Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong

ridiculous security deposit

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Was charge a ridiculously excessive $150 security deposit for 1 nights accomodation which after 3 weeks still has not been returned despite 3 phone calls! Staff very unhelpful both at check in and when I have phone to try and get my money back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but no sleep

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The location was great but was disappointed with the noise on Saturday night as the hotel is located above a function centre. Music heard until late evening. Neighbouring residents were also loud at all hours and were clearly heard through adjoining walls.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Don't waste your money, there are better hotels in the area and probably all reasonably priced as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel, close to good locations.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Locatin.
Cons: Age.
Great spot, close to the tram lines and close to the city. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by R, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Crest on Barkly. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and totally agree that our location is ideal. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you next stay in Melbourne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Room 205

Posted May 4, 2017
Lovely big room. Quiet if you wear ear plugs as corridor noise does filter in. I had no issues though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Crest on Barkly. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you next stay in Melbourne.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very handy to all the things we need to attend to.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: It had a 3 bedroom ground floor flat which we needed for my disabled husband. It was spacious.
Cons: The decor is a tad weary especially the uncomfortable couch. need for a block out drape in the single bedroom to block out all the outside lighting.
Location: St Kilda hot sea baths, beach, Acland St, Luna Park and Albert Park lake and the M.C.G. Public transport
We stayed for 2 nights and my grand daughters bedroom window was directly above the large steel security gate. Each night between 3.30 am through to about 5 am, groups of people coming home were loud and obnoxious, swearing and yelling and slamming the gate. Not happy. The design of the shower head meant that water ended up being all over the floor. We had to use towels to mop it up as there was no mop.Then we had no towels but they sent us more when we asked.The ironing board was broken and the Iron ended up on the floor. They got us another one. The flat had a strange smell about it too, slightly musty.The window frames are very rusty and some were hard to open. My grandson slept in the single bed on Barkly street where the outside light and the Hotel sign lit up his room..Could I recommend a block out drape or blind. It was good that there was a large fridge and a good dishwasher and stove. We needed more than 1 dishcloth and 1 dishwasher block.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by R, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our apartments, we do appreciate all feedback as it enables us to improve our services. We are pleased to hear you found our location ideal and appreciated the ground floor apartment. We are very sorry to hear that your sleep was interrupted by the outside world, unfortunately this is beyond our control. Your other feedback has been passed on to management to address. We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel next time you choose to stay in Melbourne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good choice for Melbourne area

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: We appreciated the helpful advice on getting around using the trams, including what stops to use.
We stayed here one night on our way across Victoria. The hotel is quaint, but kept up nicely. Clean and comfortable. Our room had a sitting area which gave us a place to relax. Conveniently located steps from the tram and bus stops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Have stayed at the Crest a number of times and the apartments at Crest are always a great place to stay and not that far from the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and very good location

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Wotif
Felt everything was really good was not to happy with the extra cost of a bod, first hotel I've been to in Australia which does that. Second definitely not happy with the time frame of returning bond back onto a card. Its 2017. And should be accomplished within 24hours. If Bunnings can do it where its immediate so can a hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, nice clean spacious rooms. Friendly staff.
Cons: Wi fi !
Location: Great location walking distance to St Kilda precinct and Prahan. Great eateries,beaches and of course Luna Park .
Not a good start ,when we entered the room we had been given it had not been cleaned at all. Staff at desk most apologetic and a new room allocated to us. Then a no go with the wi fi which is advertised as being high speed , it was practically non existent.We were given a code for the corporate wi fi which didn't work at all. The staff were extremely helpful but no luck with wi fi. To compensate we were given two breakfast vouchers and allowed to leave our car in their car park for several hours after we checked out. This enabled us to explore the area on foot .