. There is no elevator, but there are only two floors, so not a problem for us. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room was more than we expected - spacious, very comfortable bed, and very large bathroom with an over-sized shower. All-in-all, very satisfied and we will be back when next we visit St. John's.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right downtown. Very convenient

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The hotel is located in the heart of the downtown core. Very convenient to great locations for meals and entertainment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

perfect for privacy,comfort and a comfortable stay

Posted Sep 8, 2016
At first glance, stained carpet, no glasses, coffee and no top sheets had us a little discouraged. Our room was dark as we faced an above ground parking lot ( this is fine if you like dark to sleep in; but I am a morning person). Once we slept in the beds and found them comfortable and noticed that someone was coming in daily to make our beds and change towels, we felt far more comfortable. The owner was available when needed ( I blew a fuse blow drying my hair while ironing in the other room). They were kind and accomodating and the price was right. We would stay again and keep our expectations based on 3.5/5 *
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The Franklin is a great boutique hotel. Small but comfortable, quiet and generously sized rooms, free wifi. Just a terrific location for exploring St. John's - central to George Street pubs and the many attractions on Water St. The Bistro restaurant at street level is very good. Note there is no hotel staff on hand once the restaurant closes and until 9am.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room air conditioning wasn't great

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Hard to find parking, the room was clean, your in the heart of St. John's which was good for shopping and restaurants. I would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air B&B type of service....on your own!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Don't call this a Hotel please...3rd time we stayed at that Hotel. Getting worst and worst. Out of toilet paper, you must call a phone number. Got in the room, not clean, glass of wine stains on tables and desk. No overnight security or front desk personal. Bathroom was never cleaned up in a 4 nights stay. Bed sheets were changed once but replacement one was more dirty. I won't go back. Location is great however. Go but have your expectations low please.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manalapan, NJ

Great find in downtown St. John's

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Better front desk coverage
Location: Center downtown. All tours and sites very close by including George Street.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms but ask for second floor if you cannot or do not wish to climb stairs. No front desk staff at night or early morning, so plan checking in and out in advance. Highly recommended!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel located in city centre

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Franklin hotel had a great location but amenities very basic. Staff were sparse, had to continually request for extra towels. Had a double queen room, like beds separate but no tv or air conditioning for second bed. Would recommend because of location and not much else to choose from
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kitchener, ontario

Great location to downtown fun in st. Johns

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: very quiet
Location: So close to amazing restaurants, George street and boutique shops.
You need to be in good shape, no elevator. But you need to be in good shape to visit St. John's...there are stairs everywhere. For hilly city!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated front, but amazing inside

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The front of the building looks dated but the rooms are nicely done. Great staff, close to everything.