Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted May 15, 2018
Looks exactly as it does online. Spacious, modern, well-kept rooms with good standard of cleaning. The hotel lobby and rooftop pool were lovely. The pool is only small but you don’t really need much more. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The location is great; close to the shore and lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Bus stops just a minute away. Only downfall was the hotel breakfast. €15pp for buffet style which was slightly disappointing as can get cheaper/nicer breakfasts nearby. Other than that, a lovely stay! Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2018 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at The George and for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel had everything you needed including our location, We are sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast. By offering an open buffet guests usually like to fill up for the busy day ahead. Please note that €15pp is the day rate and €12pp is the pre booking rate. Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Very nice hotel, comfortable rooms. Breakfast wad hood but needs more vegetarian options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked your stay with us and will pass on your comments about the selection at breakfast to the catering manager. Our breakfast offers a wide range of fruits and cereals and the team would be able to prepare something special to suit your dietary needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Decent hotel, good amenities nearby

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room standard.
Cons: Breakfast buffet offering, the spa and indoor pool area.
The hotel was of a pleasant standard. The staff were all super friendly and very responsive to requests. The breakfast buffet was quite a let down, especially if you are vegetarian or vegan (despite the fact that we were told that there were plenty of alternative options). In saying that however, it was convenient to be able to eat in the hotel before venturing off for the day - lots of the cafes/restaurants nearby don't open for breakfast until later. Room cleanliness was fine however there were a few occasions when the drinking glasses weren't replaced or the wrong number of bath / face towels were replenished. There is also oddly no ventilation in the bathroom. Minor but noticeable. The pool area is pretty small but we never had any real problems getting beds and there is a cafe by the pool which although doesn't offer the best spread, does come in handy. It's also worth mentioning the "spa" and indoor pool area. This entire area was like a sauna. There doesn't seem to be any ventilation, especially in the changing rooms. It feels like you need a shower, right after having one! The quality of the spa treatment which one of us had was disappointing. Only baby oil was used (i.e., no aromatherapy oil), another member of staff walked in during the treatment to speak to the masseuse, and the style of the massage was rushed meaning that it was more practical than relaxing. The hotel is in a great location close to restaurants, (but just far enough from noisy bars) and transport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I will most certainly pass on your observations to housekeeping and the spa as this is definitely not the norm as you can see from our other reviews. If you would like to discuss this further then please do feel free to contact us. Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
4 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Good hotel and location

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was a good middle location to shopping, casinos, bus stations and beaches. Bed was comfortable and rooms were clean but halls smelled musty. They had a real good breakfast with plenty of options. The staff were always helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Dear William, Thank you for your email. We are glad you liked your stay and found our location to be ideal for your needs. Are full time maintenance staff have addressed the musty smell that was due to the recent rain. Thanks again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel, close to most amenities

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Room was huge with a large balcony accommodating sun beds and table and chairs. Bathroom great with monsoon walk in shower and a bath with shower.
Location: Centraly located in St Julian's most restaurants and shops are in walking distance. Local Buses are a great way to see the other parts of the island.
Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast option stated continental so a pleasant surprise English breakfast and freshly cooked omelettes were available as a choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review FoxyLady :) So glad you enjoyed your stay with is, found our staff professional and our wide range of breakfast options. Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing location and amazing staff!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We only stayed for 5 days and it was an amazing experience. Location was very convenient from all attractions. Lots of food places nearby and great nightlife!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We all appreciate your feedback and do hope to see you again soon. Have a great summer.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Great value good location hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Short term stay fit business. Good value for money option. Great location, loved the rooftop pool. Only slight negative was breakfast was average with limited choice. Other than that really enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leighton Buzzard

Good location for night life

Posted May 30, 2017
Location is set a bit further back from sea than you realise. Very close to lots of restaurants & bars including the busy street if you are looking for night life. Hotel is clean and modern. Luckily we were on 4th floor so we could see the sea from our balcony. Hotel staff are generally happy, friendly & helpful. The roof top pool is nice, but could get busy as its not that big. Breakfast is ok if you have it included in your room rate. The service was slow in that tables were cleared, but there was a constant lack of cups, plates & cutlery. Overall for location, cleanliness & staff, definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel overall and will pass on your comments to the catering department who will be interested in your feedback to better our service. Thanks again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle UK

Penthouse room by name only.

Posted May 8, 2017 on Ebookers
When calling something a penthouse the expectation is high. This sadly did not achieved it's name. The sofa was filthy with rubbish tucked down it. The bathroom extractor & shaving charger did not work. There was no tea making facility only a coffee maker. I'm being picky because of price and name. In general it was a warn room that had clearly had water damage from the pool above. Otherwise our room was quiet at night and the staff were friendly. The area around the hotel is undergoing a lot of development. I think we counted ten cranes. Maybe look closer to sliema if you want to avoid this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Karl C, Hotel Management
Dear guest. I am sorry to read that our penthouse suites did live up to your expectations. We now have tea and coffee making facilities as standard in every room and our rooms have now completed our refurbishment programme. In such cases pls do contact our 24/7 front desk who will be happy to move you to another room. Thanks again