Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Centrally placed

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Very friendly/helpful staff. Basic breakfast buffet but what you would expect for the price. Sadly the weather was poor but the staff came up with suggestions and would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: pool was not over crowded
Cons: new mattresses
Location: cheap restaurant/takeaway less than 10 mins walk lidl round corner so good for self catering
lovely staff before and during trip, answered all my questions via email before arriving. The bed was no comfortable English plug sockets but hair dryer had a European plug bus stop at the top of road (2 euros for a single trip per person) very quiet hotel free safe in room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Basic but more than adequate

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Basic facilities but this is reflected in the cost per night. Best features are the friendly staff whilst the the not so good features are 1. the plastic cheese offered as part of the continental breakfast and 2. the shallow cups! Grazzi ghal kollox :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible and noisy!

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Room: We were given a room right next to reception which was so noisy we didn't sleep. There were conversations pass midnight and before 6 in the morning. This is unacceptable. If you have a room next to reception it needs to be sound proof! We hear every phone ring, check in/out and conversation between staff and/or customer. There was no point having a do not disturb sign as we were constantly disturbed. This room should not exist for guests. You have to leave your room key whenever you are out even for dinner. Bed:The sheets were dirty with stains. You can feel the springs in the bed. There was a strong bleach smell. There were no basic items like tv or kettle in the room. The only pro was plenty of parking. This is the worst hotel I have stayed at and we are frequent travellers. If you plan to sleep during your holiday don't book here.
1 out of 5
by Mathias from Germany

Don't stay there unless you have to

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
If you like to stay at this Hotel there are certain things you should be aware of. So, don't go to this Hotel if you: - like to have a good and silent room where you can rest and sleep well. The Walls at this Hotel are like Paper! When you turn the light of it seems there are several people in your room. But in fact, that are only the guests from the rooms around. If you are lucky like me you have a "roommate" who is snoring the whole night. My bad I think! - you want to take a refreshing shower. In fact, there is a shower in the bathroom but the shower cabin is so small that you bump to the cabin walls every time you move your arms. Even this would not be a big issue in normal Hotels, but at Kappara the cabin is moldy. So, you feel dirtier after leaving the shower than before. Oh, did I mention the long brown hair, that definitely not belongs to me, in the tooth mug? - if you don't want to wake up with back pain because of a century year old mattress - if you think a good breakfast is a good start into the day. The breakfast is joke! But it's on you, the guest? Overall I think would have a better stay in every youth hostel, or a prison, or in a tent during a thunderstorm. I've been at a lot of places and even cheap motels like Motel 6 but the stay at Hotel Kappara was the worst experience ever! Was there for just two nights and got overall 4 Hours of sleep. Not because I was not tired, just because it was not possible to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

This is a lovely hotel on a frequent bus route.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Two pin plugs on hair dryers should be updated to standard Malta three pin.
Location: Excellent walk through valley to university and hospital bus station.
Excellent service with supportive and very kind staff always being attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

very friendly staff; nice pool.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Small hotel with basic facilities but very clean and very friendly people working there. Small outdoor pool very nice. The hotel is near the university - interesting route there via an attractive little valley. There are no restaurants in the nearby area. so you need to go into Valletta but buses are very cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Great hotel near the University

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The folks who worked there.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: Close to the Univeristy, some restaurants/bars within 10 minutes' walk, others a bit further but the walk down to the waterfront was really nice.
The people that work at the hotel, Maria and Helen especially, we super! We arrived originally intending to stay for just two nights but finding an apartment took longer than expected and they were most accommodating as we extended our stay night-by-night. They also provided quite a lot of helpful information about the island, sites to see, transportation, etc. The rooms (we were in two different rooms during our stay) were spacious, cleaning was efficient, breakfast was decent, and we both found the hotel to be quiet and agreeable throughout our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The staff are really friendly, helpful, and willing to assist as much as possible.
Cons: It's noisy and very echoey . And lots of surrounding building work going on too.
Location: Excellent place to stay if you need the university or hospital.
It's staffed 24hrs, run by a small group of very kind people.