Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Wonderful! Relaxing and non-touristy!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
It was one of the most relaxing vacations we ever had! Staff attentive and location peaceful and quiet. Food superb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Quiet stay in beautiful setting.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Personal service, peace and quiet. Especially liked the massage hut open to the rainforest with monkeys peeking in.
Cons: Menu could be updated.
Location: Beautiful setting, plantings and flowers everywhere, rainforest is a tropical delight.
Lovely historic hotel in the rainforest with monkeys rustling in the trees. Great staff that was very helpful arranging excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st.croix us Virgin islands

excellent love St.Kitts will return soon

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: very clean
Cons: an extra day free!!
excellent love the room the staff and especially the cooks and food
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Lagos, Nigeria

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Nice, relaxing place. Meals and drinks a bit overpriced.
5 out of 5
by Dawn from Greensboro, NC

A special place overlooking the Atlantic

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Ottley's Plantation Inn left us feeling we'd seen an authentic restored plantation, unlike so many other places that call themselves plantations on St. Kitts & Nevis. We had stayed at four different properties during our tour of St. Kitts & Nevis and viewed several others, so we had plenty to compare. We stayed in a deluxe room on the top floor of the great house and could not have asked for anything more. Beautiful views down over the lawn to the Atlantic ocean in the distance in one direction, and overlooking the garden at the edge of the rainforest in the other direction. Lovely restaurant and pool, attentive hosts and staff. Probably the only downside was its remote location (transportation adds up if you want to get around to other restaurants, beach and sightseeing), but that was also an important part of its charm and what made it so special. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine, FL

Paradise

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Island tour. Day trip to Nevis. Beaches. Restaurants.
From start to finish this was an exquisite vacation. The grounds are gorgeous - lush foliage and green lawns - along with unique sounds from the wildlife. The owners and staff far exceeded our expectations - they were friendly and beyond helpful. Anything we needed (including tours, reviews, and suggestions) was immediately provided. My husband remarked that "this must be what heaven is like." We are well-traveled and rarely visit the same place twice (there is so much to see in the world) but we are planning a return visit to Ottley's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pound Ridge, NY

Charming old inn

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Setting and lovely old buildings and grounds.
Cons: Our bathroom sorely needs renovation.
Location: We had a car. Went to historical sites and hiked from property as well as other locations around the island.
Very attractive setting high above the Atlantic. Grounds and buildings quite lovely. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Dining is quite good. Would have given a higher rating except that some renovation is needed, particularly our bathroom which needs a complete redesign and redo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate that you have taken the time to send us a review. We're happy that you found the setting, staff and dining to be of a high standard. As for the bathroom, we have taken your comments to heart and will be addressing the issue soon. Warmest regards to a lovely couple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The ultimate location for peace and relaxation

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Had been before so knew what to expect and was not disappointed. Excellent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Nice and relaxing

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: We loved the views, the staff, the food, and the activities they arranged for us.
Cons: Internet service could be better. It was adequate for our needs.
Location: Location is off the beaten path, so you have to take their daily free shuttle or call a cab to get to anything off site.
Room was spacious and nice. Very restful - which is what we needed. Staff was great. They were very helpful to arrange activities that were outstanding. Restaurant was a great setting with a nice view of the Atlantic. Food was very good, and they even allowed us to order off the menu when we wanted something a little lighter for dinner. Service in the restaurant was great, and we enjoyed getting to know the staff there. The rain forest was a nice - about a 30 minute walk around the loop trail. There wasn't a TV in the room, but we found we didn't need one anyway. It allowed for more reading and resting. This was the perfect place for us, and we enjoyed our 5 days there.
5 out of 5
by robert from hereford

Luxurious base for rambling (US:hiking)

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Everything which other reviewers have said about the quality of the site, the rooms, the food and the staff is quite correct, so I won't repeat it. For many guests, Ottley's is just a place to relax, and you can certainly do that. However, it is also a superb base from which to explore the eastern side of St Kitts. A farm track on the north side of the property leads quickly up into the foothills of Mt Verchilds, where it meets the 18th century route from Philips across the island to Old Road Town. We went up to the col, but there the overgrown vegetation made further progress impossible. Nevertheless, there are all sorts of tracks which allow an excellent day's walking - and then there's a gourmet dinner to come back to at Ottley's. Host Marty gave us a great deal of useful advice about other walks, such as along the coastline in both direction from Keys, and across the island from Cayon to Basseterre (a very easy route, which can be made more interesting by looping around Monkey Hill). He has put in steps down to Grange Bay, which is a pleasant half-day ramble from the hotel, and lent us his OS map, which is out of print but gives far more detail than the tourist map. I must also mention the swimming pool, which is built in to an old plantation building. This is permanently open, so allows a pre-breakfast as well as an afternoon or evening swim, which not many places do. It is spring-fed, so the water is clear, unchlorinated and quite cold.