Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Antique furniture decor

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Daughters loved seeing and staying in a bed and breakfast, decorated as the style appropriate for the age of house. It was a little dark in room unless you turned on all the lights. Clean self service place to stay. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay, friendly staff

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Very flexible staff, personable, awesome communication. They called to welcome me and check on arrival time, etc. Inn is beautiful, clean, comfy rooms. It is filled with history and staff very knowledgeable about the inn and the area. Breakfast was great, very accommodating with food allergies. Highly recommend.
Cons: Nothing. All good. A very nice night and breakfast!
Location: Only one hour from Missouri Star Quilt in Hamilton, MO
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really neat historic home

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We just didn't get a lot of information.... Beautiful place, but when we got there there was Hell yeah! One to check us in, finally w found her. Then we weren't told about breakfast only covering one guest, so I had to shell out for each kid. But overall worth it! REALLY COOL historic mansion w period appropriate furnishing and fixtures!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Wonderful bed and breakfast!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
This is the best B&B I have stayed with. The room was luxurious, and the breakfast was delicious! My family and I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice break

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Great for ghost hunting!
Location: Bicycled along the Missouri river. Went to several museums in the area.
This was a nice break from the typical hotel room. Beds were great...breakfast was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Enjoyed our stay!

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Old time furnishings (late 1800's era), comfortable rooms and great breakfast.
Cons: We felt that our room could have used another lamp or two--the lighting in the bedroom itself was a little dim especially after dark.
Location: We went to Patte Museum and Jesse James home close to downtown St Joseph--it was only a few blocks from the mansion and easy to get to. A MUST see!
The beds in our room were very comfortable, the bedding extra plush, the antique furnishings in very good condition. The mansion was very clean and the breakfast was extra nice. It was a beautiful morning so we chose to eat on the porch. Our host prepared individual frittatas for us along with a fruit cup and sour dough crispy toast with a sweet glaze. We had orange juice and coffee. While we ate, we asked if he would share with us about the mansion, the history, how he came to acquire it and how he managed to do a full renovation/restoration from its burned out condition. It was a great stay and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Pleasant historic home

Posted May 27, 2016
Well-restored. Good breakfast and service. Located near downtown St Joseph
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Last minute business stay

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Beautifully restored old mansion in a historic area
I needed a last minute reservation and the inn keeper was very helpful and accomodating even though I was the only reservation for the evening. Excellent facility and a terrific breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Old Charm as it was meant to be

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: no slamming doors of your typical hotel stay, charming people who run the place
Cons: TV Signal spotty at times
Location: Lot of history in St Joseph, museums and attractions, good food
Great old house that's been restored to it's original charm and beauty. Quiet and has everything you want for a restful night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Location: The properties in the area included some fantastic old mansions some used and some in dire need of restoration. Area history is fascinating.
Beautiful property, if you like turn of the century historic mansions. Restoration was very well done, but includes modern facilities. Breakfast was also very nice with some creativity included in the fare. Parking was on the street and could be a problem when the hotel was full. Handicapped access to the 2nd floor was with a chairlift, which we did not need.