Ratings based on 1,718 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2018
This is the second time I have stayed at The Blackman and I’ll definitely be back. I love the artwork, coupled with lovely staff and very well appointed rooms. It’s extremely easy to get about with the trams being so close. A great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Family weekend in Melbourne

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Excellent service across the board, especially Isabel at the front desk. Studio room good size, we’ll apportioned and modern. We had excellent view of the bay. On a St Kilda tram line (Arthur St) so very convenient to central tourist sites and/or beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great location, quiet room, friendly staff.

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Was especially happy with Andre at checkin. We were a little early from US flight and he got us in a room an hour before normal check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, awesome staff and fabulous rooms

Posted Feb 13, 2018
We had a great experience staff were super welcoming and friendly and helpful, dined in the restaurant Classico, delicious! Fantastic room and had everything we needed in a great location - would definitely recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Considering the price, we would have expected a bit more attention to detail. There was pubic hair laying in the bath tub and around the toilet. The curtains were spilled. Looked like someone tipped a glass of red wine in them. The bed was made strangely. The mattress protector showed at the top end of the bed underneath the pillow. Some of the staff are really friendly, others seem to be to cool for school and don’t even look at you when you come and go (pretend to be busy).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location; building next door is a concern.

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Pros: Good location; quality staff; two restaurants, and the artwork.
Cons: Apart from the art, the finishes are somewhat dated and the bathroom need renovation.
Location: Walkable distances to the Bay, the River, Prahran Market area, and many parks with walking paths and people enjoying multiple forms of recreation.
We checked in for a Friday - Monday stay. A new building right outside our room is under construction. The construction noise continued for the day, was quieter on Sat & Sun, but was back again Monday at 6:00 am. In addition to the noise, the proximity of the new building will render this side of the Blackman into a permanent night light position requiring shuttered blinds most of the time. This may not bother many, but everyone should be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Satisfied!

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Pros: Clean, modern, unique, friendly staff
Cons: Onsite pool would be nice
Location: Close enough to bike into city but far enough away to escape the bustle
Enjoyable experience. Facilities went above my expectations. Missed out on hiring the Smart Car so hired the bicycles for the day to tour the city...glad we did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Great Hotel with all the modern touches. Loved the lobby with all the artwork. Only negative is that it isn't closer to the center of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great for a girls weekend

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: Loved the funky room styling, the comfy bed and the overall space in the room.
Cons: Liked that the room lighting was not overly bright until we needed to do my hair and make-up. Could have done with a full length mirror too.
Location: Easy walk to tram. Close to City and South Melbourne Markets.
Easily upgraded to a twin room, so my bestie and I had a queen bed each. Loved having all the space to spread out in, plus the kitchenette and having a balcony was a bonus. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a hearty breakfast in the French Cafe downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to both the city and the beach

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Loved the Art Work everywhere
Cons: The Rare Beef Salad ( meat was tough and chewy ) the steamed vegetables were over cooked. That's not the standard we were expecting.
Location: Location was excellent. Close to the city if you wanted to venture in. Loved walking around the park across the road.
Greeted warmly, room was ready upon arrival. We didn't like the outlook of the room, ( construction of a car park )! we rang the front desk and upon explaining Our need of a better outlook we were given the opportunity to upgrade to a room with a view. I would express on your website that the package for our original room faces construction work. If we understood that we would have picked a different package and not had the inconvenience of shifting room. With that said, it wasn't done quickly and efficiently. I was asked when booking in what was the occasion for our stay. It was for my birthday, it was a lovely surprise receiving a bottle of champagne a little later that afternoon. Nice touch!!!! I simply loved all the artwork in the hotel. The room was elegant and well appointed. My only disappointment was no bath and such a small shower. Our stay was enjoyable. Thank you