Ratings based on 1,378 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut Lebanon

Posted Jan 6, 2018
A hotel in a great location with a very good service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by ICmalta , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta after your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that your experience was such a positive and satisfactory one! We thank you for your kind praises of our team and the location of the hotel. It is a pleasure to know we were able to create such a memorable stay during your time in Malta. We trust your return journey was a smooth & enjoyable one, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Malta in the near future! Yours Sincerely, Celine Herold Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

In need of modernisation - not 5 star

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Nothing, apart from the extremely helpful staff
Cons: It needs a refit
Location: The area is rather run down and not much to do nearby
The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the professional and friendly staff. The rooms are tired, worn and dilapidated and definitely not up to the usual standard of the Intercontinental brand. Location when it was constructed was probably good, now a huge highrise is being built in front of the hotel, obstructing the view of the sea. Located in a run down, rather scruffy part of the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by ICmalta , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta after your most recent stay with us. We regret to hear that your stay was not entirely to your satisfaction. Whilst we are unable to influence the location of the hotel, refurbishments and improvements are steadily underway. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for not having been able to provide a memorable stay with us. Nevertheless, your kind praises of the service experienced are appreciated and will be shared with the team. We hope your return journey was a smooth one, and trust that you will take the opportunity to contact us for further assistance. Yours Sincerely, Celine Herold Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Dirty and outdated. This is not what I expected from an Intercontinental Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback. Please allow me to apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as we had hoped for. This is certainly not the impression we would like to leave. Your comments have already been forwarded and we will do our utmost to improve in the future. Whilst apologizing once again, I nevertheless hope you had an enjoyable time exploring the island and a safe journey home. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great hotel, great location and great service. Would definately stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Malta soon. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln. UK

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Hotel was clean tidy and comfortable with pleasant staff. Rooms comfy and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and our facilities were to your liking. I certainly hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant enough

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Private beach, attentive and helpful staff
Cons: needs an update and a lick of paint all over
Location: location is good, 20 minutes from the airport. Lots of food bars close by. beach 2 minutes from the hotel. Valletta, Mdina & Rabbatt easy by bus.
The intercontinental was a nice hotel, that needed a refurb 2 years ago. Lovely staff, private beach club - which is a big bonus in Malta, decent food. No real complaints, but by the same token, struggling to be overly effusive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ed, Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback. Please allow me to apologize that we did not manage to deliver an experience which completely lived up to your expectations. Your comments have already been forwarded to ensure we learn and improve in the future. Similarly, your kind words towards our staff have also been shared and were greatly appreciated. Whilst thanking again for your review, I trust you had an enjoyable time exploring the island and a safe journey home. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Arrived at the hotel a few hours before the designated check in but the staff were very accommodating and did their best to get us in the room ASAP. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and staff were extremely helpful throughout our entire stay. Breakfast buffet and facilities were fantastic. Only downside was that the sky bar and infinity pool were closed due to weather so didn't get to see it. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable time. It is our utmost priority to have you feel well looked after by our staff and I am glad that we succeeded. I certainly hope to be able to welcome you back to Malta soon. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Convenient hotel near beach and restaurants

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The complimentary items in the room. Friendly staff and good location.
Location: Beach, restaurants, bus stop, shops all good.
We had an enjoyable stay in Malta. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pools were nice if a little cool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Julie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall. It is our priority to make you feel well looked after by our staff and I am glad that we succeeded. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Malta soon. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Large hotel - few good bits, some poor for 5 stars

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Hardworking & friendly staff especially serving drinks around the main pool & in the ground floor bar.
Cons: Treat all customers the same, ensuring everybody receives a 5 star experience. Some areas of the hotel appear very tired & in need of refurbishment.
Location: Not a great family location in the middle of "adult" attractions. Small man made beach nearby. Sightseeing further afield makes any stay better.
First visit to Malta enjoying a short break with family. Attracted to the hotel by their website which clearly displayed 5 star facilities, including modern, clean & airy bedrooms, & a new rooftop swimming pool. Sadly, the reality was far from this. Our room was tired, with a broken shower, broken glass shelf over the washbasin, & probably one of the most uncomfortablest beds we have ever slept on in 30+ years of travelling. Add to this the "local noise" from the nearby bars & clubs then sleep was very challenging. For a short break, the hotel was just about adequate, but no way was it 5 stars. We were not allowed to enjoy the rooftop pool unless we paid an additional very expensive premium. Fortunately the other pool was fine for our needs, albeit missing tiles with sharp edges seemed very much in keeping with the tired feel already witnessed in our room. I suspect there will be 2 very different types of review for this hotel, those prepared to pay for the expensive 5 star experience (including business travellers) & those who experience the tired 3 star side of the hotel. The hotel website does not really show the latter. For a short break, the hotel was adequate. Only on the last day did a member of staff explain all the various dining options. By way of an apology they then provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine & left a present in our room whilst we were dining. Nice touch. Would have been nice to have experienced this level of service at the start
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel , beautiful swimming pool

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Not up to the usual Intercontinental standard but still a good place to stay,, very nice swimming pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear Marcel, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please allow me to apologize that we did not manage to deliver an experience which completely lived up to your expectations. We are however pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. Whilst thanking for your review again, I trust you had a safe journey home. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager