Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SD

Nice hotel downtown St. Joseph.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very nice. Wish we had a better view but oh well. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Joseph, MO

Will not go back

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Was informed that even if a room is paid for through the hotel site or Expedia, it is not a guarantee that you will get a room. Was informed that early check-in & late check out is not possible any longer. I am a night shift RN, was woke up several times by staff, even after front desk was told I am a day sleeper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
pool and spa were closed, restaurant empty, very run down
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield,Mo

Dated

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Very dated and in need of renovations. Was definitely not worth the price. Breakfast buffet very poor quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Good location, reasonable rate
Cons: The tub didn't drain, and the buffet breakfast was old, cold, and terrible.
Looked for a hotel near relatives. This was easy access to the freeway, near the center of town, close to where we wanted to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel is nice, staff was great, and I will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Malvern, PA

Getting "dated" but still good

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Room, food, location
Cons: Plumbing fixtures, parking convenience & security. Also the one-way downtown streets that become 2-way without much advance notice can be annoying.
Location: Downtown St. Joe has a major bank, restaurants, several historic buildings and sights, and a Civic Arena a block from this hotel.
Our stay was during a slow midweek, felt like we were the only patrons. Room was very nice and clean although the fixtures showed some age. Restaurant and were OK (a former Houlihan's in the 1990s), and my "club salad" was fabulous. Our room was on the east (downtown) side so the nighttime train, which went for 10-15 minutes, was barely audible; rooms on the west likely have more noise. Parking is an open lot across the street. We would stay again for the price, compared to cheaper hotels along I-29.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 1

Next to civic center and good restraunts

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Clean,friendly staff. Nice hotel . Pool was being repaired
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, the pool repair is completed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only nice thing was location next to civic arena

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Walkable to civic arena, setting on heater to set a specific temp degree and
Cons: Everything. Pool that's not freezing, working hot tub, better restaurant with quality food and able to execute the serving to guests
Location: Civic arena across the street. But no restaurants, had to drive 5-10 minutes to find dinner (after bkft there was no way we were eating dinner there)
Not much good to say. Pool heater was broke so my kids couldn't swim due to pool being freezing. Hot tub was not operational. Ice machine was in pieces and wall was moldy next to it. Room was ok. I did like that the heater had a temp setting so managing the room temp at night was easy. We have a toddler and baby and that is usually a challenge (waking up too hot or too cold) but this was a great feature. We ordered breakfast and wasn't edible. We only got half the food ordered and what we did get was terrible. $43 down the drain...didn't get any of the toast, hash browns were raw and soaked in grease. Pancakes were stiff like cardboard and tasteless. My sausage/mushroom/onion omelet was missing sausage. My older boys refused to eat anything and they're wrestlers who were hungry and needed to eat before competing. Due to location and not near other food places that we had time to get to, they didn't get a proper breakfast. The hotel did credit $30 but we still paid way too much for what we got. Won't be back. We'll stay farther away from the arena next year in a nicer hotel with a free breakfast and functioning pool/hot tub
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you Jess for reaching out and writing your feedback. It was nice to hear that you liked our location being near the Civic Arena and that the room temperature can easily be adjusted. On the other hand, we apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of some of the hotel amenities during your stay. We are sorry as well that you were not satisfied with the breakfast. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and will be used to continually improve our services, hope you can still consider us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to downtown

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Good price
Cons: Update the rings
I booked this hotel passing thru St Joseph on Expedia. Pictures looked good, rating was high enough. Later I read some reviews that freaked me out thinking I was headed to a major dump. They talked about bugs, dirty sheets, filthy rooms, smells, bad service at the restaurant. Well, we did not experience any of that. My room was clean, nice pillows, firmer mattress than I like but still good. Dated furniture but clean. Really nice bathroom with a new countertop and clean towels. We ate at the lounge and had great service. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. It ended up being a very pleasant experience and I would recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Marcy LaLonde, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review.