Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Transition from Holiday Inn to Radisson underway

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: The chef in the dining room was extremely helpful --- good food, accommodating to my tastes and needs.
Cons: The room needed to be fixed. Troubles with the curtain, cable for cable TV, sofa. Most significantly, the HVAC system broke with a boom one night.
Location: Downtown St. Joseph seems largely a wasteland --- the most prosperous downtown enterprise that I saw was the Salvation Army shelter.
This property recently changed hands from Holiday Inn to Radisson. Transition is underway, but this is a work in progress. The staff was wonderful --- they tried hard to make me comfortable and to accommodate my needs. The hotel facilities, however, are spotty. The common areas were fine. The room was not. The conduit for cable TV was hanging off the wall. The sofa sagged in the middle and had no middle support. The curtain over the HVAC system did not close fully. Most significantly, at 11:30 one evening, a significant boom came out of the HVAC system, and I had no heat for the rest of the night. I recommend that visitors wait 6 months to let the hotel to upgrade itself to Radisson standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2016 by Online Customer Support, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and are happy to hear of your pleasant exchanges with our staff. We do apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regards to the overall condition of your room. Your feedback is valuable and will help us facilitate all necessary hotel improvements to ensure a positive guest experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

I may never stay at a Radisson again

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Clean, paint, get some new mattresses, curtains, wifi spots, furniture, sheets, etc.
Location: It is downtown, and while there are some restaurants nearby, most of the stores and places to eat are on the other side of town.
Someone needs to spend some money on this hotel. The wifi name still says Holiday Inn and is slow. The curtains were dirty (there were stains and something still visibly stuck on the curtains). . The carpet was dirty and wasn't vacuumed while I was there. The sheets on the bed had a tags that had been ripped of. The furniture was rickety and close to falling down. The ice machine on my floor didn't work. The toilet ran like the handle needed to be jiggled. The girl at the front desk was nice enough, but she had something spilled down the front of her shirt too. The workout room had a universal gym. The parking lot is across a street. The elevator doors were dirty and the paint was chipped off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Online Customer Care Specialist, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We apologize that your stay was not as you would have expected. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. It is unfortunate that we fell short in achieving this goal in regards to your experience. We are currently taking the steps necessary to improve the quality of our facility, improve the attentiveness of our staff, and the condition of hotel in its entirety.  
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Az

It was ok for the price

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: The lobby was clean and large. Price was fair.
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms, and linens could really use some improvement.
Location: The location did not offer anything close to eat or bars within walking distance.
The rooms were not kept up and some wear and tear. The shower was clogged during our entire stay. The staff was friendly though. The hotel staff took about 26 hours to retrieve any room service plates, and after 3 room service orders the food was less then appetizing and over priced for the quality (mostly cold over seasoned food). The whirlpool was a greenish color and we refused to use it although other guests did so it may have just been our personal preference not use.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Not what we expected

Posted Mar 1, 2016
First room smelled Had to change rooms Restaurant was closed on Sunday morning So no breakfast but breakfast was not included with the room Couldn't check out Computers were down Don't stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by Online Support Specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While we were pleased to hear that the staff was able to change rooms for you, we apologize that the original room provided smelled. Our goal is to provide all our guests with a comfortable stay and are saddened to see that this goal fell short during your stay. We will address your concerns with the restaurant and the computers with the management team so corrective actions can be taken. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
3 out of 5
by Stephon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Murphy's Law @ the Radisson

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The free upgrade.
Cons: See above
Location: Unless you're attending something at the Civic Center or small bar, you're in the downtown area of St. Joe's so not much to do.
Second night into our 3-night stay, we got locked out of our room. They got us in but we had to stay there. No offer was made to move that night; however, they did move us the next morning. Maintenance guy didn't show up; took 4 hrs to replace him. They moved us into an upgraded room at no charge and gave us a complimentary breakfast. In upgraded room, no alarm clock, coffee pot busted, no listing of services. All said and done, the people were very nice and helpful in light of the busy weekend and everything that could go wrong seemed to. TIP: Check list of benefits so you know what you should be getting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2016 by Online support Specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were pleased to hear that the staff was nice and helpful and that they attempted to assist with your stay. Our goal is to provide all our guests with a comfortable stay and were saddened to see that this fell short during your stay. We will share your feedback with our management team so corrective actions can be taken for our future guests. We hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern MO

Nice, but older facilities...a little worn

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Lobby, location, large rooms, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Needs some minor upgrades and repairs. TV was iffy. Room cleanliness marginally acceptable.
Location: Downtown central on the Missouri river. Very good Cajun restaurant 3 blocks away.
A nice typical convention/civic center type hotel. Older and a little worn around the edges, but a very good staff. Good restaurant 3 blocks away...Cajun - Boudreaux's. Overall, a good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average older hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Restaurant food not so good.
3 out of 5
by Harold from St. Louis

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
The heating/ac unit in our room had major cold air leaking out around it so we had to turn the heat up high to keep from getting too cold. We could not turn the volume up on our tv so when the heater was running, we couldn't hear anything on the tv.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels