Ratings based on 1,309 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family room

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Excellent breakfast and lovely hotel with good air conditioning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Close to beach, great gym, indoor pool okay

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Sky view infinity pool advertised for hotel is misleading as not every hotel guest can visit (it costs 50 euro per person per day!). Paddling pool on 10th floor is too busy with children all the time. Squash courts air conditioning not working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear David, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at InterContinental Malta. I sincerely regret to hear that our pool and gym facilities were not to your liking. We nevertheless hope you had an enjoyable time exploring the island. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Staff, but damp / mold smell in room

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Pros: - Excellent and very friendly staff - Good Rooftop Pool and bar with poolside service - Beach close by - Some nice restaurants nearby
Cons: 1. Rooms could do with an update if only to remove the moldy smell. 2. Not Advertising with a picture of a pool we had no access to.
Location: Beach is very close by and there are some very nice restaurants in the area. Very near the 'party' area with lots of drunk teens which you can avoid.
Pros: - Excellent and very friendly staff - Good Rooftop Pool and bar with poolside service - Beach close by - Some nice restaurants nearby - Great Spa and massages - Easy to travel and explore the rest of Malta from this location Cons: - As with the review from "JP from D.C", our 9th floor room had a damp / mold smell when you entered. After reading the previous review I decided to live with it rather than being moved multiple times. - Rooms and especially the exterior balcony could do with some renovation, i.e. a fresh lick of paint. - Shower door seals were poor and leaked. - Damaged bathroom mirrors need replacing. - Dangerous broken wire on hairdryer which sparked when turned on (Note: to their credit this was fixed immediately and a spare plug in hairdryer supplied as well). - Mold clearly visible under the rim of the sink. - Very near the 'party' area with lots of drunk teens in the bars, clubs and strip clubs. Reminiscent of going to Magaluf. - Deceptive 1st Photo on Expedia, the pool pictured is on the 19th floor and exclusive to customers who book Suites, not the 'Deluxe' rooms. We were quoted a 60 euro/pp extra fee to use that facility! Overall a great holiday and good time at the hotel pool (not the one in the 1st photo). Staff were great and the location made it easy to visit the surrounding areas such as Valletta. Staff were also very helpful in arranging boat trip to areas such as Gozo. Big disappointments: pool pictured and mold
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Berit Geiler, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please allow me to apologize that your stay was not as memorable as we had hoped for. Your comments in regards to the room condition have been forwarded to our Maintenance department in order to avoid these shortcomings in the future. We are however pleased to hear that our staff managed to make you feel well looked after. As such, I nevertheless hope you had an enjoyable time exploring the island and the boat trip in Gozo was memorable. Yours sincerely, Berit Geiler Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Comfortable club facilities and lovely food

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent service.
Location: Not beautiful. Great for younger visitors. Small immaculate nearby beach. Shoppingmall and cinema opposite. Good indoor pool and amazing gym.
The position is not great, but close to a small immaculate beach. Perfect for younger clientele wanting a lively night life. Club facilities were good and the staff were excellent and very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leamington Spa

Quality holiday venue in Malta

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Not much to dislike! It has lots of facilities
Cons: Rooms are now beginning to look dated and carpets are desperate for change!
Location: 10 minutes walk to bars/restaurants of St Julian's. Nearer are other bars/restaurants/shops - all good
Well-located hotel with all possible services. Great pool/bar/lunches. Private beach close by. A great place to relax. Close to lots of good restaurants and bus/tourist bus travel around the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. Please rest assured, your feedback regarding our rooms and fittings have been forwarded to the relevant departments. We are pleased to see that you found our facilities and location to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Malta and do hope you had a safe journey home! Yours Sincerely, Celine Herold Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic staff and service at ALL levels

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Staff and pool. Beach is very nice but the litter situation on the shore and the sea (all over Malta I'm afraid) is WOEFUL. We had a good babysitter
Cons: see above
Location: Central, good beach BUT it's in the nightclub zone. The whole area is very modern, busy and a bit sleazy with all the pole dancing clubs and bars.
My main complaint was the view. It is on the street side of the hotel and you can literally see into the apartments of local people, their washing lines, cats, balconies etc. It was like West Side Story. I believe Expedia gave us the "cheaper" room, I don't hold it against the hotel. Breakfast is in a dark room and isn't great. The tea needs reviewing-it looks posh but its weak and acidic. The coffee is also a bit machined. Someone should give the very nice chefs a porridge making lesson. The room was essentially a larger room for 2 with 4 people in it. There was little space for unpacking or storing cases. The room was very clean, apart from some crumby bits under the sofa bed which should be reviewed by someone with ocd. Toiletries are really nice. Pool is pleasant with a good view but some help with umbrellas would have been great-a mother of two children can't really manoevre a solid stone based umbrella (no wheels) and watch two kids, despite being a much better multitasker than the average Y chromosomer. The staff are really fantastic and can't do enough for you. They make up for the negatives, they really are lovely and helpful. Concierge, Khalid are a few names that come to mind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta after your most recent stay with us. We regret to hear that the view from your room was not to your satisfaction, and that certain aspects in the service and quality of your stay were not positive. Please rest assured your comments and suggestion have been taken into consideration and forwarded to the relevant departments. We thank you for your positive remarks regarding our staff and pool area, this is greatly appreciated, and will be passed onto our team. We trust your return journey was a smooth one, and nevertheless trust in welcoming you back to the InterContinental Malta in the future. Yours Sincerely, Celine Herold Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D.C

Hotel is close to beach but....

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The entire staff was amazing.
Cons: All of the rooms need work, especially the mold smell.
Location: Beach close by, lots of restuarants within walking distance. Although most of area is filled with strip clubs and bars.
As IHG Gold Elite members who travel quite offten we are familier with many InterContinental Hotels around the world, this one in Malta is without a doubt the worst. Upon arrival at the hotel we were checked in with no problems we were taken to our room which was on the 9th floor with nice view of the garden area immeditatly after stepping foot in the room there was a terrible odor the we suspect to have been mold, we called the front desk and they said they would fix the problem. After returning to the room later that afternoon after they "fixed" the smell it still reaked of mold we were moved to another room on the 8th floor which did not smell like mold(although there was still a slight smell)but the water tempurature in the shower went from warm to burn your skin hot every five to ten seconds, we again had to complain. They evenutaly moved us to the 15th floor which was a very nice and spacious but agian still smelled like mold but after moving three times we did not want to move again. The hotel staff is very nice and ready to help with anything you might need. The beach is a two min walk from the hotel with umbrellas and chairs but they do close and kick eveyone out if the space is rented for a speical event, they closed twice during our four day stay. It would have been helpful for the hotel to notify the guests of these closers so one could plan their day. The breakfast was great with lots to choose from although the staff were great I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. We do apologise for the issues which you encountered during your stay and do hope you have the opportunity to contact us directly at your convenience. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room for business trip.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Room was very generous and the bed comfortable.
Cons: Tidy up the bathroom. Hallways a little dated. However reasonably good value for money
Location: Interesting location. Ease of access in Malta is generally good but this hotel is unfortunately situated in a non-family friendly area.
Travelling by myself this was a good base for a recent business trip. The size of the rooms and comfort level was very good, however in my opinion this is not a particularly friendly family location as there is a lot of nightlife. If that is why you are going then it is probably a good base as you only have to crawl back tot he hotel. The staff were cheery and friendly and the quality of breakfast was a very good hotel buffet level. The chaps on the egg station were very cheery and make plenty of options to order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Great location and reception staff

Posted May 19, 2017
Stayed in the Intercontinental Malta with my husband + 3 yr old Positives: 1.) Location - very central, across the road to Baystreet shopping complex, surrounded by plenty of restaurants/cafes. Being next to the strip of nightclubs did mean we often had to walk past lots of loud music, but this didn't bother us and we never felt at risk even with a young child. Couldn't hear any loud music once in the hotel, and when in our room (pool facing) Could see the Intercontinental's section of the private beach from the main entrance of the hotel. 2 minute walk. 2.) Beach - good sized private section of the sandy beach. Beach towels/sun beds included. Beach bar/restaurant staff readily available to take orders/serve drinks at a click of the button by your sun lounger. Sand was very coarse and a bit sore to walk on - more like tiny pebbles but my toddler still enjoyed building sand castles with it. 3.) Reception staff/concierge - courteous and helpful. Concierge were polite, always there to open the door and happy to be asked questions. Check in counter staff also good help. 4.) Buffet restaurant managers efficient and showed us to our table every morning. Buffet waiters generally ok with 2 or 3 exceptional ones who would go out of their way to help you. Negatives: 1.) Housekeeping - disappointing. Started with x3 of each towel size as you would expect for a room booked for 3. Ended up with such few towels we had to share, strangely started on day 2 after we tipped them
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. We are very grateful for your comments and for your feedback and insight concerning the hotel, we do look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants and high priced tours/ taxis

Posted May 2, 2017
We had a serious ant problem with our room and since it was a two night stay the front desk only sent house keeping up to 'fix it' (which did not work). The bath and shower were amazing and the hotel itself was beautiful and right in the middle of everything. I also would not use them to set sight seeing, they were crazy expensive! Even having the reserve a taxi will cost more than walking up the street to a taxi stand.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by ICMalta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review InterContinental Malta and providing feedback concerning your stay. We do apologise for the issues which you encountered during your stay and do hope you have the opportunity to contact us directly at your convenience. Yours Sincerely, David Bache Marketing Executive